Mig15bis vs. B52?

animaal

Hi, I'm new to Soviet jets generally, and the Mig15 in particular, and looking for a little advice on realistic missions.

I set up a little intercept mission, with the target being a B52. Is this a natural situation? I ask, because the Internets tell me that the wingspan of the B52 is 185ft, which translates to 56m However, the wingspan dial for the Mig-15 gyro sights only goes to 45m.

Secondly, at 25000ft, the B52 seemed to be as quick as I was. I spent ages chasing him in a circle, 1-2km away, with me at maximum power. I eventually caught him somwhow, and downed him with a single cannon round. What power those cannons have!

I know the Mig15bis appeared in 1950, slightly before the B52 in 1954, but wouldn't the Mig-15 have been Russia's primary defense against it?

Or am I on the wrong path? Is there a more suitable/realistic intercept target for a Mig-15?

Sinclair ZX Spectrum 48K, Kempston joystick Interface, Alba Cassette Recorder, Quickshot II Turbo Joystick

Well, I think the MiG-15's primary target was the B-29, which had a top speed of 357 mph / 570 km/h compared to 650 mph / 1,047 km/h for the B-52H and 1,076 km/h / 669 mph for the MiG-15.

So for the MiG it would be hard to catch up with a B-52, which I can imagine, was one of the design criteria for the B-52 (to be hard to intercept).

But based on service dates, MiG-15 vs B-52 is a reasonable matchup.

Personally I like hunting B-17's with the MiG-15. Maybe not historical, but lots of fun.

Modules: Bf 109, C-101, CE-II, F-5, Gazelle, Huey, Ka-50, Mi-8, MiG-15, MiG-19, MiG-21, Albatros, Viggen, Mirage 2000, Hornet, Yak-52, FC3