Intel i7 8700k vs 7700k? - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2018, 12:45 PM   #21
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
If my 2600k hadn't fried it could well be that I would still ride that horse. I doubt it's too weak if you clock it to 4.5 or better

I got to agree Sandybridge was epic, my 2500k mobo had not have died
it would still be using it
__________________
METAR weather for DCS World missions

Guide to help out new DCS MOOSE Users -> HERE
Havoc Company Dedicated server info Connect IP: 94.23.215.203
SRS enabled - freqs - Main = 243, A2A = 244, A2G = 245
Please contact me HERE if you have any server feedback or METAR issues/requests
Johnny_Rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 02:52 PM   #22
remi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 271
Default

4k gaming is the same across CPUs anyways, so it doesn't make sense to maximize single threaded performance since you won't see a difference in 4k.
__________________
remi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 05:14 PM   #23
dvndmmy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
4k gaming is the same across CPUs anyways, so it doesn't make sense to maximize single threaded performance since you won't see a difference in 4k.
IIRC, most of physics calculations are single-threaded currently and are hard (if at all possible) to be done in parallel. That's the bottleneck - you have to get your physics before drawing the frame.

So you want to maximize the single-threaded performance on your CPU to actually get data to draw on screen in time. But IMHO current market state gives not so many options and the clocks aren't getting any higher soon.

P.S. I decided to not wait any longer and bought 8700k. Mainly because of MoBo with 2 PCIe M.2 slots. I couldn't get much boost other than from disks, as compared to my old i7-4770. At least the levels load faster now.
__________________
i7-8700K, GTX 1080Ti, 2x16Gb DDR4, 250Gb Evo 970 NVMe, 1Tb Evo 970 NVMe, HTC Vive, Saitek Pro Flight Rudders, VPC MongoosT-50 base, grip and throttle
dvndmmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 07:59 PM   #24
remi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvndmmy View Post
IIRC, most of physics calculations are single-threaded currently and are hard (if at all possible) to be done in parallel. That's the bottleneck - you have to get your physics before drawing the frame.

So you want to maximize the single-threaded performance on your CPU to actually get data to draw on screen in time. But IMHO current market state gives not so many options and the clocks aren't getting any higher soon.

P.S. I decided to not wait any longer and bought 8700k. Mainly because of MoBo with 2 PCIe M.2 slots. I couldn't get much boost other than from disks, as compared to my old i7-4770. At least the levels load faster now.
Why aren't physics calculations handled by the GPU?
__________________
remi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 10:11 PM   #25
sobek
Veteran
 
sobek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 11,829
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
Why aren't physics calculations handled by the GPU?

Could be lots of reasons. Maybe the asynchronous nature of physics and graphics calculations makes it unfeasible (AFAIK the physics calculations are performed at a higher, locked frequency). Maybe the current software architecture doesn't allow it. Maybe they just haven't gotten around to it.
__________________
Good, fast, cheap. Choose any two.
Come let's eat grandpa!
Use punctuation, save lives!
sobek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 07:52 AM   #26
msalama
Veteran
 
msalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,380
Default

Quote:
If my 2600k hadn't fried
I've still got an i7-2600K rig, and by and large, it still runs DCS OK. A great processor!
__________________
"The DCS NS 430 currently available for DCS: Mi-8MTV2. DCS NS 430 licensing and distribution policy for other modules is being discussed and will be disclosed later. Belsimtek team"
msalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 04:19 PM   #27
dvndmmy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
Why aren't physics calculations handled by the GPU?
Well, some of them are (e.g. PhysX can run on CPU or GPU). The actual collisions and such. But you still need to sync them all back before rendering the world.

Parallel computing doesn't imply that you get the end result faster, it's just that in some cases you can get more jobs done within a certain timeframe. Everything comes at a cost and has practical limitations.

I don't know if DCS supports PhysX though.

Sent from my SGP611 using Tapatalk
__________________
i7-8700K, GTX 1080Ti, 2x16Gb DDR4, 250Gb Evo 970 NVMe, 1Tb Evo 970 NVMe, HTC Vive, Saitek Pro Flight Rudders, VPC MongoosT-50 base, grip and throttle
dvndmmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2018, 07:54 AM   #28
Goa
Member
 
Goa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 758
Default

Anyway for DCS related, there is 0 differenc between 7700k and 8700k.. rather the 7700k was smoother in my rig, with the 8700k I have some microstutters which were not presente with the 7700k.....
__________________
  • CPU : Intel i7 8700k@5.0ghz cooled by Noctua NH-D15 / Motherboard:Asorck Z370 Taichi / RAM: 32GB GSkill TridentZ @3600mhz / SSD: 500GB Nvme Samsung 970 evo+ 500GB Samsung 850 evo / GPU:Asus geforce strix O.C 1080TI / Monitor: Asus PG278QR 144HZ / Trackir 5 proclip/ TM Warthdog Hotas /TM TFFRP rudder /Case: Fractal Design R6 Define black
Goa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2018, 04:29 PM   #29
DocSigma
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 362
Default

At this stage in the game, I'd be asking the question: Is there any difference between the 7700k and the 9700k or 9900k? The coffee lake refresh is rumored to be dropping in a month, and both can hit 5+ ghz across all eight of their cores. The 9700k has no SMT so it's 1:1 but 5.5ghz across all eight cores and at the same price point as the 8700k should pay some dividends in DCS.
__________________
Watson!
DocSigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2018, 10:19 PM   #30
kevman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 28
Default

I would wager that there will be little difference in performance with intel's new line up other than a small bump due to clock speeds.

Only the most recent titles are now beginning to use more than 4 cores
kevman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:28 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.