VR decision - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2020, 04:40 PM   #21
Taz1004
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svsmokey View Post
A trackball offers the advantage of always being in the same place while in VR .
Are you saying with trackball, the pointer doesn't move with your head in VR?
Taz1004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 04:44 PM   #22
Svsmokey
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 3,047
Default

No , i am saying that the trackball is always in the same physical space-no fumbling for it .

I personally like the cursor moving with your head , but it is obvious some don't .
__________________
9700k , Aorus Pro wifi , 1tb EVO 970 , EVGA 1070 FE , Seasonic Prime 850w Gold , Coolermaster H500m , Noctua NH-D15S , CH Hotas on Foxxmounts , CH pedals , RiftS

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 05:06 PM   #23
eaglecash867
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svsmokey View Post
No , i am saying that the trackball is always in the same physical space-no fumbling for it .

I personally like the cursor moving with your head , but it is obvious some don't .
I have an old, big, heavy Logitech wireless mouse that takes care of that problem. Really hard to inadvertently flip it out of the way when I go to put my hand on it again. I like the cursor moving with your head too, it makes it so you don't have to move the mouse very far to click a button, so its always really close to the same position.

For the OP, the only time I found using a mouse and flying the plane at the same time difficult was when trying to retract the landing gear shortly after takeoff by clicking on the handle. I just assigned the paddle switch on the bottom of my Warthog stick to extending/retracting the gear.
__________________
ASRock Z370 Professional Gaming i7, Intel i7 8700K Coffee Lake processor @4.7GHz, Corsair H105 Liquid Cooler, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB DDR4 3400 memory, MSI GTX2080Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB video card, Samsung 840PRO 256MB SSD for Windows 10 64-bit OS, Samsung 850PRO 2TB SSD for program files, LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner. HOTAS Warthog, Saitek Pedals, HP Reverb Pro, and Oculus Rift CV1. Partridge and pear tree pending.
eaglecash867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 12:20 AM   #24
Motomouse
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 340
Default

My Reverb cable just started dying.

I had to revert to my Rift CV1.

And is not bad at all.

Go for the Rift S!

OP has got his quest already ;-)
__________________
VIC-20@1.108 MHz, onboard GPU, 5KB RAM, μυωπία goggles, Competition Pro HOTAS
Motomouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 01:08 AM   #25
Drac
Member
 
Drac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motomouse View Post
My Reverb cable just started dying.

I had to revert to my Rift CV1.

And is not bad at all.

Go for the Rift S!

OP has got his quest already ;-)
My cable went bad also. HP sent me a replacement cable in two days.
Drac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 01:14 AM   #26
Motomouse
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 340
Default

In my country HP support is not up to speed. Cable defect is at the clip (where the cable is clipped to the side straps). Not the long cable, but the short fixed to the HMD. Will report my customer support experience.

But I really like my CV1 for the time beeing :-)
__________________
VIC-20@1.108 MHz, onboard GPU, 5KB RAM, μυωπία goggles, Competition Pro HOTAS
Motomouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 01:21 AM   #27
Motomouse
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 340
Default

Drac, do you have the same picture with your Reverb in the left and right eye? With the latest patch I had different LOD rendering in left and right eye. Objects did pop up at a different distance. (I am asking this because I also consider a hardware error of the Reverb, the render problem is not there with the CV1)
__________________
VIC-20@1.108 MHz, onboard GPU, 5KB RAM, μυωπία goggles, Competition Pro HOTAS
Motomouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:05 AM   #28
Drac
Member
 
Drac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motomouse View Post
Drac, do you have the same picture with your Reverb in the left and right eye? With the latest patch I had different LOD rendering in left and right eye. Objects did pop up at a different distance. (I am asking this because I also consider a hardware error of the Reverb, the render problem is not there with the CV1)
The problem I had was WMR kept saying my Reverb was not connected. Leading to this issue, I noticed that I was not getting any sound every now and then. Eventually the connection issue. With the new cable, all is good.

I would go ahead and get a new cable, no cost, and two day shipping to confirm.

By the way, if you return the headset, you will not get yours back. They will send you a refurbished headset and the timeframe to receive it is not fast.

Last edited by Drac; 06-07-2020 at 12:07 AM.
Drac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:15 AM   #29
Motomouse
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 340
Default

Thank you
__________________
VIC-20@1.108 MHz, onboard GPU, 5KB RAM, μυωπία goggles, Competition Pro HOTAS
Motomouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.