Install stops OP - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2019, 05:34 PM   #1
Call911
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 560
Default Install stops OP

Cant install,can't repair, cant do anything with Open Beta gets this error.
Worled fine few days ago....my guess Ed broke it No clue.



00000.019 --- Log file: C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World OpenBeta\autoupdate_log.txt
00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2019-09-11 17:31:26
00000.011 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.4.76 (Windows NT 10.0.18362; Win64; en-US)
00000.011 INFO : cmdline: "C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World OpenBeta\bin\DCS_updater.exe" --apply repair
00000.016 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.019 INFO : basedir: C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World OpenBeta
00000.019 INFO : dcs_variant.txt: openbeta
00000.020 INFO : DCS/ (x86_64; EN; WORLD)
00000.020 INFO : branch: openbeta
00000.020 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.223 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00000.223 ERROR: JSON error: lexical error: invalid char in json text.
<!doctype html> <html lang="en
(right here) ------^
00002.599 === Log closed.
Call911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 05:39 PM   #2
_mu110_
Member
 
_mu110_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 240
Default

Have you tried manually deleting the OpenBeta and redownloading the client instead of trying to do these through the launcher?
_mu110_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 05:49 PM   #3
Call911
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 560
Default

Yes uninstalled thru program files, redownloaded installer an immidiatly get same error
Call911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 06:22 PM   #4
BIGNEWY
Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 15,886
Default

Uninstall as usual then manually check no files have been left.

Rename your DCS folder in saved games, keep it as a backup.

Reinstall DCS and test.

It sounds like something has been manually edited and something broke.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
Forum rules - Crash advice - Cleanup and repair - Discord BIGNEWY#8703
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 06:25 PM   #5
Call911
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGNEWY View Post
Uninstall as usual then manually check no files have been left.

Rename your DCS folder in saved games, keep it as a backup.

Reinstall DCS and test.

It sounds like something has been manually edited and something broke.
Ok, ty will try this after work tonite. Just kinda wierd as have nvr seen this error b4, usually a repair willl solve it or worst case total re-install. Work comes 1st Thanx.
Call911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:49 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.