Short range of F-5E module compared to listed performance - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2018, 08:24 AM   #1
TJTAS
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 110
Default Short range of F-5E module compared to listed performance

This is a question not a complaint!.

Why is this aircraft's range in game not comparable to listed stats?.

Encyclopedia (in game) states range as 2112km with Nominal load
Military today lists Combat radius as 1400km
Global security Lists a more conservative 1055km with full fuel and 2 Sidewinders

We played a mission today with a 280km approx round trip and reasonably heavy load including 2 150 gal drop tanks and were landing on fumes.

Is there a way to better optimise flight to fuel ratio or is there an issue with the fuel usage?.
TJTAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 08:41 AM   #2
Nooch
Senior Member
 
Nooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Earth, Milky Way, Universe, Consciousness
Posts: 1,321
Default

Range depends a lot upon the altitude and speed at which you are flying. It could explain the discrepancies that you have found. Other than that I don't really see what could justify such vastly different results.
Nooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 09:49 AM   #3
RED
Member
 
RED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Hesse
Posts: 496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJTAS View Post
Is there a way to better optimise flight to fuel ratio or is there an issue with the fuel usage?.
As Axelerator says altitude and speed are your 2 factors you can change well during flight. You can calculate your optimum cruise altitude and speed with the charts from the manual: https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...files/1946738/
On the top right of each page you will find a little helper that tells you from where to enter the chart with what data and where to go from there.
RED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 10:16 AM   #4
Mr_sukebe
Senior Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 1,308
Default

I’m guessing that the OP was sanity checking with those more knowledgeable as to whether the current fuel burn rate and operational radius seems realistic.
Whilst we get that fuel burn is always dependent upon the usage profile, that level of disparity does seem rather large.
__________________
System: 9700, 64GB DDR4, 1080, NVME2, CV1, Jetseat, VPC HOTAS, MFG crosswinds.
Server: i5 2500@3.9Ghz, 24GB DDR3, 1080, SSD.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 10:28 AM   #5
Weta43
Veteran
 
Weta43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aro Valley Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 6,765
Default

I just put three tanks on the F-5, took off, climbed to about 20,000 feet & a bit over 300 Knots.

I'm not patient, so I did it at 11x normal speed - which meant very shaky and very zig-zag, which will have cut down on the achieved range.

I flew to 5000 lb of fuel (a tight bingo) by which time I was off the map so I couldn't read the distance in sim, but putting the start and end coordinates into google maps it seems I'd covered 1,898 km by then.
__________________
Cheers.
Weta43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 11:52 AM   #6
TJTAS
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weta43 View Post
I just put three tanks on the F-5, took off, climbed to about 20,000 feet & a bit over 300 Knots.

I'm not patient, so I did it at 11x normal speed - which meant very shaky and very zig-zag, which will have cut down on the achieved range.

I flew to 5000 lb of fuel (a tight bingo) by which time I was off the map so I couldn't read the distance in sim, but putting the start and end coordinates into google maps it seems I'd covered 1,898 km by then.
Thanks for the info. What sort of ascent profile did you take. I was finding it hard to make altitude in the mission we were playing. I'm a newb to this plane though and thenk there was maybe a more efficient climb routine.
TJTAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 12:29 PM   #7
dolfo
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 179
Default

The answers to your questions can be found here

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...02&postcount=3

and here

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=167127
dolfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 12:54 PM   #8
RED
Member
 
RED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Hesse
Posts: 496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJTAS View Post
Thanks for the info. What sort of ascent profile did you take. I was finding it hard to make altitude in the mission we were playing. I'm a newb to this plane though and thenk there was maybe a more efficient climb routine.
An easy and efficient way is to accelerate to a certain IAS ( e.g. 300kn) and then start a military thrust climb keeping that speed. With altitude your mach speed will increase. When you reached your mach speed (e.g. 0.6) you want to cruise at, you hold that instead of the IAS until you reached your cruise altitude.
RED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 02:30 PM   #9
Robert31178
Senior Member
 
Robert31178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,447
Default

Red, thank you!! I love my little knife fighters. You just gave me the final piece to my puzzle!!!!
Robert31178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:57 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.