Multiplayer liveries? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2018, 05:45 PM   #1
Nascar
Member
 
Nascar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 393
Default Multiplayer liveries?

Where do I put the user liveries so they are available for me to select in multiplayer? I put them in Bazar/liveries, coremods and saved games and I don't see my UH-1 liveries in the refuel rearm drop down on the Through The Inferno server. Is it a server thing or what?
__________________
Spoiler:
Thermaltake Core P90 Tempered Glass//Thermaltake iRGB Plus 1200W//GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS MASTER LGA 1151//i9-9900K//Thermaltake CL420 Copper Radiator//Thermaltake W4 Plus//Thermaltake 140mm Radiator Fan Triple Pack//Samsung 1TB 970 EVO NVMe M2//SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 500GB //CORSAIR Vengeance RGB Pro 64GB 3200//GIGABYTE AORUS GeForce RTX 2080 TI//Logitech G940//Virpil MT50 Throttle//MFG Crosswind rudder pedals//Geko GSeat//Gametrix Jetseat//Htc Vive
Nascar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 11:58 AM   #2
Maverick87Shaka
Member
 
Maverick87Shaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Italy, Milano
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascar View Post
Where do I put the user liveries so they are available for me to select in multiplayer? I put them in Bazar/liveries, coremods and saved games and I don't see my UH-1 liveries in the refuel rearm drop down on the Through The Inferno server. Is it a server thing or what?
Try the single player mission to check if the liveries is correctly installed.
If they are installed, it can depend on two things:
  • Server deny skin change
  • You liveries doesn't match the coalition of the multiplayer slot

Remember, only you or other people with the same liveries installed can see your custom liveries, all the other people will see you with default liveries.
__________________
FlighRIG => CPU: RyZen 2700x | RAM: 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz running at 2600Mhz (Damn RyZen!) | GPU: nVIDIA RTX 2080 FE | OS Storage: SSD NVMe Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, DCS Storage: SSD SATAIII Crucial MX300 750GB | Device: VirPil T-50, ThrustMaster TWCS Throttle and Pedals, TrackHat, MFD Cougar.
Server => [ITA] Banshee TEST server - PvE | Windows Server 2016 | i7-7700K | 32GB DDR4 @2400Mhz | SSD 970 EVO M.2, NVMe | 1Gbps Dedicated Fiber Connection
Maverick87Shaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 01:24 AM   #3
BoneDust
Member
 
BoneDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascar View Post
Where do I put the user liveries so they are available for me to select in multiplayer? I put them in Bazar/liveries, coremods and saved games and I don't see my UH-1 liveries in the refuel rearm drop down on the Through The Inferno server. Is it a server thing or what?
Not sure but I assume its the same as the F18, which go here:


C:\Users\YOURNAME\Saved Games\DCS.openbeta\Liveries\FA-18C_hornet\Whatever you want to call the skin. Example

C:\Users\YOURNAME\Saved Games\DCS.openbeta\Liveries\FA-18C_hornet\RCAF - Bonedust


You can have many many skins by putting them in their own folder as above and changing the description.lua file at the bottom of the script to reflect where the files are example:

name = "RCAF - Bonedust"
countries = {"USA",}
__________________


Spoiler:
Windows® 10 Home Premium | 64bit, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz (Cores 6) (Logical/Core 2) | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB | 1 X 1TB SSD | 1 X 275GB SSD | Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio sound card | 16GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1333MHz | Oculus Rift

Last edited by BoneDust; 09-11-2018 at 01:30 AM.
BoneDust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 09:41 PM   #4
BaD CrC
Senior Member
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,331
Default

The server does not need to have the skins installed. Only the clients. Now if the people you are flying with do not have the skins you are using on their computer, they won't see the said skins but rather a default one chosen by the game.
So for everyone to fly and see the same skins, all of the clients must have those skins installed.
__________________

8086K delid @5.1Ghz under EKWB Water, 2080Ti FE, 32Gb DDR4, 970Pro NvME.
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 09:24 PM   #5
Furia
Veteran
 
Furia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 912
Default

Is there any way to make that the server rejects any player that does not have the required skins as it hapens when you do not have the appropiate Mods?
__________________
http://menorca.infotelecom.es/~raulurbina/ESA/banner_furia.png
Furia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 10:59 PM   #6
Maverick87Shaka
Member
 
Maverick87Shaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Italy, Milano
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Furia View Post
Is there any way to make that the server rejects any player that does not have the required skins as it hapens when you do not have the appropiate Mods?
For sure not with the current code! I'm also dreaming about a code refactoring where server can "push" Liveries to client. Obviously server has a tons of stuff to do but also have normally a lot of spare upload bandwidth, asynchronous upload to client of this stuff will be awesome!
Some games server already has similar behavior, but for DCS requires a lot of "coding" stuff, since actually I believe there is no asynchronous capabilities at all in the actual DCS "server".
Look for example how all player are affected by "LAGs" when a new player join a Multiplayer session, It's seams that all client are waiting that the server finish to push mission to that specific new client. This effects are more noticeable with large mission files and slow internet speed of the new clients, that's why I suppose is not working in the magic asynchronous style!
__________________
FlighRIG => CPU: RyZen 2700x | RAM: 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz running at 2600Mhz (Damn RyZen!) | GPU: nVIDIA RTX 2080 FE | OS Storage: SSD NVMe Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, DCS Storage: SSD SATAIII Crucial MX300 750GB | Device: VirPil T-50, ThrustMaster TWCS Throttle and Pedals, TrackHat, MFD Cougar.
Server => [ITA] Banshee TEST server - PvE | Windows Server 2016 | i7-7700K | 32GB DDR4 @2400Mhz | SSD 970 EVO M.2, NVMe | 1Gbps Dedicated Fiber Connection
Maverick87Shaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 04:05 AM   #7
Ironwulf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick87Shaka View Post
For sure not with the current code! I'm also dreaming about a code refactoring where server can "push" Liveries to client. Obviously server has a tons of stuff to do but also have normally a lot of spare upload bandwidth, asynchronous upload to client of this stuff will be awesome!
Some games server already has similar behavior, but for DCS requires a lot of "coding" stuff, since actually I believe there is no asynchronous capabilities at all in the actual DCS "server".
Look for example how all player are affected by "LAGs" when a new player join a Multiplayer session, It's seams that all client are waiting that the server finish to push mission to that specific new client. This effects are more noticeable with large mission files and slow internet speed of the new clients, that's why I suppose is not working in the magic asynchronous style!
its probably not necessary for the server itself to push the livery. It simply sends a URL where the livery can be downloaded which may or may not be the same server. Then the only lag (from downloading) is at the client end.

the client end, in an ideal world would cache them, with perhaps a hash identifier (so even if the file name was different for another player, if the livery is the same then the hash will be the same), so they do not need to be downloaded again.

The problems come when you are already in the game, and a new player joins with a new skin. The easy way around it is your game downloads the skin but you will only see the default until you next restart DCS and that player or another joins with the same skin.

A further extrapolation of this would be the ability for MP servers to unlock liveries on a per user and/or per aircraft basis. This allows for the removal of the privilege for people who abuse it with say offensive skins, but also allow MP server operators to perhaps generate some income to run the server by having a paid system of allowing liveries for players.
Ironwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 07:19 AM   #8
Nero.ger
Member
 
Nero.ger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick87Shaka View Post
For sure not with the current code! I'm also dreaming about a code refactoring where server can "push" Liveries to client. Obviously server has a tons of stuff to do but also have normally a lot of spare upload bandwidth, asynchronous upload to client of this stuff will be awesome!
the last thing i want is beeing forced to download liverys of other people, especialy if they are unnesessaryly in 8k or of questionable quality
__________________
'controlling' the Ka50 feels like a discussion with the Autopilot and trim system about the flight direction.
Nero.ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 08:39 AM   #9
Maverick87Shaka
Member
 
Maverick87Shaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Italy, Milano
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nero.ger View Post
the last thing i want is beeing forced to download liverys of other people, especialy if they are unnesessaryly in 8k or of questionable quality
Like other games, if you don't like the works done by specific server, you can simply delete that works and don't use that server again, like arma or everything else created with a decent mods support.

Don't want to download/have unnecessary stuff? don't join that server that choose to "push" that stuff.

The feature is certainly interesting, but I think we'll never going to have this on DCS
__________________
FlighRIG => CPU: RyZen 2700x | RAM: 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz running at 2600Mhz (Damn RyZen!) | GPU: nVIDIA RTX 2080 FE | OS Storage: SSD NVMe Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, DCS Storage: SSD SATAIII Crucial MX300 750GB | Device: VirPil T-50, ThrustMaster TWCS Throttle and Pedals, TrackHat, MFD Cougar.
Server => [ITA] Banshee TEST server - PvE | Windows Server 2016 | i7-7700K | 32GB DDR4 @2400Mhz | SSD 970 EVO M.2, NVMe | 1Gbps Dedicated Fiber Connection
Maverick87Shaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:53 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.