Storm of War - DCS Historical Server - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2018, 11:43 AM   #41
saburo_cz
Member
 
saburo_cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Prague CZ
Posts: 655
Default

hi,
have no idea how to send file in PM, so here are both files..
PM can contains only 1000 characters, so it is impossible to just copy text from view files into PM.
Attached Files
File Type: lua Views 109.lua (3.8 KB, 86 views)
File Type: lua Views 190.lua (3.8 KB, 88 views)
__________________
saburo_cz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 12:04 PM   #42
birdstrike
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philstyle View Post
Saburo, Can you do me a favour?
Can you go into DCS\Mods\aircraft and go into the folders for the 109 and the 190.

In there you will see file called view.lua
open that file with notepad or notepad ++
In the file, there is a section called ViewSettings = {
This section goes for 22 lines

Can you copy and paste that section for me here, or in a PM, or send me a copy of your view.lua files?

Then I can look to see what might be going on. Our FW190 and Bf109 admins say thy do not experience this issue. So it might be a player-specific thing....
i guess that your admins use a different cockpit origin than the players having the issues...
birdstrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 12:12 PM   #43
philstyle
Senior Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdstrike View Post
i guess that your admins use a different cockpit origin than the players having the issues...

I've looked at Saburo's two .lua files.
Everything is exactly the same as our Admin uses in his own DCS folders . .
The only line we have edited on the server is
CameraViewAngleLimits = {20.000000,140.000000},
We changed the lowest value from 20 to 30 and the highest value from 140 down to 105, so it is this
CameraViewAngleLimits = {30.000000,105.000000},

The guy who is an admin on our server, who flies both the 190 and 109 reported this:

Quote:
For me it is not a problem. However, I suspect I know the cause of it. The Field-of-View relies on the monitor resolution, the zoom, and the camera position (6 degrees-of-freedom). With most of the aircraft, the position is set up once, you save it (typically with RAlt + Num0) and then it defaults there or if you re-centre the view.

The Bf 109 K-4 is somewhat different in that the gunsight can be folded down. When this happens, the camera position moves to the left to put you on-axes again. What this means, is that when you set up the default camera position, you need to bear this in mind. I set mine up on the gunsight-view and adjust from there. But if you have an unusual monitor resolution, or have not set this correctly, it might lead to problems.

I have just tested it, and it all works fine for my setup. I tried the 109 is a host of different positions and these were without problem. I have also done a series of test images for some of the possible aircraft/view combinations. Basically you can put the camera position on the centre-line (c) or gunsight-line (g), zoomed fully in (i) or out (o) and with the camera position fully forward (f) or backward (b).

http://www.stormofwar.org/images/fov-images/
__________________
My YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/philstylenz


Storm of War server updates: http://stormofwar.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=29
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 04:06 PM   #44
saburo_cz
Member
 
saburo_cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Prague CZ
Posts: 655
Default

hi,
here are my views immediately after spawn, did not touch any head or camera movement and no zoom. Only for 109 i hid gunsight.
[IMG][/IMG]
[IMG][/IMG]
[IMG][/IMG]

My display resolution is 1920*1200.
__________________
saburo_cz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 07:54 PM   #45
philstyle
Senior Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 1,052
Default

SoW is testing a new compilation of WW2 mods on the server this weekend.

If successful we will integrate this mod pack on a permanent basis.
It allows us to have lots of nice new toys (A.I. aircraft, ships, player and AI grounds vehicles and new skins) in the mission, as provided by some talented madders in the DCS Community.

Hopefully testing will be complete this weekend, then we will open back up for public players.
__________________
My YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/philstylenz


Storm of War server updates: http://stormofwar.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=29
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 11:45 PM   #46
20thBG_Blackwolf
Member
 
20thBG_Blackwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Roanoke VA
Posts: 295
Default

Phil, will it be OVGME friendly?
__________________

If it doesn't hover, it just sucks and blows
20thBG_Blackwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 10:25 AM   #47
xvii-Dietrich
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pohjoiskalotti
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20thBG_Blackwolf View Post
Phil, will it be OVGME friendly?

Mostly.


To get it to work, I needed to add one extra folder in the installation: "Mods".


Currently, it unpacks to "SoW DCS WW2 modpack November2018 -> aircraft/liveries/tech" when it should be "SoW DCS WW2 modpack November2018 -> Mods -> aircraft/liveries/tech".


I unpack into the JSGME_MODS area in my SavedGames, add the Mods folder and then move the other folders into that.


It was pretty easy but still, I'll with speak with Phil about it and see if we can make it even more JSGME/OVGME friendly.
xvii-Dietrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 12:43 PM   #48
philstyle
Senior Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20thBG_Blackwolf View Post
Phil, will it be OVGME friendly?
It should now be.
I have updated the file structure for the testing version we are using this weekend.
Details are over on the SoW forum Blackwolf.
__________________
My YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/philstylenz


Storm of War server updates: http://stormofwar.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=29
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 06:25 AM   #49
philstyle
Senior Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 1,052
Default

SoW Modpack compiled and available for download.
This mod is required in order to join the SoW server.

__________________
My YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/philstylenz


Storm of War server updates: http://stormofwar.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=29
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 09:57 AM   #50
rogonaut
Member
 
rogonaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 828
Default

a very good decision if u ask me, mods are really needed for a nice ww 2 experience!

add the german sub too
rogonaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:24 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.