Storm of War - DCS Historical Server - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2018, 02:49 PM   #31
Mastiff
Veteran
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mars
Posts: 4,469
Default

Thanks Philstyle good to know.
__________________
" any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback " WF.
"Success is not final, failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that counts," Sir Churchill
" He who never changes his mind, never changes anything," WC, GBS.

"Asus z370 MX||i7x8700k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||EVGA SN 1300 G2 ||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||VKB,MCG\ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G19 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift VR
32 Samsung|| 1x9inc||
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 11:38 PM   #32
Mastiff
Veteran
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mars
Posts: 4,469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philstyle View Post
Hey Mastiff! Nice to see some 71st tags on the server, its like old times
Firstly, it's proably best to ask detailed questions etc over on the SoW forums - there's quite a bit of mission-related discussion going on over there.. But I can answer these ones here.

OK, so the issue with units firing through trees is a DCS problem, and not a server-only thing.
I generally try to place units is "sensible" locations. I know on some servers, the ground units are just placed in the middle of open ground, exposed to all sorts of attack that no commander in their right mind would normally tolerate!
I try to build unit formations that use the terrain and the local landscape features in a semi-realistic manner. So, a column or unit will disperse around open ground by hugging the treeline, like in the image below. Whilst this is, in my opinion, more "realistic" it does mean that problems with the base game such as line-of-sight through trees become more glaring. But for now its just something we have to live with.



What map/ mission was this on?
The units should be there.. but sometimes it takes a little effort to find them. Check roads in particular, and look for vehicles parked along tree lines.
Worst case scenario, you can open up the mission from the downloaded ntrk file and check in the mission editor exactly where they are.



I've noticed that radios seem to need to be set up on the ground before takeoff. There is nothing different in the way I have the server set up, to the way any other server is set up....
Unfortunately I can't explain why any individual players might have issues...

its was the monte map, the radios as far as I know for the P15's and spitfires you have to assign them in the ME.
__________________
" any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback " WF.
"Success is not final, failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that counts," Sir Churchill
" He who never changes his mind, never changes anything," WC, GBS.

"Asus z370 MX||i7x8700k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||EVGA SN 1300 G2 ||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||VKB,MCG\ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G19 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift VR
32 Samsung|| 1x9inc||
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 10:04 AM   #33
philstyle
Senior Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 1,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiff View Post
its was the monte map.
Make sure you read the briefing very carefully on the monte-cassino map.

The brief says to take a T-51 unarmed trainer to conduct recon of the target areas first. Until the recon is done, the unit locations will not be known.
__________________
My YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/philstylenz


Storm of War server updates: http://stormofwar.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=29
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 07:10 PM   #34
birdstrike
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 351
Default

the missions are cool...but...messing with the views server side, causes several people i was flying with to have problems so they cant fly on your server...the AI in general is also nice, and the airfields are also populated nicely...having AI fighters though is a pain i think...nevertheless overall its a more immersive server then burning scheiss...
birdstrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 08:02 PM   #35
philstyle
Senior Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 1,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdstrike View Post
..messing with the views server side, causes several people i was flying with to have problems so they cant fly on your server....
What "issues" exactly?
__________________
My YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/philstylenz


Storm of War server updates: http://stormofwar.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=29
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 11:37 PM   #36
birdstrike
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 351
Default

in the 109 specifically...they cant look through the gunsight, and or sit too far left iirc. and dont seem to be able to change it...i think messing with the views is problematic because of such sideeffects, especially for planes like the 109 where you can change seat position between auto,cruise and gunsight in the options menu.
and interesting enough, even i had trouble last time when i joined with my rift in the 109...was sitting on the left window pretty much and it recentered there as well, today though it was ok for me.l
birdstrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 09:02 AM   #37
philstyle
Senior Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 1,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdstrike View Post
in the 109 specifically...they cant look through the gunsight, and or sit too far left iirc. and dont seem to be able to change it...i think messing with the views is problematic because of such sideeffects, especially for planes like the 109 where you can change seat position between auto,cruise and gunsight in the options menu.
and interesting enough, even i had trouble last time when i joined with my rift in the 109...was sitting on the left window pretty much and it recentered there as well, today though it was ok for me.l

Hmm.. i don't see why restricting the max and min FoV values should have that result. All the other values for the 109K9 are the same as default. All we have done is take a little off the top and bottom of the FoV ranges.
One of our admins has the 109K4, I will ask him to look at this.
__________________
My YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/philstylenz


Storm of War server updates: http://stormofwar.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=29
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 09:30 AM   #38
saburo_cz
Member
 
saburo_cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Prague CZ
Posts: 654
Default

It is not only for 109, this issue is here for 190 too.
I do not use any kind of trackir system and when i chose 190 or 109 head position is in the middle of cockpit, on your server, so only way to see through gunsight is move camera to right and save a new cockpit angels. It change FOV not really usefull way.
__________________
saburo_cz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 10:27 AM   #39
philstyle
Senior Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 1,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saburo_cz View Post
It is not only for 109, this issue is here for 190 too.
I do not use any kind of trackir system and when i chose 190 or 109 head position is in the middle of cockpit, on your server, so only way to see through gunsight is move camera to right and save a new cockpit angels. It change FOV not really usefull way.
OK thanks.. I might need to return the FoV in the BF109 and FW190 back to default. strange.
__________________
My YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/philstylenz


Storm of War server updates: http://stormofwar.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=29
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 11:28 AM   #40
philstyle
Senior Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 1,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saburo_cz View Post
It is not only for 109, this issue is here for 190 too.
I do not use any kind of trackir system and when i chose 190 or 109 head position is in the middle of cockpit, on your server, so only way to see through gunsight is move camera to right and save a new cockpit angels. It change FOV not really usefull way.


Saburo, Can you do me a favour?
Can you go into DCS\Mods\aircraft and go into the folders for the 109 and the 190.

In there you will see file called view.lua
open that file with notepad or notepad ++
In the file, there is a section called ViewSettings = {
This section goes for 22 lines

Can you copy and paste that section for me here, or in a PM, or send me a copy of your view.lua files?

Then I can look to see what might be going on. Our FW190 and Bf109 admins say thy do not experience this issue. So it might be a player-specific thing....
__________________
My YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/philstylenz


Storm of War server updates: http://stormofwar.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=29
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.