[FIXED]A2A Radar very narrow vertical coverage - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2019, 12:02 AM   #1
DackSter94
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: London
Posts: 177
Default [FIXED]A2A Radar very narrow vertical coverage

Noticed that it is very hard to pick anything up within 30 miles. Turns out that altitude coverage is very small. In the screenshot below you can see that at 40 miles radar covers only 12000 feet. If we do some math here, that is about 2.8 degrees only (in 4 bars!)!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DCS 2019-12-08 21-19-58.png
Views:	366
Size:	1.09 MB
ID:	222611  
__________________
LOOK MA, NO HOOK

Last edited by L0op8ack; 12-09-2019 at 03:49 AM.
DackSter94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 12:44 AM   #2
fatboy
Member
 
fatboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 138
Default

I noticed this also and am curious about it.
__________________


MODULES: A10C Warthog,AJS Viggen,AV8B Harrier,,BF109 K4,C101 Aviojet,F14 Tomcat,F16 Viper,F5 Tiger,F86 Sabre,FA18C Hornet,FW190A8,FW190D9,I16 Ishak,JF17 Thunder,KA50 Blackshark,L39,Mirage2000C,MI8MVT2,MIG15BIS,MIG19P,MIG21BIS,P51D,SA342 Gazell,SpitfireIX,TF51D,UH1H Huey,Yak52.
OTHER:Flamming cliffs,Combined Arms,WW2 Assets Pack.
TERRAINS: Nevada,Caucasus,Normandy,Persian Gulf.
fatboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 12:50 AM   #3
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3,948
Default

12000 ft is a huge range, consider that it is 3600 meters, or 3.6 kilometers.

And that is as well not a problem, considering a modern electronic warfare where this aircraft is designed to operate, not in a cold war era but in 2006 and forward, the most modern aircraft there is in DCS, and as well most advanced.

So if you are scanning a space front of you at 55 km (30 nmi) range and there at 3.6 km vertical, that is a huge volume. With that 3.6 km vertical space you should be able to find your targets as you are informed where to scan by the datalink or radio.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 01:06 AM   #4
DackSter94
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: London
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fri13 View Post
12000 ft is a huge range, consider that it is 3600 meters, or 3.6 kilometers.

And that is as well not a problem, considering a modern electronic warfare where this aircraft is designed to operate, not in a cold war era but in 2006 and forward, the most modern aircraft there is in DCS, and as well most advanced.

So if you are scanning a space front of you at 55 km (30 nmi) range and there at 3.6 km vertical, that is a huge volume. With that 3.6 km vertical space you should be able to find your targets as you are informed where to scan by the datalink or radio.
No, 3.6 km at 40nmi is nothing. . Imagine finding something at 20 miles, most a2a combat happens under that in DCS (if not under 10).
For reference:
Alt coverage of some aircraft in DCS at 40nmi at 4 bars:
M2K: 10.4km
F-15C: 12.8km
JF-17: 3.7km
__________________
LOOK MA, NO HOOK

Last edited by DackSter94; 12-09-2019 at 01:12 AM.
DackSter94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 03:32 AM   #5
toilet2000
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 187
Default

If I'm not mistaken, this has been fixed (next OB) according to: https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...77&postcount=2


It seems like they computed the elevation using only half of the antenna beam width, so elevation coverage should be double what it is currently.
toilet2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 03:48 AM   #6
L0op8ack
3rd Party Developer
 
L0op8ack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: the Forbidden City
Posts: 329
Default

fixed


AA radar INTC bar spacing: RWS: 1.3 degrees, TWS: 1.6 degrees
TDC EL range calculation: need add half beam width
L0op8ack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 09:51 PM   #7
DackSter94
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: London
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by L0op8ack View Post
fixed


AA radar INTC bar spacing: RWS: 1.3 degrees, TWS: 1.6 degrees
TDC EL range calculation: need add half beam width
If I interpreted this correctly, and bar width is 3 degrees, that would give around 8 degrees of coverage in rws 4 bars?
__________________
LOOK MA, NO HOOK
DackSter94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 02:58 AM   #8
L0op8ack
3rd Party Developer
 
L0op8ack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: the Forbidden City
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DackSter94 View Post
If I interpreted this correctly, and bar width is 3 degrees, that would give around 8 degrees of coverage in rws 4 bars?

60 degrees 2 bar
25 degrees 3 bar
10 degrees 4 bar


fixed pattern configs
L0op8ack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 02:17 PM   #9
Satarosa
Member
 
Satarosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 919
Question ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by L0op8ack View Post
60 degrees 2 bar
25 degrees 3 bar
10 degrees 4 bar


fixed pattern configs

So it' 60+25+10° for 4bar full open have < of 95° ?



https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=258188
__________________
Real War, Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCs..._as=subscriber

Real War, Voice Chat: https://discord.gg/UGa3KMe

Satarosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.