Upgrade CPU or GPU? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2018, 07:51 PM   #1
Echo179
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: California, USA
Posts: 71
Default Upgrade CPU or GPU?

I'm running a GTX 1080, and an Intel i5 4690k @4.5ghz with 16gb of ram, driving an Oculus Rift.
I normally get around 45fps, until I get a bunch of assets in the game.
I'm debating where I should focus my upgrade efforts. The CPU is a great performer in just about everything I throw at it, but I know I'm a few generations behind now. So I was thinking of either a new Ryzen or Intel build, but that's gonna be spendy, as I'll need a new mobo and ram as well.

On the GPU side, I was looking at either a used 1080ti, or a 2080.

Where should I focus my efforts, primarily for DCS?
Echo179 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 07:59 PM   #2
DeathAngel1
Member
 
DeathAngel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 692
Default

Do you have smooth play in 45 FPS? If you do, you dont need to upgrade anything IMO. I play with 60-70 FPS and game runs pretty well and smooth...in some heavy missions, FPS drops to 40-50, but even then my DCS is running well.

Almost every settings on "max".

i7 6820 HK, 16 GB DDR4 RAM, 1070 8 GB, 480GB ADATA GAMMIX SSD.
DeathAngel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 08:06 PM   #3
Echo179
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: California, USA
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathAngel1 View Post
Do you have smooth play in 45 FPS? If you do, you dont need to upgrade anything IMO. I play with 60-70 FPS and game runs pretty well and smooth...in some heavy missions, FPS drops to 40-50, but even then my DCS is running well.

Almost every settings on "max".

i7 6820 HK, 16 GB DDR4 RAM, 1070 8 GB, 480GB ADATA GAMMIX SSD.
If you're getting that performance on a 1070, maybe I need to be looking at the CPU option. I'll drop down to the teens at even slightly congested air fields.
Echo179 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 08:16 PM   #4
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Echo179 View Post
...
Where should I focus my efforts, primarily for DCS?
Rather than guess, I suggest its better to monitor the system while running DCS, using a tool like MSI Afterburner, that can measure cpu and gpu utilization while you play dcs. Here is a good tutorial on how to set it up:



My feeling is that your cpu is probably still good, as in dcs it is mostly the single core speed the deciding factor .. most newer cpus attain higher benchmark scores than yours only because the have more cores, something that it’s irrelevant for DCS
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 LTSC - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 08:19 PM   #5
Echo179
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: California, USA
Posts: 71
Default

Problem is that at different times, both see 100% utilization. I thought my i5 wouldn't due to how DCS uses cores, but all 4 were pegged
Echo179 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 08:39 PM   #6
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 3,612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
Rather than guess, I suggest its better to monitor the system while running DCS, using a tool like MSI Afterburner, that can measure cpu and gpu utilization while you play dcs. Here is a good tutorial on how to set it up.
Afterburner/RTSS don't work in VR.
The best utility I've come across to monitor GPU/CPU usage in VR with an overlay is fpsVR. It's on Steam and is cheap!
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · TM F/A-18 Hornet Stick · 2 x Virpil WarBRD base · HP Reverb Pro
imacken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 12:33 AM   #7
jimiC
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 215
Default

1080 and 4.5ghz is really only one step under the best combo for dcs vr.
I would hold off and see what the vr optimizations bring over the next few months

Maybe try for a slightly higher overclock on the CPU and overclock the gfx a bit if you haven't explored those routes

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
jimiC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 06:13 PM   #8
Thick8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 789
Default

DCS loves CPU speed vs. core count. Water cooling and overclocking the CPU would serve you well. I run a seriously overclocked 1080ti and am able to crank up the eye candy pretty high. Yet I still will drop to 45 FPS in areas of high graphical demand in DCS. If it can’t hold 90 it will go to 45. I thought there was going to be some sort of performance gain with 2.5 but that never seemed to happen.
__________________
Asus ROG C6H | AMD Ryzen 3600 @ 4.2Ghz | Gigabyte Aorus Waterforce WB 1080ti | 32Gb Crucial DDR4/3600 | 2Tb Intel NVMe drive | Samsung Odyssey+ VR | Thrustmaster Warthog | Saitek pedals | Custom geothermal cooling loop with a homemade 40' copper heat exchanger 35' in the ground
Thick8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2018, 08:02 PM   #9
wormeaten
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Croatia
Posts: 901
Default

This could be all changed with the upcoming Vulcan upgrade. Finally, benefit from multicore CPU and multi GPU.
wormeaten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2018, 08:51 PM   #10
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 3,612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathAngel1 View Post
Do you have smooth play in 45 FPS? If you do, you dont need to upgrade anything IMO. I play with 60-70 FPS and game runs pretty well and smooth...in some heavy missions, FPS drops to 40-50, but even then my DCS is running well.

Almost every settings on "max".

i7 6820 HK, 16 GB DDR4 RAM, 1070 8 GB, 480GB ADATA GAMMIX SSD.
Wow! I can't get anywhere near that, and my system is a step or two above yours. I think you must have a magic box to get those numbers in VR!
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · TM F/A-18 Hornet Stick · 2 x Virpil WarBRD base · HP Reverb Pro
imacken is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:10 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.