All DCS`s input devices on USB hub - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2019, 10:37 AM   #11
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
Is this 2.0 usb hub also suitable for connecting an HMD (Rift cv1 in my case)?

Sorry for my ignorance, but I have no idea what usb 3.0 (or is it called 3.1?) adds to usb 2.0. Can somebody tell me if the usb hub mentioned by Ranma will suffice when I plan to connect the following devices:
  • Rift CV1 (only the HMD as the sensors will stay on my PC ports)
  • TM WH hotas
  • TM Cougar hotas
  • Keyboard
  • Mouse
  • PointCTRL (as soon as it's my turn )
  • Saitek pro flight rudder pedals
  • G27 racing wheel
  • G27 pedals
Not really, it will probably work but may not work at it's potential.
USB 3 adds greater throughput, which the Rift needs.
Would be better to get a USB 3 powered hub and just run the Rift off of it. Leave your other devices on USB 2 ports/hub.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.2 GHz all cores | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF MK III Pro L | EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S | Oculus Quest |
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 10:52 AM   #12
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dburne View Post
Not really, it will probably work but may not work at it's potential.
USB 3 adds greater throughput, which the Rift needs.
Would be better to get a USB 3 powered hub and just run the Rift off of it. Leave your other devices on USB 2 ports/hub.
So the mentioned 2.0 hub would be enough for all my listed devices, except for the cv1 (which I should directly plug into a 3.0 port on my pc). Did I understand this correctly?

These usb 3.0 hubs are quite a bit more expensive, so I'd rather go for a 2.0 hub if it's sufficient
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 11:52 AM   #13
Drakoz
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 199
Default

I use this one. I paid $76 for it last year.
BrovSS- 10 Ports USB 2.0 Hub - USB Charging Splitter Hub LEDs with 5V 10A 120W Power Adapter
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0..._title_o01_s00

Or here is the slightly cheaper version, though I haven't used this one:
BrovSS- 10 Ports USB 2.0 Powered Hub - USB Extension Splitter for Mining with 12V 5A 60W Adapter
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076HLY2L9...pa_dk_detail_2

Here is their product web page. https://brovss.shop/collections/all-products

My goal was to make sure that power wasn't an issue. I don't trust half the power supply specs we see on USB hubs. Most game controllers take less than 100mA, but some want 250-350mA. At 120W, the one I bought is clearly capable of powering anything I plug into it, while also charging several iPads and iPhones at the same time (no, I don't do that). Overkill, yes, but after having some issues, I didn't want to mess around anymore.

The cheaper one is half the power and but still way over kill for sim controllers. These things were sold originally for Bitcoin mining USB compute modules. So most the negative reviews on them are because the cheaper one (for example) couldn't run 10 power hungry CPU modules. We don't care about that for our simming as the cheaper 60W one is still over kill for our needs.

Also, as said, for game controllers, get USB 2.0, not 3.0. A USB3.0 hub might actually mess with some game controllers due to driver or hardware issues.
Drakoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 12:44 PM   #14
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
So the mentioned 2.0 hub would be enough for all my listed devices, except for the cv1 (which I should directly plug into a 3.0 port on my pc). Did I understand this correctly?

These usb 3.0 hubs are quite a bit more expensive, so I'd rather go for a 2.0 hub if it's sufficient
For the Rift CV1 you will need three USB 3 ports.
Yes the 2.0 hub should be plenty for your USB 2 devices. I would plug keyboard and mouse though directly into motherboard USB 2 ports.

I used to use a powered USB 3 hub for my CV1, now that I have the Rift S with only one USB 3 connector I just plug it into
my motherboard USB 3 .
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.2 GHz all cores | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF MK III Pro L | EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S | Oculus Quest |
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 03:08 PM   #15
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 780
Default

Thanks for the info guys

I've seen links to specific hubs, but unfortunately they're all sold from the US. Which means US (type C) connectors and high delivery costs. I'm still searching for a proper equivalent sold in Europe, but I'm struggling to find a proper hub in-between the jungle of junk-hubs (which are sometimes priced even higher than the good ones)
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 08:35 PM   #16
Ranma13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 497
Default

You can differentiate USB 3.0 from 2.0 from the color of the ports, the vast majority of USB 3.0 hubs have blue-colored ports, whereas USB 2.0 is usually black or white. As for the Rift, it's best if you have it on a USB 3.0 port, but some quick searching online shows that there isn't a noticeable difference on USB 2.0:

https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comm...h_the_headset/
Ranma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 01:30 PM   #17
hsth
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 156
Default

Have a look at these options:
- https://www.conrad.com/p/renkforce-7...-black-1607017
- https://www.conrad.com/p/renkforce-7...-black-1089874


I know, not cheap but I have been using these for years without problems. And you can select the usb device you want to connect.
I used to have pedals, joystick, throttle, jetseat, Logitech 13G and Oculus Rift all connected on a 7 port hub (usb 2.0).


Be aware that for most multiple port hubs you also want an usb extension cable as the standard cables are not that long. Unless of course you can put the hub near your motherboard.
hsth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 01:58 PM   #18
KTFBGB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Arizona
Posts: 425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
Thanks for the info guys

I've seen links to specific hubs, but unfortunately they're all sold from the US. Which means US (type C) connectors and high delivery costs. I'm still searching for a proper equivalent sold in Europe, but I'm struggling to find a proper hub in-between the jungle of junk-hubs (which are sometimes priced even higher than the good ones)
Just to be clear. USB C is completely different than USB 3 or 3.1. USB C is a different class and size. USB 1 through 3.1 are all the same size. It’s not a US thing. If you have a current IPAD Pro. Then you have USB C port on that device and a USB C cable for charging regardless of where you are in the world.
KTFBGB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 03:51 PM   #19
98abaile
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 566
Default

As long as you use a USB 3 hub in a USB 3 port, you should be fine in most cases. I have my VPC stick, WH throttle and 2 MFDs all plugged into one 4 port USB 3 hub. That way I can lift my rig onto the desk edge, tighten the clamps and plug in just a single cable into the top of my PC case.
98abaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:14 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.