Laptop as an input device - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2019, 01:10 AM   #1
PingPongChampeen
Member
 
PingPongChampeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Oscoda, MI
Posts: 229
Default Laptop as an input device

Is it possible to use a laptop as a CDU or an MFCD page that is separate from my main computer? Ive been wanting to do a multi touchscreen setup for this, but I just so happen to have a spare laptop lying around and this would be perfect for a scratchpad/CDU if possible. And if so, how would one go about doing the necessary mods?
__________________
Intel 8086k o/c 5.4ghz | 32gb GSkill TridentZ DDR4 3200 ram | Asus Z370 Maximus X Formula| Zotac GTX 1080Ti | eVGA 1000w psu | MFG Crosswinds | TM Warthog | TM Cougar MFD | Dell 34" UHD Curved monitor | TrackIr 5/Oculus Rift CV1 | Windows 10 Pro


AV8B | F/A-18C | P-51D | UH-1H | <--- all others hangar queens
PingPongChampeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 01:28 AM   #2
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,794
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PingPongChampeen View Post
Is it possible to use a laptop as a CDU or an MFCD page that is separate from my main computer? Ive been wanting to do a multi touchscreen setup for this, but I just so happen to have a spare laptop lying around and this would be perfect for a scratchpad/CDU if possible. And if so, how would one go about doing the necessary mods?
Helios, Hawgtouch, and Ikarus come to mind.

See:

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...34&postcount=1

https://github.com/H-J-P/Ikarus

and examples here:
https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...2&postcount=11
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 01:33 AM   #3
PingPongChampeen
Member
 
PingPongChampeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Oscoda, MI
Posts: 229
Default

Arent those specifically for touchscreen monitors and iPads?
__________________
Intel 8086k o/c 5.4ghz | 32gb GSkill TridentZ DDR4 3200 ram | Asus Z370 Maximus X Formula| Zotac GTX 1080Ti | eVGA 1000w psu | MFG Crosswinds | TM Warthog | TM Cougar MFD | Dell 34" UHD Curved monitor | TrackIr 5/Oculus Rift CV1 | Windows 10 Pro


AV8B | F/A-18C | P-51D | UH-1H | <--- all others hangar queens
PingPongChampeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 01:15 AM   #4
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,794
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PingPongChampeen View Post
Arent those specifically for touchscreen monitors and iPads?
Not the Ikarus. That's Windows only. And while touch screen is easier to use, it's just mouse emulation. Meaning you can *always* use a mouse for any touch screen app. Ikarus isn't doing anything special that makes it touch screen only.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:43 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.