getting new rig help - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2019, 05:41 PM   #1
Airmage
Member
 
Airmage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 101
Default getting new rig help

Hello. Next week i'm getting a new rig and i'd like some oppinions on my choices.

The first question is the CPU: my choice is

Intel Core i3 8350K 4.00GHz Socket 1151v2.

Is it good enough for good multiplayer fps?

Memory: 32 gb DDR4 @ 2400 MHz.

Video: GeForce RTX 2070 WindForce 3X 8GB GDDR6 256 bit.

SSD 512 GB on M.2 socket.

Will that do?
Airmage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 01:47 AM   #2
PingPongChampeen
Member
 
PingPongChampeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Oscoda, MI
Posts: 229
Default

should be fine
__________________
Intel 8086k o/c 5.4ghz | 32gb GSkill TridentZ DDR4 3200 ram | Asus Z370 Maximus X Formula| Zotac GTX 1080Ti | eVGA 1000w psu | MFG Crosswinds | TM Warthog | TM Cougar MFD | Dell 34" UHD Curved monitor | TrackIr 5/Oculus Rift CV1 | Windows 10 Pro


AV8B | F/A-18C | P-51D | UH-1H | <--- all others hangar queens
PingPongChampeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 03:13 AM   #3
Demon_
Senior Member
 
Demon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 1,248
Default

Resolution?
Motherboard?
How old is the PSU?
You need a CPU cooler.
What do you mean by good FPS?
__________________
Attache ta tuque avec d'la broche.
Demon_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 08:03 AM   #4
Aluminum Donkey
Member
 
Aluminum Donkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cambridge, ON, O Canada, Eh
Posts: 622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airmage View Post
Hello. Next week i'm getting a new rig and i'd like some oppinions on my choices.

The first question is the CPU: my choice is

Intel Core i3 8350K 4.00GHz Socket 1151v2.

Is it good enough for good multiplayer fps?

Memory: 32 gb DDR4 @ 2400 MHz.

Video: GeForce RTX 2070 WindForce 3X 8GB GDDR6 256 bit.

SSD 512 GB on M.2 socket.

Will that do?

Looks like a great system for DCS! Good choice of CPU and graphics card. A couple things:

The CPU is a K-type, which can be easily overclocked. Make sure you get a motherboard that supports overclocking.

Make sure you get an NVMe SSD, some M.2 drives are only SATA drives (slow) and not true NVMe (very fast). If you've never run DCS from an NVMe drive before, you'll love it, it makes loading times much more merciful

If by "good" FPS you mean the 200-300+ FPS that shooter gamers like to mouth off about, no, it won't even come close, and nothing will Expect maybe 40 FPS minimum at all max settings over very built-up areas, usually higher than that, which is still fine for flight simming.

With the new Nvidia drivers out, I *highly* recommend using a FreeSync monitor, because the 418.81 Nvidia driver works great with FreeSync. G-Sync/FreeSync is adaptive refresh, and flight sims are really nice with it enabled--nice, smooth, lifelike motion, even at lower framerates (under 40) instead of the jittery, un-even motion/stutter-fest you normally get, even at higher framerates.


Power supply--don't be one of those idiots that buys a 1200W PSU for a one-CPU, one-card gaming rig Probably 500-600W is fine and there's no advantage to going drastic overkill just for mouthing-off rights. The new graphics cards use less electricity than older ones.


AD
__________________
Kit:
Asus Z170-P, i5-6600k at 4.5 GHz, 1.35V w/ CM Hyper 212 EVO, 2 x 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 4 @ 3000MHz 15-15-15-35, Zotac GTX 1080 Ti AMP Extreme Core Edition, EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 PSU, HP Omen 32" 2560x1440 single screen, Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS fitted with Leo Bodnar's BU0836A controller.

Flying is the art of throwing yourself at the ground, and having all the rules and regulations get in the way!

If man was meant to fly, he would have been born with a lot more money!

Last edited by Aluminum Donkey; 02-09-2019 at 08:15 AM.
Aluminum Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 10:46 AM   #5
Airmage
Member
 
Airmage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 101
Default

I use 2560x1440 resolution. New PSU 750W. What i mean by good fps is minimum 30 fps with lots of objects around. I set max 60 in the config file anyway. Got 28" monitor with 60 hz.
Airmage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 11:55 AM   #6
David OC
Senior Member
 
David OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,866
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airmage View Post
I use 2560x1440 resolution. New PSU 750W. What i mean by good fps is minimum 30 fps with lots of objects around. I set max 60 in the config file anyway. Got 28" monitor with 60 hz.

Similar setup, I can hold 60 max settings 2560x1440
SSAA 1.5
MSAA x2

That's also in quite a large MP sever too.
__________________


i7-7700K OC @ 5Ghz | ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero MB
| ASUS GTX 1080 Ti STRIX | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 3466Mhz | Corsair H100i V2 Radiator | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 500G SSD | 2 X Samsung 850 EVO 500G SSD | Oculus Rift | ASUS PG278Q 27-inch, 2560 x 1440, G-SYNC, 144Hz, 1ms | Fractal Design R5 Case

Chuck's DCS Tutorial Library

Download PDF Tutorial guides
to help get up to speed with aircraft quickly and also great for taking a good look at the aircraft available for DCS before purchasing. Link


David OC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 12:56 PM   #7
Airmage
Member
 
Airmage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 101
Default

I guess that will do. Getting the rig thanks for help.
Airmage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 05:25 AM   #8
HotRod87
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aluminum Donkey View Post
...

Power supply--don't be one of those idiots that buys a 1200W PSU for a one-CPU, one-card gaming rig Probably 500-600W is fine...

AD


I think the minimum recommended for a 2080Ti is 650.


Now I know that's not what he initially plans on getting, but, prices drop and people do get lucky on eBay.
HotRod87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 12:24 PM   #9
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,483
Default

500w ???????????????


Oh my god, you wont even pass 1 stresstest.


It's dangerous to make such recommendations tbh,
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz@60Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 03:57 PM   #10
Aluminum Donkey
Member
 
Aluminum Donkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cambridge, ON, O Canada, Eh
Posts: 622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
500w ???????????????


Oh my god, you wont even pass 1 stresstest.

It's dangerous to make such recommendations tbh,
He can just use what the graphics card manufacturer reccommends.

A kilowatt PSU for any single CPU, single card system is drastic overkill. Lots of people buy 'em and they're wasting cash that could go into a better system. There's no advantage to it.

I'm using:
i5-6600k @ 4.5 GHz (4 cores/threads) (~100W absolute max)
16GB DDR4
GTX 1080 Ti @ 2050 MHz (384 Watts max.)
2 hard drives, 2 SSDs
DVD drive
3 fans

...and I put an ammeter on my computer's PSU power cord, and the most I could measure under a heavy stress test (Furmark, AIDA64 and all that) was about 4.5A of current. At 120 volts AC input, that's 540W in. So, with a PSU efficiency of 85%, that's only 459W into the computer itself. My CPU is pretty average, maybe 100-110W in Prime95 (which I know I shouldn't do to it), but the 1080 Ti Amp Extreme is a *very* power-hungry graphics card!

So, a *properly-rated* 500W PSU should be fine. The new hardware actually uses less electricity than the older stuff, too. My 750W PSU is very much overkill, I probably should have just bought a cheaper one.

AD
__________________
Kit:
Asus Z170-P, i5-6600k at 4.5 GHz, 1.35V w/ CM Hyper 212 EVO, 2 x 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 4 @ 3000MHz 15-15-15-35, Zotac GTX 1080 Ti AMP Extreme Core Edition, EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 PSU, HP Omen 32" 2560x1440 single screen, Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS fitted with Leo Bodnar's BU0836A controller.

Flying is the art of throwing yourself at the ground, and having all the rules and regulations get in the way!

If man was meant to fly, he would have been born with a lot more money!

Last edited by Aluminum Donkey; 02-11-2019 at 04:40 PM.
Aluminum Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.