Is this upgrade worth it? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2019, 04:12 PM   #1
Nickkerkwijk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 23
Default Is this upgrade worth it?

Hi, i'm thinking about upgrading my pc for DCS only. The last few weeks i'm getting very frustrated because of the game crashes and stuttering. I already tuned down the graphics but it is not enough. Sometimes it runs great and sometimes it is impossible to even join a mp game.


I can buy used pc parts (good condition) and my question is if it is worth it to upgrade this POS or to buy a complete new pc.



My pc:


Asrock (don't know exactly, it is a shitty one)

I5 3570K
8gb DDR3 Ram
GTX 980 Hydrocopper (watercooled)
750W PSU
1080p 60hz 27inch Monitor



I can buy this set for around 270 euro's (around 300 dollar):


AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Gigabyte AB350 Gaming 3
16GB DDR4 2400MHZ


If this set is worth it, I will use my SSD's and GPU for now and upgrade them in the future.



Thanks

Last edited by Nickkerkwijk; 02-06-2019 at 04:56 PM.
Nickkerkwijk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 06:29 AM   #2
Aluminum Donkey
Member
 
Aluminum Donkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cambridge, ON, O Canada, Eh
Posts: 622
Default

Your CPU looks good, it's overclockable and might easily go 4.0 GHz or more--good for DCS. You need twice as much memory--16GB is good, some people say more is better. That's a BIG reason why you're getting stuttering. DCS uses lots of memory, especially with only a 4GB graphics card (Windows uses some of your system memory as if it were graphics memory when you run out).

The regular GTX 980 is very marginal--not really suited at all for DCS World 2.5+. Get a GTX 1060 6GB as the *absolute bare-bones minimum*. 8GB card (1070 or higher) is best.

An SSD is an absolute *must* for DCS--regardless of system specs, it's going to stutter like crazy trying to run off a hard disk. SATA 3 is good, a fast NVMe drive is best, but your older mobo probably won't support one, so SATA 3 it is.



AD
__________________
Kit:
Asus Z170-P, i5-6600k at 4.5 GHz, 1.35V w/ CM Hyper 212 EVO, 2 x 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 4 @ 3000MHz 15-15-15-35, Zotac GTX 1080 Ti AMP Extreme Core Edition, EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 PSU, HP Omen 32" 2560x1440 single screen, Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS fitted with Leo Bodnar's BU0836A controller.

Flying is the art of throwing yourself at the ground, and having all the rules and regulations get in the way!

If man was meant to fly, he would have been born with a lot more money!
Aluminum Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 09:51 AM   #3
Nickkerkwijk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 23
Default

The problem with my mobo is that I can 't overclock on it. Only turboboost i believe at 3.6 GHz. And i have dcs installed on a 250GB SSD, with 100gb of free space.
But I dont need every setting at high, as long as of doesnt stutter or crashes this much.

Is the ryzen5 2600 easy to overclock on that setup and does it perform good with DCS?
Nickkerkwijk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 04:30 PM   #4
Hekktor
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin, Ger
Posts: 137
Default

How much would a used mobo be that you can unlock the OC of your cpu and run it @4+ GHz and plug in 8GB more ram?
That 980gtx for the 1080p monitor might be enough for now?
I myself am still running my old i52500K @4.2GHz aircooled. But just recently went from 1440p monitor to 1600p monitor - thus I don't need ingame AA (wich from my experience cost alot gpu power) just using fxaa out of game.

DCS still (and will not in forseable future?) doesn't make use of many cores.. So unless you don't do other cpu hungry tasks like video streaming while playing DCS actually I don't see the use of more than 4 cores atm... Single thread performance to my knowlege is the point you need to look at and where your cpu isn't bad at.
Just an idea on how you can get more out of your current system for the least amount of money?

Last edited by Hekktor; 02-07-2019 at 04:40 PM.
Hekktor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 05:42 PM   #5
Nickkerkwijk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hekktor View Post
How much would a used mobo be that you can unlock the OC of your cpu and run it @4+ GHz and plug in 8GB more ram?
That 980gtx for the 1080p monitor might be enough for now?
I myself am still running my old i52500K @4.2GHz aircooled. But just recently went from 1440p monitor to 1600p monitor - thus I don't need ingame AA (wich from my experience cost alot gpu power) just using fxaa out of game.

DCS still (and will not in forseable future?) doesn't make use of many cores.. So unless you don't do other cpu hungry tasks like video streaming while playing DCS actually I don't see the use of more than 4 cores atm... Single thread performance to my knowlege is the point you need to look at and where your cpu isn't bad at.
Just an idea on how you can get more out of your current system for the least amount of money?

I can buy a z77 Asrock 1155 socket Mobo and 16 gb DDR3 RAM for around 150 euro (170 dollar). Would the overclocked 3570K compete with the Ryzen? And is there a big difference between DDR3 and 4?



Thanks for the replies
Nickkerkwijk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 11:52 PM   #6
Aluminum Donkey
Member
 
Aluminum Donkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cambridge, ON, O Canada, Eh
Posts: 622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickkerkwijk View Post
The problem with my mobo is that I can 't overclock on it. Only turboboost i believe at 3.6 GHz. And i have dcs installed on a 250GB SSD, with 100gb of free space.
But I dont need every setting at high, as long as of doesnt stutter or crashes this much.

Is the ryzen5 2600 easy to overclock on that setup and does it perform good with DCS?
SSD=good
You could get more bang for your buck with your existing CPU by just getting a used motherboard that allows overclocking.

You also need to double up on your memory (you can buy faster RAM and/or overclock it too.)

With the GTX 980 you can run moderate settings and it'll perform rather well. What you mostly need is more memory, not a whole new rig.

Time to hit Ebay and look for used stuff--it'll perform much better for minimal bread spent with those two upgrades.

Also--put your Windows pagefile.sys on the SSD. Just that one drive, and leave it on System Managed.

AD
__________________
Kit:
Asus Z170-P, i5-6600k at 4.5 GHz, 1.35V w/ CM Hyper 212 EVO, 2 x 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 4 @ 3000MHz 15-15-15-35, Zotac GTX 1080 Ti AMP Extreme Core Edition, EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 PSU, HP Omen 32" 2560x1440 single screen, Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS fitted with Leo Bodnar's BU0836A controller.

Flying is the art of throwing yourself at the ground, and having all the rules and regulations get in the way!

If man was meant to fly, he would have been born with a lot more money!
Aluminum Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 08:34 AM   #7
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,497
Default

^This.

OC the CPU for small money ( socket 1151 may work in future boards too, it does since Sandy ).

UPGRADE the GPU, that's your biggest showstopper for now imho.
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz@60Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 09:39 AM   #8
tintifaxl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,626
Default

I wouldn't invest in DDR3 tech anymore. I'd go with Ryzen/DDR4 and sell the old stuff.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel i5-7600@4.6Ghz, 32 Gig RAM, AMD Nitro+ 580, 1 TB SSD, 43" 2160p@1440p monitor.
tintifaxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 03:26 PM   #9
DeltaMike
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 110
Default

I upgraded from a gen1 ryzen7 w/b350mb to Ryzen 5 2600 w/b450 and didn't notice any difference in DCS. I lost the "silicon lottery," was able to push the gen1 to 3.8ghz, can only run 4.0ghz on the gen2 cpu. Beyond that, gen2 apparently has a decent boost mode, improvements from overclocking are marginal and in my case, end of the day probably isn't accomplishing much. I don't think gen2 ryzen is the answer for DCS.

If it was me, I'd upgrade the MB, try 16gb of DDR4, put the best m.2 SSD I could afford in there and see what shakes out. With the main question being the motherboard. Might be worth spending a little extra for a MB that OC's well.

I dunno about the GPU, I flog the crap out of my pitiful GPU in VR. That said, going to 16gb of RAM solved most of my crashing problems. Adjusting game settings helped the stuttering. If I were going to upgrade, and I might, I have my eye on the 2080. It's all a question of how much headroom you get, at what price, on the margins. How much extra power do you get, for how much more money? They don't charge *that* much more for a 2080 than a 2070, and believe it or not depending on what you're up to, the 2070 strikes me as a low-end card for DCS.

If you do swap out your MB, read up how the copy protection works. Depending on how many activations you have left, you might want to de-activate your modules BEFORE you pull the screwdriver out.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600 (4.0GHz), B450M, 16Gb RAM, Vega 56 (undervolt), T16000M, Oculus Rift
DeltaMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 05:24 PM   #10
Nickkerkwijk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 23
Default

Thanks for all the info guys. I think i will try the new mobo with overclock functions and upgrade to 16gb RAM (this socket 1155 only supports DDR3 sadly) for now. If that is a dissapointment then ill sell all the parts and buy a new pc.

I just hate buying new parts that lose value so fast xD
Nickkerkwijk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:12 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.