Question on this 2080 Ti - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2019, 10:11 PM   #21
wozu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Default

I have a question if somebody knows ,if and how good works nvlink (sli rtx2080ti) in DCS , and if it works , when i use VR ?
wozu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 01:29 AM   #22
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,794
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wozu View Post
I have a question if somebody knows ,if and how good works nvlink (sli rtx2080ti) in DCS , and if it works , when i use VR ?
DCS does not support any vendor specific techs. Ans SLI from Nvidia for VR is not supported.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 10:44 PM   #23
BMW969
Junior Member
 
BMW969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Moscow
Posts: 32
Default

Hey guys! Has anyone already bought 2080Ti ?
I challenge to competition with my 2 SLI 1080 Ti
Let's look at the FPS !!

Last edited by BMW969; 02-10-2019 at 10:57 PM.
BMW969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 10:48 PM   #24
Demon_
Senior Member
 
Demon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 1,256
Default

Hein?
__________________
Attache ta tuque avec d'la broche.
Demon_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 04:44 AM   #25
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,794
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW969 View Post
Hey guys! Has anyone already bought 2080Ti ?
I challenge to competition with my 2 SLI 1080 Ti
Let's look at the FPS !!
Why? Are you looking for data points to see if you want to upgrade? Or are you looking for bragging right? Or are you tired of trying to get SLI to work and are thinking about going with a single GPU?
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 06:59 AM   #26
BMW969
Junior Member
 
BMW969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Moscow
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
Why? Are you looking for data points to see if you want to upgrade? Or are you looking for bragging right? Or are you tired of trying to get SLI to work and are thinking about going with a single GPU?
Yes, I want to upgrade, I need objective data
__________________
Intel Core i7-8700K
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS ULTRA GAMING WIFI
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 HYBRID GAMING (2xSLI)
Kingston KHX2666C16 32Gb
Samsung SSD 970 EVO 1Tb
Kraken CPU cooler
ViewSonic 4K + 2К
BMW969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 02:13 AM   #27
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,794
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW969 View Post
Yes, I want to upgrade, I need objective data
Gotcha. I wish I could help, but I never fly DCS in monitors anymore. So I'm afraid I won't be able to provide any data for you. But I'm sure others can.

PS: I posed my question because I thought you were after data, but the original post could have been taken as a pointless challenge. Thought I'd clear it up.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 08:11 AM   #28
Sn8ke_iis
Member
 
Sn8ke_iis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Rocky Mountains, USA
Posts: 140
Default

FYI guys,

SLI works just fine in DCS. I don't have a VR visor so never tried but it works fine with a flat panel or monitor. But it's not officially supported. You have to turn it on manually in the driver with Nvidia Inspector. Given all the players that have performance and stuttering issues I doubt the developers want to deal with the headache of official support. It's too small a use case.

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.p...58#post3793658

Just follow the method step by step if you don't understand what you are doing. All the graphics settings and hexadecimal codes can be a little overwhelming for the average user.

I also have shadows set to Ultra (numerical value 5) in the options.lua and it looks gorgeous at 4096x2160. You don't see the pixely edges on shadows. There is also an option for SSAO and cockpit reflections. Not sure if they were working or not. I was just playing around with them a few nights ago. I would definitely put these into the "Advanced User" category though. Don't bother trying unless you have DCS running well and you like to tinker and troubleshoot.

Based on my tests, 2 1080 Ti's in sli should beat a single 2080 ti given a fast CPU test bench. Don't have 2 1080 Ti's to test it to confirm. Curious what kind of performance you'd get from 2 1070's in SLI. That might actually be worth it for people. 1070's are still available new and used. You could get 2 of those for a reasonable cost if you had the slots. 1070's don't even draw that much power so most people could probably run 2 off their current power supply.

With my rig and the cards in SLI I can run some single player missions at 4096x2160 with 4x MSAA at 60fps. I've seen 70% utilization on each card simultaneously. Everything maxed except I keep depth of field and motion blur off. You can load up a mission at sunrise with some fog a clouds and it looks absolutely gorgeous. Best graphics I've seen on a flight simulator ever ever. You can spend hours just flying around sight seeing.I had a little flickering, turned the OC down on my GPU's and it cleared right up.
__________________
Rig: Winter '18/19
Asus ROG Max XI Formula | Intel 9900K @ 5.1 GHz | Nvidia 2080 Ti @ 2085 MHz SLI | EK Custom Loop | Gskill 32 GB DDR4 @ 3300 MHz | Samsung 512 GB, 1 TB NVMe SSDs | Asus 1200w PSU

Pit:
Samsung Q6FN 65" Panel | SoundblasterX G6 DAC | Sennheiser PC 363D headphones | TrackIR 5 | Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS w/center extension, MFDs | Vipergear IPC | Buddyfox UFC | Saitek Throttle Quadrant, Trim Wheel | MFG Pedals | Playseat Flightseat | Monstertech HOTAS mount | Gametrix Jetseat
Sn8ke_iis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 03:28 AM   #29
IB2EZ2C
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Default

I just got 1 of my MSI RTX 2080 ti seahawk eks (Washington snow delays delivery of #2) and they're replacing 2 GTX 1080s. With 1 card I am ahead of where I was with the 2 1080s so I would do it if you aren't having to starve the family to do it...
IB2EZ2C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:21 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.