2080Ti and Random Crashes - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2019, 07:24 AM   #11
FragBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: QLD, AUS.
Posts: 2,011
Default

Well I dropped the OC back to 4.6Ghz (I'll have a tweak of the cpu latter!) but seems to boot reliably even after booting reliably this morning repeatably @ 4.7Ghz until lunch time then,..


PC can't find the boot drive John,...

Me look it's right here C:\ dir look all your files are there there,...

Me checks partitions boot files all there not one has been changed since installed last week Grrr.

My thinking is it's a thermal issue as the 2080ti sits close to the memory and over one of the X99 chipset controller heatsink, it wouldn't take much to push it over the edge.

I do have an RMA for the motherboard but I'm not sure I can say it's faulty just not working like it did with my OC of about 18 months and until several weeks ago which has worked great, 99 percentile and all

Several weeks ago also puts us summer with ambient temps of 30's +
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
Gazelle Mini-gun version is endorphins with rotors. See above.
DCS Rig. ASUS X99Pro i7 5930K@4.7Ghz Ino3D RTX2080Ti@1950MHz 8*8GB DDR4@2.2GHz SSD EVGA 850W G2 Rift CV1 Windows 10Pro bu0836x and Frankensteined Cyclic Collective and Pedals.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 12:51 AM   #12
FragBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: QLD, AUS.
Posts: 2,011
Default

I'll pose a question here for those with computer knowledge.

I removed heat sink and RAM cleaned the edge connectors on the RAM re-assembled, seems to work okay @ 2133 but to get the RAM to run at 2.2Ghz I have to set RAM voltage to 1.26V where the PC seems stable and fairly consistent memory throughput.

RAM will run at 2.4Ghz with full XMP voltage but it's not stable.

Previously I had the RAM running at 2.4GHz at stock voltage (Auto actually but 1.2V)

Considering that I have "changed" thermal conditions in the case could this be normal or perhaps indicate a RAM Module or System Controller chip dying?

So far the boot problem seems "fixed" and oddly by disabling USB boot in bios??

CPU runs happily at 4.7GHz (but I might be able to get that to 4.8~4.9 if I try)
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
Gazelle Mini-gun version is endorphins with rotors. See above.
DCS Rig. ASUS X99Pro i7 5930K@4.7Ghz Ino3D RTX2080Ti@1950MHz 8*8GB DDR4@2.2GHz SSD EVGA 850W G2 Rift CV1 Windows 10Pro bu0836x and Frankensteined Cyclic Collective and Pedals.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 02:21 AM   #13
Headwarp
Member
 
Headwarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FragBum View Post
I'll pose a question here for those with computer knowledge.

I removed heat sink and RAM cleaned the edge connectors on the RAM re-assembled, seems to work okay @ 2133 but to get the RAM to run at 2.2Ghz I have to set RAM voltage to 1.26V where the PC seems stable and fairly consistent memory throughput.

RAM will run at 2.4Ghz with full XMP voltage but it's not stable.

Previously I had the RAM running at 2.4GHz at stock voltage (Auto actually but 1.2V)

Considering that I have "changed" thermal conditions in the case could this be normal or perhaps indicate a RAM Module or System Controller chip dying?

So far the boot problem seems "fixed" and oddly by disabling USB boot in bios??

CPU runs happily at 4.7GHz (but I might be able to get that to 4.8~4.9 if I try)
I can't answer your question, but an experience comes to mind on my last rig in upgrading from 8gb to 16GB of ram, and my 4.5ghz OC on an i5 2500k became unstable. WIthout much thought I bumped the cpu vcore somewhere between .05 and .15 and system became stable.

Completely different scenario, but I'd try it with ram set to xmp and see what happens. Shouldn't hurt. Ruling out of course any seating issues with the reseat. It's a long shot, given this isn't a change of hardware but idk. Just came to mind when i read it for some reason.

Sorry if it does nothing, as to damaged components, would be beyond my knowledge to know how to determine, beyond testing each stick individually, which could take a long time with 8 sticks >.< The only time I know for sure I had component damage was with an i7 920's memory controller being fried in a lightning storm/power surge/outtage and that sucker just failed to boot period. Would turn on and right back off.
__________________
Win 10 pro 64bit i7 8700k @ 4.9ghz (all cores) - EVGA RTX 2080Ti XC Ultra, 32GB DDR4 3200 16CAS, 970 Evo 250Gb boot drive, pny 480gb sata 3 SSDx2, 4TB HDD - Acer Predator x34 (3440x1440@100hz), Samsung Odyssey WMR, - Peripherals = msffb2 for heli/prop planes, warthog (for jets), -Warthog throttle, Logitech G13, MFG Crosswinds

Last edited by Headwarp; 02-17-2019 at 02:31 AM.
Headwarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 02:44 AM   #14
FragBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: QLD, AUS.
Posts: 2,011
Default

No worries, I'll play with CPU voltages after I get the RAM sorted CPU is still stock voltages.

I took the RAM out and cleaned the edge connectors and wiped them down with Deoxit and reseated them. I enabled XMP 1.35V from memory and I could only get a stable system at 2200Mhz but I tried lowering the volts and got it down t 1.25~1.26V.

Under XMP however the RAM does not run at the rated 3200Mhz.
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
Gazelle Mini-gun version is endorphins with rotors. See above.
DCS Rig. ASUS X99Pro i7 5930K@4.7Ghz Ino3D RTX2080Ti@1950MHz 8*8GB DDR4@2.2GHz SSD EVGA 850W G2 Rift CV1 Windows 10Pro bu0836x and Frankensteined Cyclic Collective and Pedals.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 11:09 AM   #15
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,477
Default

Try to set VCC-IO and VCC-SA voltage a notch higher. Those correspond to your IMC and RAM circuits connecting them.

I would set the CPU to default speed and try to get XMP stable with DRAM-Voltage, VCC-IO and SA at first..maybe a little UP on the CPU as well, but very minor.
If you cant get it set this way, chances are low that it will work if you oc the CPU as well.
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz@60Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:26 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.