[MERGED] DirectX 11/12, OpenGL, VulkanAPI Discussion - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2017, 11:18 PM   #21
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,288
Default

DCS World Currently uses DirectX 11_0

With a planned transition to VulkanAPI
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 08:08 AM   #22
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
DCS World Currently uses DirectX 11_0

With a planned transition to VulkanAPI

That's what we actually wanted to hear

Why took so long ?
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz@60Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 10:54 AM   #23
The LT
Member
 
The LT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow, Russian Federation
Posts: 448
Send a message via ICQ to The LT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
I play many games on Mac, some still on Linux. ASIO is there for sound, and controller files are not that complicated for Mac, and cant be that hard for Linux. I dont see an obstacle there.

YOu could boot a Linux just for gaming, imagine
ASIO is a proprietary API for semi-pro and pro cards. Main audio api for Linux is ALSA.
__________________
My controls & seat
Spoiler:
Main controls: , BRD-N v4 Flightstick (Kreml C5 controller), TM Warthog Throttle (Kreml F3 controller), BRD-F2 Restyling Bf-109 Pedals w. damper, TrackIR5, Gametrix KW-908 (integrated into RAV4 seat)

Stick grips:

Thrustmaster Warthog
Thrustmaster Cougar (x2)
Thrustmaster F-16 FLCS
BRD KG13

Standby controls:
BRD-M2 Mi-8 Pedals (Ruddermaster controller)
BRD-N v3 Flightstick w. exch. grip upgrade (Kreml C5 controller)
Thrustmaster Cougar Throttle

Pilot seat
The LT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 01:31 PM   #24
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The LT View Post
ASIO is a proprietary API for semi-pro and pro cards. Main audio api for Linux is ALSA.
correct ! all those abbreviations...or was it ALDI ?
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz@60Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 01:54 PM   #25
firmek
Senior Member
 
firmek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
That's what we actually wanted to hear

Why took so long ?
We can assume it'll take really long to migrate to Vulcan, without any guarantee of a performance boost. It's a lot of work, requires to rewrite the whole rendering engine at least. In reality probably much more especially in an quite old application as DCS there is no pure rendering engine - "business objects"/logic separation. On top of that it's a totally different API which requires a different "mind-set" when programming.

Obviously I don't know the details but to set the expectations I would expect even more work than the whole 2.5 merge migration.
Not being negative but just stating the facts as it seems according to some posts we could get an impression that introducing Vulcan is guaranteed to triple the performance and will happen in DCS in 3-6 months . Not even mentioning that just by going to Vulcan will magically make DCS to be multi-platform.
Take EA/DICE and BF1 as an example. With the budget of AAA title their DX12 renderer is still experimental and yields a worse performance than the old, DX11 one with no noticeable visual difference.
__________________
F/A-18, F-14, M-2000C, A-10C, AV-8B, AJS-37 Viggen, F-5E-3, F-86F, MiG-21bis, MiG-15bis, L-39 Albatros, C-101 Aviojet, P-51D, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Bf 109 4-K, UH-1H, Mi-8, Ka-50, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf... and not enough time to fully enjoy it all
firmek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 02:39 AM   #26
blkspade
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,034
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeastyBaiter View Post
AMD GPUs gain substantial performance with DX12, Nvidia get basically nothing in most cases. Both brands see big improvements with Vulkan over DX11.

In regards to multiple GPU's, Vulkan doesn't support that at all last I heard. But honestly, the problem with DCS is it's single threaded graphics engine. Even getting it on 2 cores would make a massive difference. And that's what Vulkan allows in addition to a solid +30℅ fps in GPU bound situations.
While it might not quite be implemented yet, Vulkan is supposed to have vendor neutral muti-gpu support.
__________________
http://104thphoenix.com/
blkspade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 02:50 PM   #27
BeastyBaiter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 315
Default

I've read they plan to add that but I haven't read that it has been added yet. Regardless, it isn't an important feature for DCS. We need better CPU utilization, which Vulkan can provide if coded properly.
BeastyBaiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 03:02 PM   #28
Mr_sukebe
Senior Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,122
Default

There's a comment in today's update, stating that they plan to have Vulkan available by the end of 2018. Again, doesn't mean that on day 1 it'll be fabulous. However, ED have a strong track record of ensuring that things WILL be improved, so I'm very confident that over time it'll bring good things.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:16 AM   #29
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeastyBaiter View Post
I've read they plan to add that but I haven't read that it has been added yet. Regardless, it isn't an important feature for DCS. We need better CPU utilization, which Vulkan can provide if coded properly.

I only play at WQHD and not 4k but my poor single GPU is always 99-100%, so no, the bottleneck with an 8700k @ 5.2G is your single 1080Ti, which also runs 10-15% oc.

I could use another 1080Ti, if it worked for DCS. Yes, si I have steady 144fps everywhere on every map, thats the goal.


It for sure does for mining running my old 980gtx along my 1080ti for mining till i send it to RMA next week, the fans of the 980gtx failed. not an issue as I looped it up to the watercooling system.
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz@60Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 09:14 AM   #30
soundslikerust
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Poland
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
I only play at WQHD and not 4k but my poor single GPU is always 99-100%, so no, the bottleneck with an 8700k @ 5.2G is your single 1080Ti, which also runs 10-15% oc.

I could use another 1080Ti, if it worked for DCS. Yes, si I have steady 144fps everywhere on every map, thats the goal.


It for sure does for mining running my old 980gtx along my 1080ti for mining till i send it to RMA next week, the fans of the 980gtx failed. not an issue as I looped it up to the watercooling system.
That's why your GPU is utilized 100% - Run a Vr with static time for every frame, get it to 4k and it will change to cpu bound. CPU can be utilized 30% and be a bottleneck at the same time just because game engine can't push frame fast enough. You forgot what is really important here - not your average fps but a frame time. With all stuttering and inconsistencies of DCS engine and DCS maps... No matter what you do there will always be places in DCS where frame times spike above 11ms wchich will crush your useless average 144fps. I have the same card as you - frame times and latency are the most important problem to solve. Vulkan can change everything in case of draw calls. Let's hope that it will get stable frame time in less than 10ms no matter where and when. It would be great.

Latency is what people perceive as a sense of flying and speed. That's why BMS is regared as good at it - it's old as hell and have very low frame latencies. o7
__________________

looking through HTC VIVE
intel i5 6600k @4,7Ghz
Geforce 1080Ti Asus Poseidon @2126 mem@12650
32GB DDR4 @3200GHz
PSU XFX XTR 650W
ASUS ROG Swift UQHD PG348Q G-sync
Asus z170 pro gaming
Samsung 960 m.2
Samsung EVO SSD
Windows 10 64bit

Last edited by soundslikerust; 01-29-2018 at 11:23 AM.
soundslikerust is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:53 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.