Unable to fly straight & level - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2017, 10:05 PM   #1
stratman59
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Norfolk, U.K
Posts: 39
Reputation power: 1
stratman59 is on a distinguished road
Default Unable to fly straight & level

I'm constantly having to make rudder and aileron trim adjustments, If I'm flying at a constant speed and with no wind surely once trimmed it should fly straight and level?
I'm using a Warthog and pedals. I have the trims set to the trim switch on the stick.
Also after takeoff, I'm having to do manic trim adjustments, watching Wags's takeoff instruction video, he doesn't appear to do any? Even if I try going into 'instant action' level flight I still constantly have to be adjusting.
stratman59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 10:16 PM   #2
Art-J
Senior Member
 
Art-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 2,834
Reputation power: 17
Art-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really nice
Default

With no aileron trim on this plane, it will never be trimmable for hands off flight, it will always roll a bit.

Oversensitive rudder trim (only when assigned to buttons or keyboard, apparently it's better when assigned to analog rotary switch) doesn't help either, though you can learn to somehow manage it by tapping the switch/key rather than pressing it. Undersensitive elevator trim is good for the job though, you just have to wait a bit longer for the speed to stabilize.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 10:16 PM   #3
Magic Zach
Member
 
Magic Zach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alaska
Posts: 431
Reputation power: 1
Magic Zach will become famous soon enoughMagic Zach will become famous soon enough
Default

Welcome to the Spitfire.
Basically, set your curves, and do things by the book until you have mastered control, then get creative. That's my shortest possible answer...
__________________
Happy flyin', folks!

Last edited by Magic Zach; 10-21-2017 at 10:17 PM. Reason: Typo
Magic Zach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 10:34 PM   #4
stratman59
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Norfolk, U.K
Posts: 39
Reputation power: 1
stratman59 is on a distinguished road
Default

Ah, O.K, so basically it's meant to be like that? If that's the case then fine, I was just worried I was missing something. Thanks
stratman59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 11:59 PM   #5
Captain Orso
Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 804
Reputation power: 6
Captain Orso is a jewel in the roughCaptain Orso is a jewel in the roughCaptain Orso is a jewel in the roughCaptain Orso is a jewel in the roughCaptain Orso is a jewel in the roughCaptain Orso is a jewel in the rough
Default

Well, it's not a question of it being 'meant to be like that'; it's just the way it is.

It's like driving on the freeway. Even on an absolutely straight stretch of road you are alway making tiny adjustments to stay in the center of your lane. With flying, it's the exact same thing.
__________________


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 03:01 AM   #6
probad
Senior Member
 
probad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,378
Reputation power: 9
probad is just really niceprobad is just really niceprobad is just really niceprobad is just really niceprobad is just really niceprobad is just really niceprobad is just really niceprobad is just really niceprobad is just really niceprobad is just really niceprobad is just really nice
Default

while not perfectly so, these aircraft will feel noticeably more stable only when the correct trim is coupled with correct speed and aoa. any mismatch between your rpm-speed-aoa-pitch will create an unstable state, and trying to trim without first settling on the proper cruise state can find you with a faulty trim setting that will seem correct at first but will have undesirable roll.
probad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 08:21 AM   #7
BuzZoo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 20
Reputation power: 0
BuzZoo is on a distinguished road
Default

A little bit of right rudder trim helps with the Spitfire constantly wanting to corkscrew left. Though I imagine it makes the plane a bit draggier? I don't really notice myself.
BuzZoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 11:17 AM   #8
Magic Zach
Member
 
Magic Zach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alaska
Posts: 431
Reputation power: 1
Magic Zach will become famous soon enoughMagic Zach will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by probad View Post
while not perfectly so, these aircraft will feel noticeably more stable only when the correct trim is coupled with correct speed and aoa. any mismatch between your rpm-speed-aoa-pitch will create an unstable state, and trying to trim without first settling on the proper cruise state can find you with a faulty trim setting that will seem correct at first but will have undesirable roll.
I'll help out some people passing through and translate: In short, set engine and speed first, trim later.
__________________
Happy flyin', folks!
Magic Zach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 02:26 PM   #9
fiddlinjim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 49
Reputation power: 1
fiddlinjim is on a distinguished road
Default

Spitfire pilots during WWII mention repeatedly in their memoirs that the Spit needed to be retrimmed after any change in RPM-prop pitch-altitude etc.
Advice to set up the engine and then trim is the only answer.
fiddlinjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 09:31 AM   #10
Holbeach
Member
 
Holbeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Norfolk, England.
Posts: 670
Reputation power: 10
Holbeach is just really niceHolbeach is just really niceHolbeach is just really niceHolbeach is just really niceHolbeach is just really niceHolbeach is just really niceHolbeach is just really niceHolbeach is just really niceHolbeach is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddlinjim View Post
Spitfire pilots during WWII mention repeatedly in their memoirs that the Spit needed to be retrimmed after any change in RPM-prop pitch-altitude etc.
This applies to pretty much all prop aircraft.

..
__________________
I7 2600K @ 4.4, CoolerMaster 212X, GTX 970. 8 gb RAM, 1kw PSU. 11 yo Saitek X-52. new Saitek Pro Flight pedals. CH Flight Sim yoke. TrackIR 5. Win 10.


"Infamy! Infamy! They've all got it in for me!"
(Kenneth Williams 1964).


Holbeach is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:11 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.