[MOOSE] RAT - Random Air Traffic - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2017, 10:24 PM   #41
Kayos
Senior Member
 
Kayos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,159
Reputation power: 11
Kayos has a spectacular aura aboutKayos has a spectacular aura aboutKayos has a spectacular aura aboutKayos has a spectacular aura aboutKayos has a spectacular aura about
Default

This looks very cool. I will give it a go this weekend. Thanks!
__________________
Kayos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 11:27 PM   #42
Kayos
Senior Member
 
Kayos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,159
Reputation power: 11
Kayos has a spectacular aura aboutKayos has a spectacular aura aboutKayos has a spectacular aura aboutKayos has a spectacular aura aboutKayos has a spectacular aura about
Default

That works awesome! Thanks
__________________
Kayos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 02:03 AM   #43
RyboPops
Member
 
RyboPops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 259
Reputation power: 4
RyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the rough
Default

Hey everyone, I made a small chart showing what airports can be used to spawn certain aircraft in actual parking spots.



Take note, however, that just because an airport CAN spawn a 747 in a parking spot doesn't mean it won't spawn on the runway. Smaller aircraft can still spawn in the few heavy spots which will lead to 747s spawning on the runway. I have found that this is mostly avoidable with some good planning and "city pairs." While the routes often aren't realistic, it gives a very vibrant and lifelike feel to the scenario.
__________________
We get it up faster, keep it up longer, and shoot comm all over the world!

USAF 460th SCS
RyboPops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 06:20 AM   #44
RyboPops
Member
 
RyboPops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 259
Reputation power: 4
RyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the rough
Default

I have a quick request if it's not already possible. It would be nice to have the ability to spawn a PAIR of AI, both using the same skin and flying the same flight plan. Obviously not useful for civilian traffic, but it would be great for randomly generating fighter traffic out of an AFB.
__________________
We get it up faster, keep it up longer, and shoot comm all over the world!

USAF 460th SCS
RyboPops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 01:13 PM   #45
funkyfranky
Senior Member
 
funkyfranky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Trymheim, Asgård
Posts: 1,169
Reputation power: 19
funkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyboPops View Post
Hey everyone, I made a small chart showing what airports can be used to spawn certain aircraft in actual parking spots.
Great stuff I will put this in the Tips 'n' Tricks section of the second post, if you don't mind?

Would it be possible to add the information on the total number of parking spots for planes and helos separately?
__________________
Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most. --- Mark Twain
i7-4790K | Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC| 32 GB Ram 1866 MHz DDR-3| Win 10 64-bit | Asus Maximus Hero VII | Samung EVO 850 SSD | TM HOTAS Warthog | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR 5 | HTC Vive | CV1
funkyfranky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 01:25 PM   #46
funkyfranky
Senior Member
 
funkyfranky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Trymheim, Asgård
Posts: 1,169
Reputation power: 19
funkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyboPops View Post
I have a quick request if it's not already possible. It would be nice to have the ability to spawn a PAIR of AI, both using the same skin and flying the same flight plan.
That's already possible You only have to add more planes to the template group in the mission editor.

Regarding the liveries, at the moment, each unit(!) of the group will get it's own random livery. So if you set more than one livery via RAT:Livery() you probably end up with different liveries for each unit.

I guess, I will change that in the code, because all units of a particular flights should all have the same skin.
__________________
Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most. --- Mark Twain
i7-4790K | Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC| 32 GB Ram 1866 MHz DDR-3| Win 10 64-bit | Asus Maximus Hero VII | Samung EVO 850 SSD | TM HOTAS Warthog | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR 5 | HTC Vive | CV1
funkyfranky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 05:39 PM   #47
RyboPops
Member
 
RyboPops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 259
Reputation power: 4
RyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the rough
Default

Frank, definitely feel free to put the chart in the first post. It'll help more people there than it will buried in the thread

Regarding the number of spots, that was my original intent. However, with so much overlap in which airplanes/helos can use the spots I wasn't sure how to put all the info in a logical format in the table. I'll try to work something out.

That leads me to a question though...in the ME helos can be placed to ramp start in just about any parking spot that isn't covered. Does RAT somehow restrict helo spawns to runway and dedicated H parking spots?
__________________
We get it up faster, keep it up longer, and shoot comm all over the world!

USAF 460th SCS
RyboPops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 05:55 PM   #48
funkyfranky
Senior Member
 
funkyfranky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Trymheim, Asgård
Posts: 1,169
Reputation power: 19
funkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyboPops View Post
Frank, definitely feel free to put the chart in the first post. It'll help more people there than it will buried in the thread
Great, thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyboPops View Post
Regarding the number of spots, that was my original intent. However, with so much overlap in which airplanes/helos can use the spots I wasn't sure how to put all the info in a logical format in the table. I'll try to work something out.
Yeah, I know. Too many combinations if one would consider the aircraft type. But just differentiating planes and helos would be nice to have.
Like in the total column 7/8. First number for planes second for helos. When I read 15 spots in total at McCarran for example, it might be confusing because not all 15 can be used by planes, which I guess is what most people do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyboPops View Post
That leads me to a question though...in the ME helos can be placed to ramp start in just about any parking spot that isn't covered. Does RAT somehow restrict helo spawns to runway and dedicated H parking spots?
No, the parking spot entries in the spawn template are set to "nil". So only the DCS logic automatically decides where the helos or any other aircraft is placed.
__________________
Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most. --- Mark Twain
i7-4790K | Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC| 32 GB Ram 1866 MHz DDR-3| Win 10 64-bit | Asus Maximus Hero VII | Samung EVO 850 SSD | TM HOTAS Warthog | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR 5 | HTC Vive | CV1

Last edited by funkyfranky; 10-22-2017 at 05:57 PM.
funkyfranky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 07:47 PM   #49
RyboPops
Member
 
RyboPops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 259
Reputation power: 4
RyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the roughRyboPops is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkyfranky View Post
But just differentiating planes and helos would be nice to have.
Like in the total column 7/8. First number for planes second for helos
I'll start on that as soon as I can. I tried to test something with a pair of aircraft in the template and it seems to have corrupted my mission file somehow I reverted back to a single aircraft but it still results in script errors on load and then no aircraft spawn...
__________________
We get it up faster, keep it up longer, and shoot comm all over the world!

USAF 460th SCS
RyboPops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 07:50 PM   #50
funkyfranky
Senior Member
 
funkyfranky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Trymheim, Asgård
Posts: 1,169
Reputation power: 19
funkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of lightfunkyfranky is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyboPops View Post
I'll start on that as soon as I can. I tried to test something with a pair of aircraft in the template and it seems to have corrupted my mission file somehow I reverted back to a single aircraft but it still results in script errors on load and then no aircraft spawn...
PM me the DCS logfile and I'll take a look. Maybe the whole mission as well.
__________________
Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most. --- Mark Twain
i7-4790K | Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC| 32 GB Ram 1866 MHz DDR-3| Win 10 64-bit | Asus Maximus Hero VII | Samung EVO 850 SSD | TM HOTAS Warthog | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR 5 | HTC Vive | CV1
funkyfranky is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
moose, random air traffic, rat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:42 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.