Carrier Deck Lighting - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2018, 09:23 PM   #1
AG-51_Razor
Senior Member
 
AG-51_Razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,292
Default Carrier Deck Lighting

I am pretty sure that I have seen something in here about this, but after going back 4 pages, I gave up.

I am wondering if it would be possible for ED to allow us to choose an advanced waypoint action for the carrier, like turning on the Tacan or activating the ILS, for turning on the flight deck lighting? I think that this would be very useful for Case 3 approaches during the day with poor visibility as well as allowing for a pilot to come aboard without having to mess with the comms menu at the same time during the night.
__________________
AG-51_Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 03:17 PM   #2
flyco
Member
 
flyco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: York
Posts: 244
Default

Endorse this, very strongly.

Flew a Case 3 approach in nasty weather, and called ‘Inbound’ and got landing clearance. Lights were on but I bolted. Flew the recommended MAP at 1200 ft and turned onto finals to pick up ICLS at around 3-4 nm. However, by now the carrier lights were out. I thus had to press transmit - to select ATC - to select Stennis - to call ‘inbound’, and then to call for landing clearance. Unfortunately by then I was into the carrier round-down - Ouch!

Quite right - I shouldn’t have bolted off the first approach - all my own stupid fault! And I forget the maxim “First priority is to fly the aircraft”.
flyco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 03:28 PM   #3
Silversmith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AG-51_Razor View Post
I am pretty sure that I have seen something in here about this, but after going back 4 pages, I gave up.

I am wondering if it would be possible for ED to allow us to choose an advanced waypoint action for the carrier, like turning on the Tacan or activating the ILS, for turning on the flight deck lighting? I think that this would be very useful for Case 3 approaches during the day with poor visibility as well as allowing for a pilot to come aboard without having to mess with the comms menu at the same time during the night.
Activating the TACAN for the carrier I believe is already an action under 'Advanced waypoint Actions', Agree the lights go off far too quickly, In real life surely they would stay on when recovery of aircraft is in progress, rather than switching on/off for each individual landing approach.
Silversmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 03:37 PM   #4
Lostcat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 52
Default

I think the real problem is that during the day lights never turn on, even in very poor visibility... during the night when calling for landing i never had problems.
Lostcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 06:03 PM   #5
AG-51_Razor
Senior Member
 
AG-51_Razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,292
Default

Silversmith, I was asking if we could get the deck lighting as an Advanced Waypoint Action just like the TACAN and ICLS.


Lostcat, that is exactly what I am asking for but it would benefit those of us that do have a problem with the lights at night after a bolter.
__________________
AG-51_Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 09:40 PM   #6
USMC_Trev
Senior Member
 
USMC_Trev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Debtsville
Posts: 2,019
Default

Bump. This needs to happen. I don't want to mess with comms in VR to get the lights on just to bounce on the boat.
__________________

i7 4770K OC'ed to 4.3, GTX 1070 Seahawk (OC'ed), Oculus Rift CV1, 32Gb RAM, 64-bit Windows 10
USMC_Trev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 12:23 AM   #7
Svsmokey
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyco View Post
Endorse this, very strongly.

Flew a Case 3 approach in nasty weather, and called ‘Inbound’ and got landing clearance. Lights were on but I bolted. Flew the recommended MAP at 1200 ft and turned onto finals to pick up ICLS at around 3-4 nm. However, by now the carrier lights were out. I thus had to press transmit - to select ATC - to select Stennis - to call ‘inbound’, and then to call for landing clearance. Unfortunately by then I was into the carrier round-down - Ouch!

Quite right - I shouldn’t have bolted off the first approach - all my own stupid fault! And I forget the maxim “First priority is to fly the aircraft”.
Not to dismiss the problem , but with VoiceAttack/Vaicom pro you need only SAY ""Stennis , inbound" .
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , TiR5 , BenQ 1080p monitor , CH hotas and pedals

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 02:37 PM   #8
ScopeDope
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 117
Default

+1 for some lighting love. Would also like to see the orange deck lights implemented.
ScopeDope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 10:32 AM   #9
MikeMikeJuliet
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,171
Default

... and it would be of great utility to be able to control lights, tacan and other systems of the carrier via Combined Arms... then you can just say "inbound" to your fellow player and you're all set.

Regards,
MikeMikeJuliet
__________________
DCS Finland | SF squadron
MikeMikeJuliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 01:46 AM   #10
AG-51_Razor
Senior Member
 
AG-51_Razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svsmokey View Post
Not to dismiss the problem , but with VoiceAttack/Vaicom pro you need only SAY ""Stennis , inbound" .
Not to dismiss you really good suggestion, part of my request entails the ability to have the lights turned on at the discretion of the mission builder. So, if the mission builder has created a mission with low visibility in the day time, your voice command will not help.
__________________
AG-51_Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:39 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.