Normandy Map Discussion - Page 275 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2018, 01:35 PM   #2741
rogonaut
Member
 
rogonaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 848
Default

it is playable in my opinion, i dont have the beefiest rig and have solid frames. i wonder what bad stuff u read about this map? for me this map is like all the other maps, it isnt better nor worse. speedtree tech is a thing tho

its hard to judge about something u havent tried
rogonaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 04:29 PM   #2742
Whozdär
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogonaut View Post
i wonder what bad stuff u read about this map?
That it's the one that performs the worst and it's not optimized at all. To achieve the same framerate as on the other maps, you have to alter graphic settings.

You have people browsing through the files and finding monster textures. It's a vast amount of 4096x4096 textures. Diffuse, noise, specular and normal map, all in full resolution. And if they are used multiple times too, as in, multiple materials, then that makes it even worse.

Compare this to the other 3 maps, where it's tiny 256 or 512 color, some occasional spec, and a 2048x2048 noise with just a few normal maps.

Last edited by Whozdär; 10-29-2018 at 05:21 PM.
Whozdär is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 06:01 PM   #2743
Whozdär
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 73
Default

But so the answer to my question is no one knows when they fix this, then.
Whozdär is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 05:51 PM   #2744
rogonaut
Member
 
rogonaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 848
Default

ok i understand your point its legit, i still enjoy it if that helps
rogonaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 07:11 AM   #2745
msalama
Veteran
 
msalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,084
Default

Quote:
no one knows when they fix this, then.
YMMV but for me, Normandy seems to run just as well as the other maps now with the latest OB patch. Or could be my display driver reinstall fixed something, I don't know. But no complaints so far anyway!
__________________
Huey probs & gripes? Do read the following please: https://forums.eagle.ru/attachment.p...1&d=1555258147
msalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 03:16 PM   #2746
S-GERAT
Member
 
S-GERAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SPAIN
Posts: 359
Default

Same here, Normandy runs very well after one of the latest patches.
S-GERAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 07:48 AM   #2747
msalama
Veteran
 
msalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,084
Default

& I may be going out on a limb here, but still am almost willing to claim that it actually runs the best now. Weird but true
__________________
Huey probs & gripes? Do read the following please: https://forums.eagle.ru/attachment.p...1&d=1555258147
msalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 06:50 PM   #2748
Phantom88
Senior Member
 
Phantom88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: "Sweet Home Chicago"
Posts: 2,304
Default

GA Gun Cam
__________________

Patrick
Phantom88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 08:58 PM   #2749
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,964
Default

That came out better than I expected

The music though.. if the video lasted longer, I'd have turned it off... it's dark here ...
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 01:11 AM   #2750
Lt_Tatanov
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Hello every everyone, I am back to DCS after 5 years to fly the Spitfire in Normandy. The spitfire is a fun plane despite some odd performance when panning with a mouse in the cockpit and also the cockpit itself wich i think it could be better.

My main disappointment is the map. After trying to improve graphics quality and start flying, i realized i was not having fun. The map is not graphically immersive and i am feeling sad about it. I will still try some AA settings, time, weather and seasons but i´m not hoping too much. I am not rich and the dollar price is really high in my country. I thought about a refund but never mind.. I rather wait for a map update. So you guys hope it is going to happen any time soon? Appreciate.
Lt_Tatanov is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:56 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.