IFF, what's crypto, mode 4, master - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2019, 04:14 AM   #1
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,196
Default IFF, what's crypto, mode 4, master

Where is the switch usually set under Mode 4 to be able to get aircraft info on the SA page?
What do the other switch positions under Mode 4 do?


Also there is Crypto and Master Mode with its switch positions, is there info as to what they are for?


Thank you.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 08:58 AM   #2
noisy_lightning
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 217
Default

Pretty sure none of the transponder stuff has been implemented yet.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
noisy_lightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:23 AM   #3
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 9,840
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noisy_lightning View Post
Pretty sure none of the transponder stuff has been implemented yet.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
I doubt it will ever get implemented, as it is not implemented in any DCS module unfortunately
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:57 AM   #4
noisy_lightning
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 217
Default

As for all radar contacts on SA page this should come with the addition of some other features and the integrated sensors unless I am mistaken. This is in the development pipeline but won't be linked to transponder/mode4.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
noisy_lightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:27 PM   #5
backspace340
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noisy_lightning View Post
As for all radar contacts on SA page this should come with the addition of some other features and the integrated sensors unless I am mistaken. This is in the development pipeline but won't be linked to transponder/mode4.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
That's already ingame? Your radar contacts appear on the SA page, along with datalinked friendlies and enemies.
backspace340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:33 PM   #6
Hippo
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 422
Default

Not F-18 or even DCS specific, but I found the following very interesting and well explained regarding IFF:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8V1n1d5c3v0
__________________
System spec: Intel i7 8700K (3.7 / 4.7 GHz), Asus Prime Z370-A, Zotac GTX 1080 Ti 11GB GDDR5x Blower (1480 / 1582 MHz), 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX Black (2x8GB) DDR4 PC4-25600 3200 MHz, Samsung 960 EVO 250 GB NVME M.2 SSD (system drive), Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB NVME M.2 SSD (games drive), AOC U3477PQU Monitor, Oculus Rift CV1, Saitek X52 Pro

Last edited by Hippo; 06-13-2019 at 12:58 PM.
Hippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:35 PM   #7
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,196
Default

I've read many times on the forum Mode 4 has to be on in order to get proper SA page info. I do notice in auto start the Mode 4 and Crypto is enabled.


What then does Sensor Depress actually do if Mode 4 is not active yet?
What exactly what do you do to make the most of the SA page?
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:39 PM   #8
backspace340
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
I've read many times on the forum Mode 4 has to be on in order to get proper SA page info. I do notice in auto start the Mode 4 and Crypto is enabled.


What then does Sensor Depress actually do if Mode 4 is not active yet?
What exactly what do you do to make the most of the SA page?
You don't have to touch that switch. Sensor Select depress does a Mode 4 IFF - but you don't have to touch the mode 4 switch to get it to do that. To get full use of the SA page, switch it on, press DL on the UFC and press ON. That's it.
backspace340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 02:22 PM   #9
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by backspace340 View Post
You don't have to touch that switch. Sensor Select depress does a Mode 4 IFF - but you don't have to touch the mode 4 switch to get it to do that. To get full use of the SA page, switch it on, press DL on the UFC and press ON. That's it.


So does Sensor Depress interrogate only what's locked on the radar page...STT or does it do all aircraft on the radar page as I see multi targets identified on the SA page that were not STT.
What are the 2 vertical lines for on the middle of the SA page for?
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 02:32 PM   #10
CheeseCake
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
So does Sensor Depress interrogate only what's locked on the radar page...STT or does it do all aircraft on the radar page as I see multi targets identified on the SA page that were not STT.
What are the 2 vertical lines for on the middle of the SA page for?
1. yes target has to be locked for an iff interrogation or an NCTR (Non Cooperative Target Recognition)
2. the 2 lines are kind of like your radar you can hover over a contact on your SA page and get info about them if there is any to give.
i recommend you check this video out for info!
CheeseCake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:11 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.