Horizon Elevation? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2020, 08:33 PM   #1
dresoccer4
Member
 
dresoccer4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 902
Question Horizon Elevation?

quick q: i thought the mig-19 had a fixed radar elevation. however theres a control for horizon elevation change that you can move up and down. i'm looking at the Chuck's Guide and it doesn't mention it at all, aside from the button existing.

The guide says: "The
MiG-19's radar has a relatively short range and the antenna
elevation cannot be tuned manually, which severely limits
your situational awareness"

Can someone please explain the use of the elevation control?
__________________
Acer Predator Triton 700 || i7-7700HQ || 512GB SSD || 32GB RAM || GTX1080 Max-Q || FFB II and Thrustmaster TWCS Throttle || All DCS Modules
dresoccer4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 08:38 PM   #2
AeriaGloria
Senior Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 2,212
Default

It moves the artificial attitude horizon displayed on the radar scope
AeriaGloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 08:42 PM   #3
dresoccer4
Member
 
dresoccer4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AeriaGloria View Post
It moves the artificial attitude horizon displayed on the radar scope
how is it supposed to be used?
__________________
Acer Predator Triton 700 || i7-7700HQ || 512GB SSD || 32GB RAM || GTX1080 Max-Q || FFB II and Thrustmaster TWCS Throttle || All DCS Modules
dresoccer4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 08:50 PM   #4
AeriaGloria
Senior Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 2,212
Default

So you don’t have to have eyes on your ADI/outside and radar scope at the same time. It actually became a very common feature on radar displays to this day. Without autopilot it’s especially important. I always move it to the bottom of the display so the hood doesn’t obscure it
AeriaGloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 08:55 PM   #5
dresoccer4
Member
 
dresoccer4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AeriaGloria View Post
So you don’t have to have eyes on your ADI/outside and radar scope at the same time. It actually became a very common feature on radar displays to this day. Without autopilot it’s especially important. I always move it to the bottom of the display so the hood doesn’t obscure it
hahi know how an artificial horizon is used, sorry i wasn't clear. i meant how is the horizon elevation change supposed to be used? what does it actually do/help during combat? whats its point? its never mentioned in the guide
__________________
Acer Predator Triton 700 || i7-7700HQ || 512GB SSD || 32GB RAM || GTX1080 Max-Q || FFB II and Thrustmaster TWCS Throttle || All DCS Modules
dresoccer4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 09:24 PM   #6
AeriaGloria
Senior Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 2,212
Default

It moves it up and down the scope. Play with it and look at the scope. I use it to get it away from the scope hood
AeriaGloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.