A few RIO questions - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2020, 07:46 AM   #1
escaner
Member
 
escaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Earth
Posts: 644
Default A few RIO questions

Yesterday I tried flying RIO in the F-14 with a friend and had a few issues plus many doubts. I hope someone can help me. I was server for the session:


1. In TWS Manual, every time I fired a Phoenix it changed to TWS Auto. Is this normal?


2. In the previous scenario, if I changed back to TWS Manual and changed the azimuth from narrow to wide, the tracks disappeared (only did it once, didn't want to happen again). Anyone experiencing this too? This was happening to me some time ago changing range, or between TWS and RWS, but I though it was fixed.


3. The manual says: "The launch zone vectors are activated manually by the RIO or when time to maximum launch range is less than 60 seconds and replaces the normal track velocity vectors."
How does the RIO manually activate the launch zone vectors?


4. What exactly means when the contacts flash in TWS?


5. When as RIO I select the TCS view, the pilot radar screen (TID) goes blank. Is this normal?


6. I could not hook my contacts (hafu on top), but I could hook datalinked contacts (bottom hafu). I would say that some time ago I could hook my own radar contacts and then STT with the radar mode button. This cannot be done anymore?



7. Is there a way to move the display to see more airspace behind my own aircraft in the TID, eg my position in the middle of the display? I can move it forward, but not backward with hook + HCU offset.



8. After some time, datalinked and radar contacts seem to appear at different positions, no longer correlated. This is INS drift? Can it be easily fixed?


9. Both times that I talked to our AI F-14 wingman, my pilot's DCS crashed. I think we were not even in the correct frequency, not sure if that matters. Anyone has experienced this? When this happened, my aircraft stopped in the air and I was dumped from it even when I entered the aircraft first. I hoped to pause and wait for him to reconnect, but obviously it was not possible.


Thanks a lot!
__________________
escaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 08:03 AM   #2
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 15,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
1. In TWS Manual, every time I fired a Phoenix it changed to TWS Auto. Is this normal?
Yes, it does that to ensure best target tracking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
2. In the previous scenario, if I changed back to TWS Manual and changed the azimuth from narrow to wide, the tracks disappeared (only did it once, didn't want to happen again). Anyone experiencing this too? This was happening to me some time ago changing range, or between TWS and RWS, but I though it was fixed.
You're not supposed to switch back to TWS manual when the Phoenix is still in the air. Wait untill the missile has either splashed the target or got trashed before switching out of TWS Auto.

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
3. The manual says: "The launch zone vectors are activated manually by the RIO or when time to maximum launch range is less than 60 seconds and replaces the normal track velocity vectors."
How does the RIO manually activate the launch zone vectors?
On the filter panel just below the TID.

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
4. What exactly means when the contacts flash in TWS?
It means it's the designated priority target for the Phoenix IIRC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
5. When as RIO I select the TCS view, the pilot radar screen (TID) goes blank. Is this normal?
Yes, as the Pilot's TID display is just a repeater display of the RIOs TID screen.
And btw, the TID is NOT a radar screen! The TID is a tactical information display (similar to the Hornet's SA page). The radar screen is the DDD and only exists in the RIO pit (the display above the TID). The pilot has no radar screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
6. I could not hook my contacts (hafu on top), but I could hook datalinked contacts (bottom hafu). I would say that some time ago I could hook my own radar contacts and then STT with the radar mode button. This cannot be done anymore?
You can only hook track files, which are provided by DL or TWS. RWS doesn't create track files, hence RWS contacts can't be hooked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
7. Is there a way to move the display to see more airspace behind my own aircraft in the TID, eg my position in the middle of the display? I can move it forward, but not backward with hook + HCU offset.
Yes, switch to GND Stabilized view, switch the HCU to TID mode, keep half trigger pressed, move TID cursor in the opposite direction of where you want to move the displayed area, press full trigger.

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
8. After some time, datalinked and radar contacts seem to appear at different positions, no longer correlated. This is INS drift? Can it be easily fixed?
Yes, this is INS drift. It can be fixed by a NAV Fix, which can either be done visually, by radar or by TACAN (see manual for more details).

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
9. Both times that I talked to our AI F-14 wingman, my pilot's DCS crashed. I think we were not even in the correct frequency, not sure if that matters. Anyone has experienced this? When this happened, my aircraft stopped in the air and I was dumped from it even when I entered the aircraft first. I hoped to pause and wait for him to reconnect, but obviously it was not possible.
I've not experienced crashes, but I have experienced missing radio responses when I'm the server host and the RIO at the same time.


Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
Thanks a lot!
You're welcome! I'm happy to see people trying the RIO position, which is one of my favorite things to do in DCS!
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + M.2 SSD + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!


Last edited by QuiGon; 09-16-2020 at 08:11 AM.
QuiGon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 09:49 AM   #3
escaner
Member
 
escaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Earth
Posts: 644
Default

Thanks for your thourough reply QuiGon



Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
You're not supposed to switch back to TWS manual when the Phoenix is still in the air. Wait untill the missile has either splashed the target or got trashed before switching out of TWS Auto.

OK. In this case, TWS Auto is supposed to automatically change the azimuth width and bars if necessary (e.g. several missiles on the way with aircraft separating one from the other) or should I still do it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
It means it's the designated priority target for the Phoenix IIRC.

I don't think it is that because actually there can be several flashing contacts at the same time in TWS. I wonder if it means that they have arrived to some range (maximum, optimal, etc.) or that the computer has a valid track to launch or something like that.
__________________
escaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 10:11 AM   #4
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 15,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
OK. In this case, TWS Auto is supposed to automatically change the azimuth width and bars if necessary (e.g. several missiles on the way with aircraft separating one from the other) or should I still do it?
In TWS AUTO the AWG-9 takes care of that.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + M.2 SSD + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 10:11 AM   #5
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 15,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by escaner View Post
I don't think it is that because actually there can be several flashing contacts at the same time in TWS. I wonder if it means that they have arrived to some range (maximum, optimal, etc.) or that the computer has a valid track to launch or something like that.
Indeed, that means they're all valid Phoenix targets. At least one flashing target is needed to get a HOT TRIGGER in TWS mode.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + M.2 SSD + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!


Last edited by QuiGon; 09-17-2020 at 02:15 PM.
QuiGon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 08:12 AM   #6
Mule
Senior Member
 
Mule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,275
Default

Superb stuff. Learning the RIO position is a great experience. The feeling of not having a clue what to do leaves some people frustrated but I love that. Small steps of learning and those ‘ah, that’s what that does’ moments. Literally years of fun ahead.
__________________
Fighter Pilot Podcast.
Mule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 01:42 PM   #7
Home Fries
Veteran
 
Home Fries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Greater Washington DC Area
Posts: 3,052
Default

The enjoyment of flying RIO is the best kept secret in DCS. That said, I'm always trying to tell the secret to people who will listen!
__________________
-Home Fries
Fear the Bolts!


The average naval aviator, despite the sometimes swaggering exterior, is very much capable of such feelings as love, affection, intimacy, and caring.
These feelings just don't involve anyone else.


Provide your inputs for CTS 3.0
My DCS Files and Skins
My DCS TARGET Profile for Cougar or Warthog and MFDs
F-14B LANTIRN Guide
Home Fries is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
doubts, rio

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:59 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.