Dora start only in second attemp - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2018, 02:11 PM   #1
Vino
Member
 
Vino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Suomi
Posts: 166
Default Dora starts only in second attemp

Having trouble with this bird. It nevert fires up in the first attemp. I’m doing everything by the book. Even in training mission it does not start. Everyone else having this problem?

Last edited by Vino; 07-03-2018 at 08:42 AM.
Vino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 08:28 PM   #2
Bun
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 47
Default

Crack the throttle a bit and wiggle it as you pull the starter.
Bun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 09:44 PM   #3
Sharkh
Junior Member
 
Sharkh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 53
Default

I had this also but than I have tried to spin it up a bit longer than the suggested (25? sec) than it seems its is always starting for the first try.


I also realized that the takeoff tutorial and some of its instruction might be outdated or something becasue it did not work when I have tried everything done "by the book" (instructor suggested).

For example When I bought the module I have tried to do the takeoff according to the suggestions and I failed many times than I tried my way and realized it might be that the characteristic of the plane might have been changed a bit since these instructions were created because I feel that the ideal speed of unclocking/locking the tailwheel (releaseing the stick towards neutral position) while accelerating is not the one the instructor suggests.

So maybe they have changed something with the engine startup a bit also thats why the suggested spin up time is not enough. I can be wrong though because I am very far from a "DCS exper"t.
Sharkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 10:23 PM   #4
Art-J+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,617
Default

The tutorial mission is outdated and contains some incorrect info indeed - for example the suggested stick-neutral speed of 200 kph is nonsense, as the plane lifts off already at 180.

Generally, old training mission rarely get fixed/updated in DCS (unfortunately), so it's recommended not to spend much time on them.

As for the startup, use electric power from the ground crew - seems to be spinning the flywheel to higher RPM and the engine catches on the first try easily.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 03:57 PM   #5
Vino
Member
 
Vino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Suomi
Posts: 166
Default

I tried to spin the flywheel for 35 seconds and the engine fired up with no problem. Thanks again!
Vino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 01:03 AM   #6
TWC_SLAG
Member
 
TWC_SLAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 430
Default

There are two throttle settings. “Start” and “Idle”. Set the first before flywheel begins spinning, wait ~25 seconds, activate the clutch. When the engine starts, switch to “Idle”. You need to advance the throttle a little, to keep the engine from quitting.
__________________
TWC_SLAG

Win 10 64 bit, 2T Hard Drive, 500GB SSD, Gigabyte 270 MB, Intel i7 7700 3.6ghz CPU, GTX 1070 GPU,
16gb DDR4 Ram, Track IR5, 49" 4K 60hz, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pedals, 2xCougar MFDs, Gametrix Seat, Sim Shaker for Aviators

Last edited by TWC_SLAG; 07-04-2018 at 01:05 AM. Reason: To
TWC_SLAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:08 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.