Do You Slew? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2018, 10:25 AM   #1
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,471
Default Do You Slew?

The short and sweet of it, if you have a Thrustmaster HOTAS Throttle, and have little joy trying to use the Slew Control to slew a TDC, there's a solution for that!




Yet another warthog slew upgrade

Many thanks to Deltaalphalima1 for not only putting this solution together --with help from some in that thread-- but he's put up a sight from which the kit can be ordered! Awesome!


Current waiting for the next production batch: March 2019.
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 04:16 AM   #2
PingPongChampeen
Member
 
PingPongChampeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Oscoda, MI
Posts: 208
Default

what do you install this on? does this replace the ministick on the throttle?
__________________
Intel 8086k o/c 5.4ghz | 32gb GSkill TridentZ DDR4 3200 ram | Asus Z370 Maximus X Formula| Zotac GTX 1080Ti | eVGA 1000w psu | MFG Crosswinds | TM Warthog | TM Cougar MFD | Dell 34" UHD Curved monitor | TrackIr 5/Oculus Rift CV1 | Windows 10 Pro
A-10C | AJS37 | AV-8B | Bf109 K-4 | C-101 | FC3 | F-5E | F-14A | F/A-18C | F-86 | FW109-D9 | HawkT1A | Ka-50 | L39 | Mig-15Bis | Mig-21Bis | M-2000C | Mi-8MTV2 | P-51D | Spitfire Mk. IX | SA342 | UH-1H
(D/229) Hammer 1-1, 229th Avn Bn.
PingPongChampeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 12:35 PM   #3
some1+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,667
Default

Not sure why you've posted this in Rabam subforum, but if you hope that it will fix the broken slew implementation in the Harrier, no it won't.
__________________

Owned modules & betas: A-10C; Ka-50; P-51; FW-190D; UH-1; FC; FC2; FC3; L-39C/ZA; MiG-15bis; F-86F Sabre; Bf 109 K-4; F-5E; Mi-8MTV2; M-2000C; SA-342; MiG-21bis; C-101 Aviojet; Hawk T.1A; Spitfire IX; AJS 37; AV-8B;NTTR; PG
Hardware: Virpil T-50CM, Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Rift CV1
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 01:28 PM   #4
Smoked
Junior Member
 
Smoked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
Not sure why you've posted this in Rabam subforum, but if you hope that it will fix the broken slew implementation in the Harrier, no it won't.


This!!!

Several of our harrier guys have reported the same thing...

Works great on the Hornet and the A-10.... The Harrier is a no-go unless you run a program and give it keyboard commands then its basically up/down left/right for TDC action.

Looks like its a coding issue on the Harrier... Razbam or ED? Who knows what code is not playing right... but its an issue that has been in the Harrier.
__________________
VMA-231 Ace of Spades

Virtual Carrier Strike Group 1 | Discord
Smoked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 05:20 AM   #5
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PingPongChampeen View Post
what do you install this on? does this replace the ministick on the throttle?
Yes, it replaces the Slew Control



Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
Not sure why you've posted this in Rabam subforum, but if you hope that it will fix the broken slew implementation in the Harrier, no it won't.
Of course it will not fix anything broken by programming, but issues are not just programming.

My Slew Control is a piece of sh*t. To give it credit for working a little bit would be do an injustice to every piece of working equipment out there.

Using the Coolie Switch is also not viable. You have to throw the switch very far, before it activates, without warning, and then it slews so fast that it is near impossible to control it reasonably.

Having a Slew Control which actually works well, will be a big step up.

If you are not interested, then please ignore this thread.

I simply wished to make this know for others who might be interested.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Throttle Front.jpg
Views:	383
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	201027  
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 05:36 AM   #6
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,471
Default

I have to say, I just checked functionality of my Slew Control in windows device manager, and it works there far better than my experience in the AV-8B, so I know what you guys are talking about *sigh*.

I'm still not sad about ordering this, bc even in windows, the Slew Control is fidgety af. But, yeah, something seems to be very broken in the module
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 09:12 PM   #7
Lixma 06
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,097
Default

Using TARGET I've set up my mini-stick thingy to send key presses instead of axes - you lose acceleration but I find it much more controllable.
Lixma 06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:47 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.