Network fix for Flaming Cliffs 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 11:14 AM   #1
USSR_Rik
ED Team
 
USSR_Rik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belarus, Minsk
Posts: 17,168
Exclamation Network fix for Flaming Cliffs 2

Dear FC2 hosters,

Last weeks we tested network hotfix, that eliminates the vulnerability of servers to DoS-attacks. In total, the checks were drawn up to 7 public FC2 servers (plus our servers), no significant problems were found.

Hotfix and installation instructions are on download page for Flaming Cliffs 2 (http://lockon.co.uk/downloads/patches/). Please don't forget to make backup of binaries from the installation path.

Pay attention that this hotfix is intended specifically for downloadable version of FC2 and does not require activation.

A "side effect" of applying the patch is an incorrect message about the failure of Integrity Check - client will receive message the interrupted connection.

Hotfix must be installed only on the server, there is no necessary to put it on the client. Servers and clients with/without this hotfix still compatible in network game.
__________________
А в кипящих котлах прежних боен и смут
Столько пищи для маленьких наших мозгов...
(В. Высоцкий)

Переход с 1.5.8 и/или 2.2.0 на версию 2.5

DCS World 2.5: Часто задаваемые вопросы

USSR_Rik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:41 AM   #2
MoGas
Senior Member
 
MoGas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 1,299
Default

Thx Rik, testing it out.

cheers
MoGas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 12:28 PM   #3
USSR_Rik
ED Team
 
USSR_Rik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belarus, Minsk
Posts: 17,168
Default

I forgot to say "Thanks" to hosters (server owners), who help us in hidden 'wild field testing'
__________________
А в кипящих котлах прежних боен и смут
Столько пищи для маленьких наших мозгов...
(В. Высоцкий)

Переход с 1.5.8 и/или 2.2.0 на версию 2.5

DCS World 2.5: Часто задаваемые вопросы

USSR_Rik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:15 PM   #4
Presing
Member
 
Presing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 240
Send a message via MSN to Presing
Default

Thank you guy's for fixing that problem.

Presing
Presing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 03:46 PM   #5
HiJack
Veteran
 
HiJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,699
Default

Thank you
__________________
Windows 7 64 bit FTW!
My DCS Tools:
Quick Airfield information , Better trim with the X52 Pro , Tacview Glideslopes

Spoiler:

ASUS Z97-PRO, Socket-1150
Intel® Core i7-4770K Processor overclocked to @ 4.20 GHz
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133MHz CL9 4x8GB
Sapphire Radeon TRI-X R9 390X 8GB "OC"
Samsung SSD 850PRO 1TB SSD
WD 2TB Black 3,5", SATA64MB Cache, Dual Processor, 7200RPM
Windows 7 64-bit
Philips 40" 4K LED BDM4065UC, ASUS 27” and Dell 24” screens
HiJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 03:53 PM   #6
104th_Taipan
Junior Member
 
104th_Taipan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 78
Send a message via MSN to 104th_Taipan
Default

Thank you for fix that bad thing!
104th_Taipan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:49 PM   #7
Moa
Senior Member
 
Moa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,096
Default

Thanks for the fix ED.

I found that it *does* require re-activation. Since my server has just run out of activations adding the patch killed it, and means I'm offline until I can get a new serial. Stink
Moa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 05:49 AM   #8
Cali
Veteran
 
Cali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 3,645
Default

Awesome news, maybe I'll get back into flying.
__________________
i5-2500k @ 3.3, Asus P8Z77-V LE mobo, Windows 7 64-bit, 8GB 1866mhz EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB, 256GB SSD, 500GB WD, TM Warthog, TM Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Pedals
TrackIR 5, G15 keyboard, 48" Sony LED (main), 24" monitor



Cali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:48 AM   #9
Kuky
Veteran
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SYD, Australia
Posts: 9,571
Default

Good news... thanks ED
__________________
Windows 10 Home 64bit | ASUS X99-A II | 32GB Corsair Dominator 3200MHz DDR4 @ 3000MHz | Intel i7 6850K @ 4.2GHz w/c | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB | Corsair AX860 PSU | Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD
2x SATA SSD | Panasonic 58" 4K TV (model: TH-58AX800A) | Oculus Rift CV1 | TM HOTAS Cougar (custom gimbals, extended & floor mounted stick) | MFG Rudder Pedals | SimShaker + ButtKicker LFE
Kuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 11:30 AM   #10
stdsk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: East Asia
Posts: 13
Default

Thank you for hotfix !
stdsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.