Thinking of giving up on occulus - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2019, 04:08 AM   #11
Harlikwin
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 765
Default

Try Lctrl 1 (turn off asw), and LCtrl4 (turn on when needed) modes for occulus. I often find it helps with weird stutters/judders.
__________________
i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 04:29 AM   #12
Svsmokey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 1,231
Default

Yep , i turn ASW off at every briefing screen .
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , TiR5 , 1080p monitor , Rift , CH hotas and pedals

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 11:50 PM   #13
scampaboy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 103
Default

Hi sorry for the late reply back I've been working 12 hour shifts

I've got a couple of days off so ill check my ASW settings. Thing is I've not flown props but I have flown rotary so it could quite well be the same issue with the props.

thanks
scampaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 05:52 PM   #14
davidp57
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Metz, France
Posts: 236
Default

I'll repeat here a question I asked in another thread : do you guys know what Lctrl7 and Lctrl8 do ?
They do something, only when in VR, that's for sure...
There's a "device (dis)connected" sound and the display freezes for 2-3 seconds.
Any idea ? Anyone tried ?
__________________
Zip - VEAF
davidp57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 06:18 PM   #15
some1
Senior Member
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,724
Default

No one knows, something that Oculus added and forgot to tell anyone what it's for.
__________________

Owned modules & betas: A-10C; Ka-50; P-51; FW-190D; UH-1; FC; FC2; FC3; L-39C/ZA; MiG-15bis; F-86F Sabre; Bf 109 K-4; F-5E; Mi-8MTV2; M-2000C; SA-342; MiG-21bis; C-101 Aviojet; Hawk T.1A; Spitfire IX; AJS 37; AV-8B;NTTR; PG
Hardware: Virpil T-50CM, Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Rift CV1
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 04:32 PM   #16
Mastiff
Veteran
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mars
Posts: 4,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidp57 View Post
I'll repeat here a question I asked in another thread : do you guys know what Lctrl7 and Lctrl8 do ?
They do something, only when in VR, that's for sure...
There's a "device (dis)connected" sound and the display freezes for 2-3 seconds.
Any idea ? Anyone tried ?
refresh, reload VR? pause VR?
__________________
" any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback "
"I Don't Use Mods."
Asus z370 MX||i7x8700k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||AX1200 Corsair||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||VKB,MCG\ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G15 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift VR
32 Samsung|| 1x9inc||
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 07:50 PM   #17
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,673
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
No one knows, something that Oculus added and forgot to tell anyone what it's for.
Yeah no idea here either - maybe something for developer tools.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.1 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB m.2 Nvme | Samsung 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme | Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA SSD | EVGA DG 87 Case |
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 10:55 AM   #18
TOViper
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scampaboy View Post
Hi guys,

I bought an occulus before christmas and to be honest I've hardly used it.

I looking for some help to see of I can sort out a problem I'm having with it or im just going to give up.

I have a 1080ti i7 6700 and 24 gb ram.

I can look past the reduced quality and the pixelation because the views are out of this world but I cant seem to get my eyes round something and its vitally important to dcs.

When looking through sights/hud the change in the glass really messes with my eyes I cant aim at all using hud or sights the image is distorted and the jaggies are so much it makes me feel sick. using one eye doesn't help and moving my head position round doesn't either.

I wear specs. does anyone have this problem like me ? can anyone offer any advice or should I just give up and continue to use track ir.
Ive tried vr zoom but it just seems to make it worse


I love flying in vr but I can shoot

regards

Richard



Hello Richard!


What I can give as feedback, is the following, but it most probably will not solve your issues.
But since I have no more experiences with the Rift, I can only tell you this story.

Maybe the distance of the two screens is not correct or they are accidentally twisted. I think it is labelled something like eye-distance, a small slider at the bottom. I had this (or probably very similar) problem when showing my VR to my friend who is wearing glasses. He told me about having diffuculties with the perception of the HUD indications, and when adjusting the distance very carefully it got better (but not perfect... according to his opinion). Obvoiusly for people not wearing glasses a slight deviation from the real eye-distance in relation to the setting on the Oculus doesn't make a big difference, but for guys wearing glasses it seems to require absolute fine tuning, and in the end it might not be perfect.
__________________
See my Youtube Channel, which is dedicated to Viggen pilots: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_Y...ezoWQkYKCGYB9w
| CSL | i7 6700 @ 4.0 GHz | GTX 1070 8GB | 16GB 2400MHz DDR4 | 256 GB SDD + 1 TB HDD | CH Flightstick Pro USB | Win7 Professional 64-Bit |

Last edited by TOViper; 02-11-2019 at 10:59 AM.
TOViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 02:57 PM   #19
Mastiff
Veteran
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mars
Posts: 4,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOViper View Post
Hello Richard!


What I can give as feedback, is the following, but it most probably will not solve your issues.
But since I have no more experiences with the Rift, I can only tell you this story.

Maybe the distance of the two screens is not correct or they are accidentally twisted. I think it is labelled something like eye-distance, a small slider at the bottom. I had this (or probably very similar) problem when showing my VR to my friend who is wearing glasses. He told me about having diffuculties with the perception of the HUD indications, and when adjusting the distance very carefully it got better (but not perfect... according to his opinion). Obvoiusly for people not wearing glasses a slight deviation from the real eye-distance in relation to the setting on the Oculus doesn't make a big difference, but for guys wearing glasses it seems to require absolute fine tuning, and in the end it might not be perfect.
and not all eyeballs are symmetrical to people heads, that's something people should think about when buying this kind of tech, your nearest Best buy or frys electronic stores will let you try them out before you buy.
__________________
" any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback "
"I Don't Use Mods."
Asus z370 MX||i7x8700k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||AX1200 Corsair||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||VKB,MCG\ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G15 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift VR
32 Samsung|| 1x9inc||

Last edited by Mastiff; 02-11-2019 at 02:59 PM.
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 01:02 AM   #20
majapahit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,086
Default

Remove the foam frame, is what I did, my eyes need more than 7.0 distance,

without the foam frame (search YT mod its simply unclick) your eyes get nearer to the lenses., and I filled this up with tweaking a piece of foam to get it right, solved my issues.

My eyes are -2
__________________
Autopilot panel | Headtracker | TM HOTAS | G920 HOTAS | Throttle Quadrants | 8600K | GTX 1080 | 32GB RAM| Win 10 x64 | Voicerecognition | 40" 1080p TV | 2x 24" 1080p side monitors | 24" 1080p touchscreen | VR googles
majapahit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.