[REPORTED] Do ACM modes work with AMRAAMS? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2019, 03:26 PM   #1
Pooter03
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 18
Default [REPORTED] Do ACM modes work with AMRAAMS?

I've been having trouble getting locks in WVR combat. My typical loadout has been 4xAMRAAM, 2xGBU-10, fuel (hooray for jettision!) and a pod. If I get jumped by a hostile and get to WVR range, I have a hard time getting lock, whether trying to slew onto the brick in CRM or switching to ACM and trying any of the different modes. In boresite, I'll have the boresite cross directly on the hostile and will not get a lock.

Is this because I'm doing something wrong, ACM mode is buggy, or it only works with Sidewinders/gun? (even with the latter, locking seems haphazard.)
Pooter03 is offline  
Old 10-21-2019, 04:22 PM   #2
kengou
Member
 
kengou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 173
Default

It's because ACM and radar in general are WIP. It should definitely work with AMRAAMs.
__________________
Tyrannosaurs in F-14s!!


Hangar: A-10A | A-10C | AJS-37 | AV-8B II NA | F-14 | F-15C | F-16C | F-5E II | F/A-18C | FW-190D-9 | KA-50 | M-2000C | MI-8MTV2 | MiG-15bis | MiG-21bis | MiG-29 | P-51D | UH-1H | SU-27


Cockpit: CH Fighterstick | Thrustmaster TWCS Throttle | VKB T-Rudder IV | TrackIR 5
kengou is offline  
Old 10-21-2019, 04:48 PM   #3
Wags
ED Team
 
Wags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 11,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pooter03 View Post
I've been having trouble getting locks in WVR combat. My typical loadout has been 4xAMRAAM, 2xGBU-10, fuel (hooray for jettision!) and a pod. If I get jumped by a hostile and get to WVR range, I have a hard time getting lock, whether trying to slew onto the brick in CRM or switching to ACM and trying any of the different modes. In boresite, I'll have the boresite cross directly on the hostile and will not get a lock.

Is this because I'm doing something wrong, ACM mode is buggy, or it only works with Sidewinders/gun? (even with the latter, locking seems haphazard.)
Please provide a track file and we'll be happy to take a look. I just tested and I'm not having an issue getting a lock from ACM BORE mode against a target wtihin 10 nm.

Thanks
Wags is offline  
Old 10-21-2019, 06:09 PM   #4
Pooter03
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 18
Default

OK. I believe it was around 11:44:31 when I switched to guns out of frustration. Before and after I was in boresight and never got a lock.

I'll try again tonight and make better notes if this track isn't helpful.
Pooter03 is offline  
Old 10-21-2019, 06:35 PM   #5
Wags
ED Team
 
Wags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 11,332
Default

Please provide a short and to-the-point track from single player.

Thanks
Wags is offline  
Old 10-22-2019, 12:17 AM   #6
Pooter03
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 18
Default

OK, I've got 2 tracks:
Ramp.zip.acmi: Cold start on the ramp. Got within 3 miles and no lock using ACM boresite.
Flight.zip.acmi: Started in flight. ACM boresite locked immediately when I was in range.

Problem seems to happen only when starting cold on the ramp. 99% of my time playing is in multiplayer on servers that start you cold on the ramp, so it didn't occur to me to check SP starting in-flight until now. I attached a couple of screenshots with the tracks. Please let me know if you need any more info.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Tacview.zip (3.94 MB, 16 views)
Pooter03 is offline  
Old 10-22-2019, 12:27 AM   #7
EvanWeeks
Junior Member
 
EvanWeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dawsonville, GA
Posts: 74
Default

I just tested the crap out of it with a Mig-21, and I was able to get locks in 30x20, 10x60 and boresight with AIM-120s selected without TOO much problems. My only gripe right now is that if I DO lock up a target in ACM mode (with AIM-120s selected) and then subsequently LOSE that lock, the radar defaults back to CRM mode, and I have to go dogfight switch inboard, then outboard again to re-select ACM.

Then there's the annoyance of trying to get into a good firing position for a slammer when in the merge, but that's a different problem altogether.

Edit: my test was an air-start.
__________________
Evan "Preacher" Weeks - Dad. Programmer. Virtual Fighter Pilot.
EvanWeeks is offline  
Old 10-22-2019, 01:32 AM   #8
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,753
Default

Can you guys share the mission you were using and in-sim track, please?
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 10-22-2019, 03:42 AM   #9
Pooter03
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
Can you guys share the mission you were using and in-sim track, please?
Unfortunately, I didn't save the missions. I just created a new mission on easy, disabled all planes and vehicles except for red attack planes at maximum, gave myself a couple of 120Cs. The first time (ACM not working) I had it set to cold and dark. The second I had it start in air.

I attached the two tracks earlier, you are looking for something different?
Pooter03 is offline  
Old 10-22-2019, 04:12 AM   #10
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,753
Default

Looking for actual replay files from the sim, tacview doesn't help if I have to submit, I will try and reproduce the issue tonight.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
acm, f16, f16c, missiles, radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:41 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.