Prop governor manual control - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2019, 10:40 AM   #1
LittleMadz77
Junior Member
 
LittleMadz77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Como - Italy
Posts: 8
Default Prop governor manual control

Guys i know it's a very dumb question but... i can't control manually the prop pitch. I know the switch to use the automatic settings, but i would like (at least) to try to use it manually. In some cases it may even be helpful. I checked at least three times but i can't find the keys to change the prop pitch (i would like to use an axis for this).

I checked the forums, the manual, google.... but no way. Anybody may help?

Thanks in advance

Maurizio
__________________
I'm so fond of the 109 my dog is called Gustav!
LittleMadz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 10:51 AM   #2
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5,538
Default

Make sure the switch is set to off and then press one of the two buttons which are located on the throttle to change rpm
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 10:51 AM   #3
JG13~Wulf
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Belgium
Posts: 235
Default

This is not an axis because the prop can move so much that there are no axis to have a precise control. There are 2 controls to set. But I didn't have there name.

This is a completely different system from P51 or Spitfire.
__________________
JG13~Wulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 11:00 AM   #4
Etirion
Member
 
Etirion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 128
Default

In the plane its controlled by the rocker switch on the right wall of the throttle. The bindings are "Engine RPM Increase" and "Engine RPM decrease" there is no axis.
Etirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 11:49 AM   #5
grafspee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG13~Wulf View Post
This is not an axis because the prop can move so much that there are no axis to have a precise control. There are 2 controls to set. But I didn't have there name.

This is a completely different system from P51 or Spitfire.
Agree, rpm control unit in bf109 uses mechanically set map to obtain optimal rpm for given boost,
It is very similar to engine limitation chart(max continous 46'/2700 max crusie 36'/2400) for p-51 but everything is happening automatic.
Manual control is used for t/o and landing in normal operation environment.
No axis, only buttons for increase/decrease.
In manual mode, you control pitch of the prop not rpm, it is not like in spit or p-51

Last edited by grafspee; 08-09-2019 at 12:02 PM.
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 01:32 PM   #6
LittleMadz77
Junior Member
 
LittleMadz77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Como - Italy
Posts: 8
Default

Hi Guys, thanks for your reply.

Ok, uderstood, there's no axis. I have seen the two buttons on the throttle, i would like to map them on the "real throttle", but i can't find them in the controls settings.

Thank you in advance

Maurizio
__________________
I'm so fond of the 109 my dog is called Gustav!
LittleMadz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 02:45 PM   #7
Etirion
Member
 
Etirion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Etirion View Post
The bindings are "Engine RPM Increase" and "Engine RPM decrease".
I should've clarified that with this I meant the actual keybinds that you can search for when under Controls. Default keys are Page Up and Down
Etirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 02:53 PM   #8
LittleMadz77
Junior Member
 
LittleMadz77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Como - Italy
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Etirion View Post
I should've clarified that with this I meant the actual keybinds that you can search for when under Controls. Default keys are Page Up and Down
Thank you very much! I will check this evening!

Maurizio
__________________
I'm so fond of the 109 my dog is called Gustav!
LittleMadz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 07:13 PM   #9
JG13~Wulf
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Belgium
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grafspee View Post
Manual control is used for t/o and landing in normal operation environment.
Automatic system always think you are in level flight. because of this, it make auto the best choice for cruise. But in combat, with correct management you can have better perf with the Bf 109.
But this need training ... and some engine failure to understand what you can and what you can't do ^^
__________________
JG13~Wulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 09:00 PM   #10
grafspee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG13~Wulf View Post
Automatic system always think you are in level flight. because of this, it make auto the best choice for cruise. But in combat, with correct management you can have better perf with the Bf 109.
But this need training ... and some engine failure to understand what you can and what you can't do ^^
"normal operation" not expert level, what i said
Auto is simply trying to maintain rpm for givent boost/throttle position. It realy dont care is it level flight or not.
In FW190 D9 they fixed this problem. Auto or not auto

Last edited by grafspee; 08-10-2019 at 09:07 PM.
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:26 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.