Mission Editor Broken - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2015, 03:09 AM   #1
too-cool
Member
 
too-cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Default Mission Editor Broken

I'm attempting to create a new mission using the mission editor, the problem I'm having is that when I choose the aircraft and set the group, pilot etc, and left click a base to place the aircraft, it doesn't place the aircraft on the field and I'm unable to choose the load-out or paint scheme for the plane and there fore the mission is never created. I have done a repair but still the same results. These are the instruction I'm using. My game version is 1216.39472. The plane is the P-51D which I have installed. Any Idea's?

5:18


DCS World Editor - Creating a Freeflight mission

Thanks TC
too-cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 03:38 AM   #2
Grimes
ED Testers Team
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Black Mesa
Posts: 8,055
Default

Usually when you can't select anything the mission editor has encountered an error and you have to force close the game. In your C:\Users\<username>\Saved Games\DCS\Logs folder there will be an "me.log" and an "me.log.old" file. These files provide a log of what what happens in the editor and if there is an error the info will be in there. Try to place the aircraft as you have been doing and then attach the log files so we can see if anything weird is in them.


Also what happens when you try to add an aircraft group and simply place it on the map before selecting the P-51D, the groups name, placing waypoins, etc?
__________________
You can only tie the world record for lowest flight.
Current Projects: Scripting Wiki, Something...
Useful Links: Mission Scripting Tools MIST-(GitHub) MIST-(Thread), SLMOD for DCS 1.5/2.0, IADScript, Mission Editing Wiki!, Mission Building Forum
Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 05:28 AM   #3
Midnight
Member
 
Midnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 478
Default

Do you have this problem with all the planes and units? Check that you do not have a zip file of maybe a repaint that you have done in the P-51 Livery folder.
__________________

http://www.vsaaf.co.za
Midnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 07:47 PM   #4
too-cool
Member
 
too-cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimes View Post
Usually when you can't select anything the mission editor has encountered an error and you have to force close the game. In your C:\Users\<username>\Saved Games\DCS\Logs folder there will be an "me.log" and an "me.log.old" file. These files provide a log of what what happens in the editor and if there is an error the info will be in there. Try to place the aircraft as you have been doing and then attach the log files so we can see if anything weird is in them.


Also what happens when you try to add an aircraft group and simply place it on the map before selecting the P-51D, the groups name, placing waypoins, etc?
Here are the log files and I have no luck placing any aircraft on the map.
Attached Files
File Type: zip me.log.zip (2.8 KB, 33 views)
File Type: zip me.zip (3.0 KB, 41 views)
too-cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 08:08 PM   #5
too-cool
Member
 
too-cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Default

Placing on map before selecting aircraft works but I have no available weapons load-out of paint scheme choices plus if I attempt to fly the game locks up. TC
too-cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 11:58 PM   #6
Grimes
ED Testers Team
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Black Mesa
Posts: 8,055
Default

Something is wrong in your description.lua file for your custom livery. Specifically: Bazar/Liveries/P-51D/USAF 328th FS, Too-Cool_TC/description.lua

I guess post that file to see what is going on, could be as simple as a syntax error.
__________________
You can only tie the world record for lowest flight.
Current Projects: Scripting Wiki, Something...
Useful Links: Mission Scripting Tools MIST-(GitHub) MIST-(Thread), SLMOD for DCS 1.5/2.0, IADScript, Mission Editing Wiki!, Mission Building Forum
Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 02:51 AM   #7
too-cool
Member
 
too-cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimes View Post
Something is wrong in your description.lua file for your custom livery. Specifically: Bazar/Liveries/P-51D/USAF 328th FS, Too-Cool_TC/description.lua

I guess post that file to see what is going on, could be as simple as a syntax error.
Here you go. TC
Attached Files
File Type: lua description.lua (3.7 KB, 219 views)
too-cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 03:38 AM   #8
Grimes
ED Testers Team
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Black Mesa
Posts: 8,055
Default

Yup, you didn't comment out a line so it can't read the file and it is generating the error.

Change line 54

Too-Cool_TC

to

--Too-Cool_TC
__________________
You can only tie the world record for lowest flight.
Current Projects: Scripting Wiki, Something...
Useful Links: Mission Scripting Tools MIST-(GitHub) MIST-(Thread), SLMOD for DCS 1.5/2.0, IADScript, Mission Editing Wiki!, Mission Building Forum
Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:20 PM   #9
too-cool
Member
 
too-cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Default

That did the trick, Thanks a Lot for all the help. TC

Thanks Again....
too-cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 04:22 AM   #10
HawgDawg4Life
Junior Member
 
HawgDawg4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Wichita
Posts: 86
Default Wow and that god for old threads

So I ran into this problem yesterday. I zipped up a livery I made to send to a friend and didnt delete the zip file after sending it. Then, in the editor, I couldnt add any hueys to any mission and the missions that already had a huey blew up as described here.

Thanks (albeit belated) for this thread. lol
__________________
HawgDawg4life of MSFlights.net

HawgDawg4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:31 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.