Questions: fuel gauge, Ignition/battery & ATA needle jump 1.45-1.8 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2019, 02:30 AM   #1
-0303-
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 198
Default Questions: fuel gauge, Ignition/battery & ATA needle jump 1.45-1.8

Fuel gauge
Neat modeling (possibly). Fuel gauge only shows full with plane horizontal, it shows a little less than full on sitting on ground.

Ignition/battery
How come panel lights and instruments only goes active with battery AND ignition circuit breaker on. Why not just battery circuit breaker?

ATA gauge
ATA gauge jumps from 1.45 to 1.8 when advancing throttle regardless if rear tank has MW/50, B-4 gasoline or is empty. Is it supposed to do that?

Mission Editor-----ATA gauge----------MW/50 gauge-----MW/Kraftstoff selector (set by default)
MW/50-------------jumps 1.45 to 1.8----active--------------MW stoff selected
B-4 Gasoline------- jumps 1.45 to 1.8----not active----------Kraftstoff selected
Empty--------------jumps 1.45 to 1.8----not active----------Kraftstoff selected
(so how you make columns in a table? zoom browser 100%)

MW/Kraftstoff selector defaulting to MW stoff and MW/50 pressure gauge only active when rear tank loaded with MW/50 makes perfect sense. But what happens when ATA gauge jumps from 1.45-1.8?

~
Two more questions.
-Am I correct in assuming that if rear tank is loaded with gasoline it will feed into main tank automatically?
-It looks like MW/50, B-4 gasoline or empty can only be chosen in Mission Editor. Is there no way (in game) to ask ground crew to choose how the rear tank is loaded?

Last edited by -0303-; 09-23-2019 at 02:34 AM.
-0303- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 08:42 AM   #2
saburo_cz
Member
 
saburo_cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Prague CZ
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -0303- View Post
How come panel lights and instruments only goes active with battery AND ignition circuit breaker on. Why not just battery circuit breaker?
It was designed that way, one C/B for several plane system. It is the same for Fw.


Quote:
Originally Posted by -0303- View Post
ATA gauge jumps from 1.45 to 1.8 when advancing throttle regardless if rear tank has MW/50, B-4 gasoline or is empty. Is it supposed to do that?
Yes, but engine life should be different.


Quote:
Originally Posted by -0303- View Post
MW/Kraftstoff selector defaulting to MW stoff and MW/50 pressure gauge only active when rear tank loaded with MW/50 makes perfect sense. But what happens when ATA gauge jumps from 1.45-1.8?
If you set engine power to 1,8ATA without MW injection, engine starts shaking and should die very soon... May be in DCS the second will happen when new DM come.

When fuel is in auxiliary tank and MW/fuel selector is in MW position, MW pressure gauge should show pressure like in MW is in tank. Liquid is liquid, does not matter if it is fuel or MW.
The selector determines where content from auxiliary tank will come, to main fuel tank or to the compressor inlet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -0303- View Post
Am I correct in assuming that if rear tank is loaded with gasoline it will feed into main tank automatically?
Yes, no pilot action is required.


Quote:
Originally Posted by -0303- View Post
It looks like MW/50, B-4 gasoline or empty can only be chosen in Mission Editor. Is there no way (in game) to ask ground crew to choose how the rear tank is loaded?
That is true, you can change content in auxiliary tank only in ME, no in game.
__________________
saburo_cz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 07:41 AM   #3
-0303-
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 198
Default

Engine "pulse"
Engine started coughing and "pulse" climbing at 20000 feet (maybe). ATA 1.42, all temps fine. No MW (as set by aerobatics server). Engine came back, but not fully, at lower altitude. What happened?

Rear tank
How do I fuel the rear tank? By asking for 100%? Given server setting is no MW loaded.

Last edited by -0303-; 10-24-2019 at 07:45 AM.
-0303- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 03:38 PM   #4
grafspee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,342
Default

Engine dies very quickly when runing 1.8ATA w/o mw50, tested it alredy.
I think when MW50 isnt on board groud crew should install stop gate on throttle or set boost regulator to not get more then 1.45 w/o mw50 1.8 is deadly.
__________________
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 03:40 PM   #5
grafspee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -0303- View Post
Engine "pulse"

How do I fuel the rear tank? By asking for 100%? Given server setting is no MW loaded.
Yes
__________________

Last edited by grafspee; 10-24-2019 at 03:44 PM.
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 07:49 PM   #6
Ala13_ManOWar
Senior Member
 
Ala13_ManOWar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grafspee View Post
I think when MW50 isnt on board groud crew should install stop gate on throttle or set boost regulator to not get more then 1.45 w/o mw50 1.8 is deadly.
Problem with that is depending on the atmospheric pressure of the day that stop gate would be in a different place. You can't change it daily, even during the day from morning to noon to evening.


S!
__________________
"I went into the British Army believing that if you want peace you must prepare for war. I believe now that if you prepare for war, you get war." -- Major-General Frederick B. Maurice
Ala13_ManOWar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 07:14 AM   #7
grafspee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ala13_ManOWar View Post
Problem with that is depending on the atmospheric pressure of the day that stop gate would be in a different place. You can't change it daily, even during the day from morning to noon to evening.


S!
I think bf109 is equipped with boost control unit and this 1.8 ATA jump is probably special mode for this unit stop gate would work just not allowing pilot enter this special mode.
I dont know how this wep in bf109 worked, in dcs you cant set 1.6 or 1.7 it jumps to 1.8 imidietly even with tiniest increments of throttle.
But stop gate in bf109 would handicap high alt performance it will limit rpm for engine.
Any way, stop gates were used widely to avoid accidental engage of WEP.
So from what i have read p-47 has stop gate on throttle for t/o to not over boost
__________________

Last edited by grafspee; 10-25-2019 at 07:20 AM.
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 04:50 PM   #8
-0303-
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grafspee View Post
Engine dies very quickly when runing 1.8ATA w/o mw50, tested it alredy.
I think when MW50 isnt on board groud crew should install stop gate on throttle or set boost regulator to not get more then 1.45 w/o mw50 1.8 is deadly.
I knew not to go to 1.8. I just set the throttle on the threshold of the jump, ca 1.42.
I was thinking I missed something else, like engaging the fuel pump a la Spitfire. Fuel was on, but something else one needs to do when getting at altitude with 109? Adjust cooling?

Last edited by -0303-; 10-28-2019 at 04:54 PM.
-0303- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 07:10 PM   #9
Ala13_ManOWar
Senior Member
 
Ala13_ManOWar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -0303- View Post
I knew not to go to 1.8. I just set the throttle on the threshold of the jump, ca 1.42.
I was thinking I missed something else, like engaging the fuel pump a la Spitfire. Fuel was on, but something else one needs to do when getting at altitude with 109? Adjust cooling?
Nope, fuel controls to the left, you couldn't start up the engine without them, and electrical fuel pump to the right in the breakers panel. I guess that's what you do, and that's all. 109 is fully automated.


S!
__________________
"I went into the British Army believing that if you want peace you must prepare for war. I believe now that if you prepare for war, you get war." -- Major-General Frederick B. Maurice
Ala13_ManOWar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 07:55 PM   #10
grafspee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -0303- View Post
I knew not to go to 1.8. I just set the throttle on the threshold of the jump, ca 1.42.
I was thinking I missed something else, like engaging the fuel pump a la Spitfire. Fuel was on, but something else one needs to do when getting at altitude with 109? Adjust cooling?
what exactly happen at high alt ? did engien die or what ?
__________________

Last edited by grafspee; 10-28-2019 at 08:18 PM.
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:59 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.