HP's Reverb VR Pro Headset - Page 326 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2019, 05:36 PM   #3251
JG27_Arklight
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA.
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Secoda View Post
Is it set at 60 in WMR/Windows?

If you choose Automatic, Windows Mixed Reality will determine and choose the best refresh rate experience for your PC's hardware configuration. For most people, this is the best choice to start with.

If you choose 60Hz, the refresh rate of the headset display gets set to 60Hz, and some mixed reality features will be turned off, such as video capture and preview in Mixed Reality Portal.

If you choose 90Hz, the refresh rate of the headset display gets set to 90Hz, and some experiences and PC configurations might not run as well if your PC doesn't meet requirements.


How to Change Refresh Rate for Mixed Reality Headset Experience in Windows 10

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...dows-10-a.html
Just checked and it's set to 90 in the WMR settings but 60 in Steam. Odd..
__________________
Ark
------------------
Windows 10 Pro x64
9900K @ 5ghz
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB CAS 14
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Ultra XC2
256gb Samsung 869 Pro (Boot Drive)
1TB - Samsung 970 EVO Plus
Seasoninc 1000w Titanium Ultra PSU
34" ASUS PG348
JG27_Arklight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 05:39 PM   #3252
Secoda
Member
 
Secoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Missouri
Posts: 392
Default

So SteamVR thinks the hardware can't handle 90 for some reason. I think we discovered the problem. Others on here had the same problem with fast hardware in the past.

You can try adjusting the SteamVR SS down. There can be a lot of causes. Is DCS PD set at 1.0? Remember though SteamVR is looking at the GPU primarily but there are other things like the HDMI/DisplayPort versions that might limit Hz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG27_Arklight View Post
Just checked and it's set to 90 in the WMR settings but 60 in Steam. Odd..
__________________
I-7 8700K 5 Ghz OC, Trident Z RGB 32GB DDR4-3200, ASUS ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming, ASUS RTX2080 8GB OC, NVMe PCIe M.2 1 TB SSD, EVO 1TB SSD, WD 1TB HD, WD Black 2 TB HD image, Corsair H150i Pro Cooler, HOTAS 16000FCS, Corsair Crystal 570X RGB case, Corsair RM750x Gold PSU, Razer Cynosa Chroma RGB keyboard, Razer Mamba Wireless Gaming Mouse, Samsung QLED 4K 82" TV/monitor. HP Reverb. Lenovo Explorer. IRL Private Pilot.

Last edited by Secoda; 08-25-2019 at 05:49 PM.
Secoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 05:40 PM   #3253
sze5003
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: US
Posts: 1,385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG27_Arklight View Post
Just checked and it's set to 90 in the WMR settings but 60 in Steam. Odd..
Maybe uninstall steamvr and reinstall it after a reboot? Something seems off with steam but this should automatically configure the headset fresh.
__________________
Asus ROG Strix Z370-E | Core i7 8700k @5.0Ghz-Corsair H100i v2 | 32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengence LPX 3000 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | OCZ Trion 150 960GB | 256GB Samsung 830 | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO | Asus Strix OC 1080Ti | Samsung Odyssey
sze5003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 05:51 PM   #3254
Secoda
Member
 
Secoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Missouri
Posts: 392
Default

And WMR for SteamVR...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sze5003 View Post
Maybe uninstall steamvr and reinstall it after a reboot? Something seems off with steam but this should automatically configure the headset fresh.
__________________
I-7 8700K 5 Ghz OC, Trident Z RGB 32GB DDR4-3200, ASUS ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming, ASUS RTX2080 8GB OC, NVMe PCIe M.2 1 TB SSD, EVO 1TB SSD, WD 1TB HD, WD Black 2 TB HD image, Corsair H150i Pro Cooler, HOTAS 16000FCS, Corsair Crystal 570X RGB case, Corsair RM750x Gold PSU, Razer Cynosa Chroma RGB keyboard, Razer Mamba Wireless Gaming Mouse, Samsung QLED 4K 82" TV/monitor. HP Reverb. Lenovo Explorer. IRL Private Pilot.
Secoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 05:53 PM   #3255
sze5003
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: US
Posts: 1,385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Secoda View Post
And WMR for SteamVR...
Yea should have mentioned both. Do wmr for steam vr first since that's an app within steam and then uninstall steam vr. I've done this many times in the past when faced with odd bugs.
__________________
Asus ROG Strix Z370-E | Core i7 8700k @5.0Ghz-Corsair H100i v2 | 32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengence LPX 3000 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | OCZ Trion 150 960GB | 256GB Samsung 830 | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO | Asus Strix OC 1080Ti | Samsung Odyssey
sze5003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 05:56 PM   #3256
Secoda
Member
 
Secoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Missouri
Posts: 392
Default

I think the latest versions of SteamVR and WMR for SteamVR updated the beta stuff to the normal release so I am not using the newest betas except for the WMR setting in Windows.
__________________
I-7 8700K 5 Ghz OC, Trident Z RGB 32GB DDR4-3200, ASUS ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming, ASUS RTX2080 8GB OC, NVMe PCIe M.2 1 TB SSD, EVO 1TB SSD, WD 1TB HD, WD Black 2 TB HD image, Corsair H150i Pro Cooler, HOTAS 16000FCS, Corsair Crystal 570X RGB case, Corsair RM750x Gold PSU, Razer Cynosa Chroma RGB keyboard, Razer Mamba Wireless Gaming Mouse, Samsung QLED 4K 82" TV/monitor. HP Reverb. Lenovo Explorer. IRL Private Pilot.

Last edited by Secoda; 08-25-2019 at 06:14 PM.
Secoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 06:23 PM   #3257
JG27_Arklight
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA.
Posts: 626
Default

Thanks for the help, guys! I'll check it out.

Some great news though. I went back and re-did all the SteamVR display settings (except for the refresh as noted above) and reconfigured the in-game graphics settings, and needless to say the image looks a LOT better. Now I can really see a difference between this one and the Rift S. I was also able to find a way to get the headset on without it interfering with my glasses so there's no discomfort. The sweet spot seems to be much better now, perhaps I had a setting off or the headset not situated correctly, but either way it is MUCH more accpetable now. Regarding the refresh issue, I did update to the "WMR for SteamVR" to beta today, so perhaps there is a new beta and it bored something.

The cable is still annoying but I can live with that. I'm going to test it out a few more days but it's looking good so far

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
__________________
Ark
------------------
Windows 10 Pro x64
9900K @ 5ghz
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB CAS 14
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Ultra XC2
256gb Samsung 869 Pro (Boot Drive)
1TB - Samsung 970 EVO Plus
Seasoninc 1000w Titanium Ultra PSU
34" ASUS PG348
JG27_Arklight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 06:44 PM   #3258
sze5003
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: US
Posts: 1,385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG27_Arklight View Post
Thanks for the help, guys! I'll check it out.

Some great news though. I went back and re-did all the SteamVR display settings (except for the refresh as noted above) and reconfigured the in-game graphics settings, and needless to say the image looks a LOT better. Now I can really see a difference between this one and the Rift S. I was also able to find a way to get the headset on without it interfering with my glasses so there's no discomfort. The sweet spot seems to be much better now, perhaps I had a setting off or the headset not situated correctly, but either way it is MUCH more accpetable now. Regarding the refresh issue, I did update to the "WMR for SteamVR" to beta today, so perhaps there is a new beta and it bored something.

The cable is still annoying but I can live with that. I'm going to test it out a few more days but it's looking good so far

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Nice! Glad you were able to figure it out. What setting did you change? I feel like we need a sticky thread with all these quick tips and info for the settings just for the reverb because it's such a pain to go through everything. Especially when there are different setting results for steam stable and beta.
__________________
Asus ROG Strix Z370-E | Core i7 8700k @5.0Ghz-Corsair H100i v2 | 32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengence LPX 3000 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | OCZ Trion 150 960GB | 256GB Samsung 830 | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO | Asus Strix OC 1080Ti | Samsung Odyssey
sze5003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 06:51 PM   #3259
statuskuo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 10
Default

For about $5 from Home Depot I used a wooden dowel and clamps, aided by duct tape and tie wraps, put one end on the back of the chair and the other end held the cable above my head. Now I can't really feel the cable and can check 6 fairly easily.
statuskuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 06:55 PM   #3260
Secoda
Member
 
Secoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Missouri
Posts: 392
Default

If only they would stop updating (changing) everything all of the time.

I dread SteamVR and WMR updates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sze5003 View Post
Nice! Glad you were able to figure it out. What setting did you change? I feel like we need a sticky thread with all these quick tips and info for the settings just for the reverb because it's such a pain to go through everything. Especially when there are different setting results for steam stable and beta.
__________________
I-7 8700K 5 Ghz OC, Trident Z RGB 32GB DDR4-3200, ASUS ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming, ASUS RTX2080 8GB OC, NVMe PCIe M.2 1 TB SSD, EVO 1TB SSD, WD 1TB HD, WD Black 2 TB HD image, Corsair H150i Pro Cooler, HOTAS 16000FCS, Corsair Crystal 570X RGB case, Corsair RM750x Gold PSU, Razer Cynosa Chroma RGB keyboard, Razer Mamba Wireless Gaming Mouse, Samsung QLED 4K 82" TV/monitor. HP Reverb. Lenovo Explorer. IRL Private Pilot.

Last edited by Secoda; 08-25-2019 at 07:00 PM.
Secoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:04 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.