Xtal VR headset - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2019, 03:58 PM   #1
stefew1966
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 27
Default Xtal VR headset

Good afternoon everybody!
I am considering buying the Xtal VR headset. I know, I'm crazy. I know it's expensive.

What I'm after is feedback from anybody else running it with DCS. I watched the SweViver review on it and I was sold. But, I would very much like to know if somebody else has tried it with DCS. I'm really looking for a second opinion.

As I said, I know it's a lot of money. Don't judge me.

Thanks
Stef
stefew1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 04:11 PM   #2
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 3,556
Default

Probably the best place to ask is the VR subforum, but I think the answer is no. But SwedeViewer got it running in DCS so presumably you can too.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 04:12 PM   #3
stefew1966
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlikwin View Post
Probably the best place to ask is the VR subforum, but I think the answer is no. But SwedeViewer got it running in DCS so presumably you can too.
Darn, I was worried I posted in the wrong place.
stefew1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 10:23 PM   #4
wormeaten
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Croatia
Posts: 864
Default

You should wait for the consumer version next year. Much cheaper.

For that time buy O+ on sale for 300$ and sell it after XTAL release.

You will always get 250$ minimum for used O+.
wormeaten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 11:14 PM   #5
Ishbob88
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 40
Default

I would wait man. I've spoken to some guys who test a unit for a USAF program and they said clarity was good, but difficult to setup and has problems. Could be a defective unit but at $4K it's just not worth it to a consumer. Those are built for companies with a large budget.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Ishbob88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 02:06 AM   #6
webweaver40
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 59
Default

Don't you just love how everyone just assumes and gives him financial advice? The guy already explained that money isn't the issue. He wants to hear from others who may have had some experience with dcs / xtal. If you don't have a valid response then shut up with your financial advice - that's not what he's asking for.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
webweaver40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 07:26 AM   #7
Tom Kazansky
Member
 
Tom Kazansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 386
Default

let's calm down.


if money was no issue, I'd bet everyone here has ordered a XTAL.


SweViver's clip on YT is the best comercial for it you can imagine.


Not only sharpnes and clarity because of the native resolution support, the lack of zooming lenses, but also that he mentioned he was using an non-ti RTX2080 (with DCS and all other games) is the ultimate argument.


but: money is for most of us the issue.


and yes: I should have **** ** myself, caus I dont have an XTAL. And I'm looking forward to read real experiences with XTAL here.

Last edited by Tom Kazansky; 05-09-2019 at 01:16 PM.
Tom Kazansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 07:40 AM   #8
cercata
Member
 
cercata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefew1966 View Post
As I said, I know it's a lot of money. Don't judge me.
I don't judge you, I envy you
cercata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 11:10 AM   #9
Whodat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Default

Mate go for it! I've been on the cusp for a while but need a Guinea pig from the community to validate sweviver.

So entirely selfish motives!
Whodat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 11:20 AM   #10
Thick8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 763
Default

I call dibs on it when you upgrade!
__________________
Asus ROG C6H | AMD Ryzen 3600 @ 4.2Ghz | Gigabyte Aorus Waterforce WB 1080ti | 32Gb Crucial DDR4/3600 | 2Tb Intel NVMe drive | Samsung Odyssey+ VR | Thrustmaster Warthog | Saitek pedals | Custom geothermal cooling loop with a homemade 40' copper heat exchanger 35' in the ground
Thick8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:01 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.