Pilot progression in dcs for a noob

ramtsi

I'm new to dcs, and a noob pilot. I have a bit of flying time from fsx but not with jets and especially not with fighters. Boy this is way harder than I thought.

So I got myself an Albatross and started practicing traffic patterns in hope that it will make me a better pilot. Need some guidance though about my future plans with dcs.

After managing basic piloting skills (level flight\level turning\landing etc)I'm planning on learning the following:

1. radio navigation.

2. Low level flight

3. Using weapons

4. Basic multiplayer (aka being shot down a lot)

5a. Maybe fancy myself a mig 15 or a 21

5b. WWII stuff

What do you guys think? Ill appreciate any tips\ideas\criticism.

Thanks a lot !!!

Instead of radio navigation, I'd suggest you look around in the maps we have and try to get some significant visual reference points for navigation. Why? Because sometimes the beacon is behind a hill or you can't get a signal at first. Then you'd have to navigate somewhere where you get a signal.

Also, you don't have to do PvP in multiplayer. There are also some Co-op servers out there, so you won't get shot down as much as in PvP servers.

Until ED implements the new damage model, I'd wait with getting any WWII stuff. You can try out the TF-51. If you like that one, maybe make an approach. But don't expect much, since there aren't many multiplayer servers around with WWII planeset, and few people flying WWII equipment online right now.

• ED Team
I'm new to dcs, and a noob pilot. I have a bit of flying time from fsx but not with jets and especially not with fighters. Boy this is way harder than I thought.

So I got myself an Albatross and started practicing traffic patterns in hope that it will make me a better pilot. Need some guidance though about my future plans with dcs.

After managing basic piloting skills (level flight\level turning\landing etc)I'm planning on learning the following:

1. radio navigation.