Kneeboard Builder (windows app) - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2014, 05:05 AM   #41
eyusuf
Member
 
eyusuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg
Posts: 165
Reputation power: 0
eyusuf can only hope to improve
Default

I'm having probs running the programme. Any help appreciated Grizzly

Initially ver 1.3 even allowed me to import a pdf. But wont allow me to import any more pdf's after that. Ver 1.4 crashes on startup.

Any ideas.
eyusuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 05:11 AM   #42
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 348
Reputation power: 9
AlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
I'm having probs running the programme. Any help appreciated Grizzly

Initially ver 1.3 even allowed me to import a pdf. But wont allow me to import any more pdf's after that. Ver 1.4 crashes on startup.

Any ideas.
Do you have .NET 4.5 and Ghostscript installed? Is it showing you any errors when it crashes?
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 02:00 PM   #43
eyusuf
Member
 
eyusuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg
Posts: 165
Reputation power: 0
eyusuf can only hope to improve
Default

No errors that I can see. Just windows asking me if I want to report the crash.

Yes on Ghostscript (incidentally I tried installing it to both Program files directory and then to the directory in which I had the kneeboard program - that didnt help).

As for .Net 4.5 it's reporting that I have a more recent version so it doesn't want to install that one.

p.s. just checked the versions - looks like 4.5 is not installed Ill try again.

Last edited by eyusuf; 09-13-2014 at 02:06 PM.
eyusuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 02:20 PM   #44
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 348
Reputation power: 9
AlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyusuf View Post
No errors that I can see. Just windows asking me if I want to report the crash.

Yes on Ghostscript (incidentally I tried installing it to both Program files directory and then to the directory in which I had the kneeboard program - that didnt help).

As for .Net 4.5 it's reporting that I have a more recent version so it doesn't want to install that one.
Did you upgrade to version 1.3 from 1.2.1 when you started having problems, or was version 1.3 your original installation?

Have you tried a fresh download of the most current version? Here is the link:

Kneeboard Builder Version 1.4
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 02:38 PM   #45
eyusuf
Member
 
eyusuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg
Posts: 165
Reputation power: 0
eyusuf can only hope to improve
Default

.net is definately broken

I tried fixing it by using the supplied program from windows ... but it looks like the gremlins have got hold of my computer again.

How else could the program work once and then break.

A thousand curses on them gromlins ... ;-)

p.s. under framework64 folder in windows Ive got the ff versions

1025
v2.0.50727
v3.0
v3.5
v4.0.30319

Curiously windows 7 is reporting that ive already got 4.5 installed ...

Last edited by eyusuf; 09-13-2014 at 02:43 PM.
eyusuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 02:51 PM   #46
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 348
Reputation power: 9
AlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyusuf View Post
.net is definately broken

I tried fixing it by using the supplied program from windows ... but it looks like the gremlins have got hold of my computer again.

How else could the program work once and then break.

A thousand curses on them gromlins ... ;-)

p.s. under framework64 folder in windows Ive got the ff versions

1025
v2.0.50727
v3.0
v3.5
v4.0.30319

Curiously windows 7 is reporting that ive already got 4.5 installed ...
Take a look at this blog post about repairing or reinstalling the .NET Framework.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/astebner/arc...7/8108332.aspx

Here is a youtube link as well showing some steps from that blog:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wf8YTe_4HQ0


EDIT:
Also try running the updater.exe in the Kneeboard Builder program directory to repair any corrupt or missing files in your installation, just in case it is a problem with the program.

Last edited by AlaskanGrizzly; 09-13-2014 at 03:15 PM.
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 03:28 PM   #47
eyusuf
Member
 
eyusuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg
Posts: 165
Reputation power: 0
eyusuf can only hope to improve
Default

Ok the latest version of kneeboard is now running without cashing ...

But even though I installed ghostscript I still cant import a pdf - its called checklist.pdf

Does ghostscript run in the background?
eyusuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 03:51 PM   #48
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 348
Reputation power: 9
AlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the rough
Default

Ghostscript doesn't run in the background, I just use the .dlls to convert the .pdf files.

What does the program do when you try to import .pdf? Any windows popup?
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 04:06 PM   #49
eyusuf
Member
 
eyusuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg
Posts: 165
Reputation power: 0
eyusuf can only hope to improve
Default

where should I install the dlls? Perhaps its not seeing them?

the pdf file - I mouse click and drag it over the import window and it just shows a circle with a slash through it. Meaning I cant import it ... I suppose.
eyusuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 05:03 PM   #50
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 348
Reputation power: 9
AlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the rough
Default

Hmm... Does it do that for all .pdf files or just that one?

Is the file extension lower case (.pdf) or upper case (.PDF)?

Last edited by AlaskanGrizzly; 09-13-2014 at 05:12 PM.
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:32 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.