Guess what! Easy AAR! - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2020, 08:51 AM   #1
Gregkar
Junior Member
 
Gregkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 79
Default Guess what! Easy AAR!

I know it has been asked before but ED told me to reopen a new thread. I think we REALLY need an easy AAR option. It is easily the hardest part of DCS.

To those who will start raging: "This is a simulator!! not a game!!" i say: ask ED to remove easy comms, arcade flight model, active pause, immortal cheat, start airplane cheat, unlimited fuel, unlimited ammo, hide stick, auto align a/c to catapult etc...
__________________
Asus Z370-A | Intel i7 8700K @5.0GHz | Deepcool Maelstrom 120T Red | G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 3400 | EVGA 1080ti 11GB SC2 | Kingston A2000 250GB NVMe 250GB for Windows 10 64-bit Pro OS, | Samsung 840PRO 120GB SSD & WD HDD 1TB & WD HDD 500GB for program files | 3x LG 24" IPS monitors | Thrustmaster Warthog Stick | Thrustmaster FCS throttle and pedals | HP Reverb Pro, Oculus Rift CV1 (any many more stuff non flight sim related )
Gregkar is offline  
Old 05-27-2020, 09:02 AM   #2
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregkar View Post

To those who will start raging: "This is a simulator!! not a game!!" i say: ask ED to remove easy comms, arcade flight model, active pause, immortal cheat, start airplane cheat, unlimited fuel, unlimited ammo, hide stick, auto align a/c to catapult etc...
Nah mate, just quote the product description and you're good.
razo+r is offline  
Old 05-27-2020, 04:28 PM   #3
Kang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,514
Default

I'll bite and just ask: what would you envision it to work like? AAR autopilot? Fuel state going up in close proximity to tanker?
Kang is offline  
Old 05-27-2020, 05:39 PM   #4
Stratos
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,139
Default

There is an option like that in Falcon 4, once you're close enough to the drogue and within certain contact parameters (is in the final meters IIRC) the AI connects and keep you there until refuelled. Maybe Gregkar is asking to something like this.
__________________
I don't understand anything in russian except Davai Davai!
Stratos is offline  
Old 05-27-2020, 09:34 PM   #5
Gregkar
Junior Member
 
Gregkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stratos View Post
There is an option like that in Falcon 4, once you're close enough to the drogue and within certain contact parameters (is in the final meters IIRC) the AI connects and keep you there until refuelled. Maybe Gregkar is asking to something like this.
Yes, Exactly this
__________________
Asus Z370-A | Intel i7 8700K @5.0GHz | Deepcool Maelstrom 120T Red | G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 3400 | EVGA 1080ti 11GB SC2 | Kingston A2000 250GB NVMe 250GB for Windows 10 64-bit Pro OS, | Samsung 840PRO 120GB SSD & WD HDD 1TB & WD HDD 500GB for program files | 3x LG 24" IPS monitors | Thrustmaster Warthog Stick | Thrustmaster FCS throttle and pedals | HP Reverb Pro, Oculus Rift CV1 (any many more stuff non flight sim related )
Gregkar is offline  
Old 05-27-2020, 09:13 PM   #6
strikers_blade
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 123
Default

Not to sound a prick but what is so difficult for you in AAR ? I mean, sure, if you are trying to do with a keyboard it might not be easy but if we go that route, what is next? being able to do everything with a console controller?
__________________
My systems:

Windows 10 64 bits
I7-8700k
32.0 GB RAM
500Gb SSD
Asus ROG 2080ti
HP Reverb

Windows 10 64 bits
I7-6820HQ CPU @ 2.70Ghz
32.0 GB RAM
500Gb SSD
Nvidia Quadro M4000M
TrackIR 5
strikers_blade is offline  
Old 05-27-2020, 09:37 PM   #7
Gregkar
Junior Member
 
Gregkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strikers_blade View Post
Not to sound a prick but what is so difficult for you in AAR ? I mean, sure, if you are trying to do with a keyboard it might not be easy but if we go that route, what is next? being able to do everything with a console controller?
I can connect, but not stay connected. And yes i get that it needs practice, but i don't have the time for it. Prefer to spend it on flying missions. And it would/could be an on-off option like all the others i mentioned. Someone who is better than me can just not enable it
__________________
Asus Z370-A | Intel i7 8700K @5.0GHz | Deepcool Maelstrom 120T Red | G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 3400 | EVGA 1080ti 11GB SC2 | Kingston A2000 250GB NVMe 250GB for Windows 10 64-bit Pro OS, | Samsung 840PRO 120GB SSD & WD HDD 1TB & WD HDD 500GB for program files | 3x LG 24" IPS monitors | Thrustmaster Warthog Stick | Thrustmaster FCS throttle and pedals | HP Reverb Pro, Oculus Rift CV1 (any many more stuff non flight sim related )
Gregkar is offline  
Old 05-27-2020, 09:48 PM   #8
Hawkeye_UK
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 342
Default

We already have easy air to air refuelling!!

No probe damage (would be good if they actually snapped off etc along with next point)

No tanker basket or boom damage

No oscillation of the drogue pipe whipping back.

No real sudden turbulence modelling or realistic weather effects re sudden changes.

No line up procedure.

Probe sometimes magic's into the basket from the side.

No comm's (as in what you would normally expect with the tanker).

Ability to put user curves in.

Ok so that's why its easy - what i would say is practice practice and pracitice, its like riding a bike there is just a feel to it. Key is getting trim and speed right and making slow adjustments.

I would state for air to air refuelling quality of hardware does matter quite a bit also re input.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------

DCS | F14B | AV-8B | F18C | F16C | A10C | JF17 | Viggen | L-39 | MIG 15 | SU27 | SU33 | F15 | MI8 | Huey | KA50 | P47 | Spitfire | CA | Persian Gulf | Nevada | Normandy | Channel

Liquid Cooled i7 9700K @ 5Ghz & OC RTX2080 Ti Ultra | 64GB DDR4 3200 MHz | 500GB SSD m2 | Oculus Rift S | TM Warthog | Virpil Warbrd Base | Saitek Side Panel | Steel Series Arctis 7 Heaphones
Hawkeye_UK is offline  
Old 05-28-2020, 01:16 PM   #9
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye_UK View Post
We already have easy air to air refuelling!!

No probe damage (would be good if they actually snapped off etc along with next point)

No tanker basket or boom damage

No oscillation of the drogue pipe whipping back.

No real sudden turbulence modelling or realistic weather effects re sudden changes.

No line up procedure.

Probe sometimes magic's into the basket from the side.

No comm's (as in what you would normally expect with the tanker).

Ability to put user curves in.

Ok so that's why its easy - what i would say is practice practice and pracitice, its like riding a bike there is just a feel to it. Key is getting trim and speed right and making slow adjustments.

I would state for air to air refuelling quality of hardware does matter quite a bit also re input.
Be very very careful from what you are whining.....

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DCS SUPER TANKER.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	237527  
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline  
Old 06-02-2020, 11:34 PM   #10
Hawkeye_UK
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fri13 View Post
Be very very careful from what you are whining.....

Haha brilliant - I'd also said about this already oddly enough re the next module would be DCS Super Tanker - great artwork though and good fun lol !
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------

DCS | F14B | AV-8B | F18C | F16C | A10C | JF17 | Viggen | L-39 | MIG 15 | SU27 | SU33 | F15 | MI8 | Huey | KA50 | P47 | Spitfire | CA | Persian Gulf | Nevada | Normandy | Channel

Liquid Cooled i7 9700K @ 5Ghz & OC RTX2080 Ti Ultra | 64GB DDR4 3200 MHz | 500GB SSD m2 | Oculus Rift S | TM Warthog | Virpil Warbrd Base | Saitek Side Panel | Steel Series Arctis 7 Heaphones
Hawkeye_UK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:39 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.