Combined Gauge Variometer Usage

Leviathan667

Hello,

I am new to the L-39C. I am learning to use the instruments and I need help in understanding how to make good use of the parts I circled in yellow and green on the variometer screenshot below?

Thanks

0D080AAB-E7A9-4E10-B265-933B1D8A0F26.thumb.jpeg.00dfebe7f510dd337ab6c76825f12c81.jpeg

Wishlist: Tornado ADV/IDS, Blackburn Buccaneer, Super Mystère B2, Saab J 35 Draken,

The yellow circled aspect is a heading gyroscopic rate of change indicator. There is a difference between yaw and heading rates because the wings aren't always level. You can tell I guess by rolling 90 degrees and pulling and seeing if the needle moves or not. If it does its heading if it doesn't it's yaw.

In any case the markings are a sort of indirect bank indication. It doesn't actually show bank but it shows a gyroscopic rate which may be correlated with one under certain conditions. The correlation isn't perfect for example if you jam on the rudder in level flight to yaw the nose you generate a heading rate which will move the needle even if the airplane remains zero bank throughout.

But in coordinated flight the heading rate is indicative of a particular bank angle at a certain speed. This explains why there is a printed 350 km/h. That's where the indicated bank should equal the actual bank given a coordinated turn. If you are going faster than 350 km/h then for every bank marking you are actually at a larger bank than shown because it takes more bank at higher speed to get the same heading rate. Conversely when less than 350 actual bank is less than shown. Naturally these speeds are true airspeed.

You may ask why have a bank instrument when you have a perfectly good AGD-1 attitude indicator? It's a backup in case the AGD fails.