Shading issues / lighting - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2017, 12:37 AM   #1
FOXFIRE TWOONE
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 645
Default Shading issues / lighting

Update 2.1.05677 is really jacked. All a/c and external views look like the screenshot below.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_170526_202225.jpg
Views:	626
Size:	271.1 KB
ID:	162786  
__________________
Intel core I7 4790K 4.0 ghz
Fatality Z97X Killer 3.1
G-SKill Trident X 32GB
Cooler Master 120m
GTX 980 Superclocked
Corsair AX850w psu
Samsung 850 ssd x 2
Sony 48 in HD TV
Trackir 5
Hotas Warthog
Windows 10 64

Last edited by BIGNEWY; 05-27-2017 at 05:50 PM. Reason: TITLE more descriptive
FOXFIRE TWOONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 12:45 AM   #2
Krippz
Senior Member
 
Krippz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOXFIRE TWOONE View Post
Update 2.1.05677 is really jacked. All a/c and external views look like the screenshot below.
2.1 is in beta so they are actively iterating on it. So be patient while they address issues.
__________________

64th "Scorpions" Aggressor Squadron
Discord: 64th Aggressor Squadron
TS: 195.201.110.22
Krippz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 12:45 AM   #3
joey45
Veteran
 
joey45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 10,664
Default

Try Deferred Shading off
__________________
General 3D modeling thread and reference sites
UK liveries for planes, ships and MODS.
The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.
"Me, the 13th Duke of Wybourne, here on the ED forums at 3 'o' clock in the morning, with my reputation. Are they mad.."
Please send all hate mail to No11
Updates to my stuff are now going here
joey45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 01:45 AM   #4
FOXFIRE TWOONE
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joey45 View Post
Try Deferred Shading off
Shading did the trick for cockpit, but scenery still looks washed out.

Thanks
__________________
Intel core I7 4790K 4.0 ghz
Fatality Z97X Killer 3.1
G-SKill Trident X 32GB
Cooler Master 120m
GTX 980 Superclocked
Corsair AX850w psu
Samsung 850 ssd x 2
Sony 48 in HD TV
Trackir 5
Hotas Warthog
Windows 10 64
FOXFIRE TWOONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 05:46 PM   #5
Nutrition
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Default

I'm experiencing a bit of what you describe and more. With Deferred Shading On, everything is washed out, as if the Gamma is off. With Deferred Shading On, the gamma looks about right, but aircraft shadows are distinctly dark Blue. I've been primarily checking it out using the UH-1 Free Flight quick mission. Shadows of buildings are light Blue. There seems to be some textures missing too. For example, the UH-1 no longer has bug splatter on the windscreen. Things seem much more shimmery now then they did before. GPU is GTX 1070, latest drivers.

Last edited by Nutrition; 05-27-2017 at 05:51 PM.
Nutrition is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 06:34 PM   #6
escaner
Member
 
escaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Earth
Posts: 657
Default

I agree.
With deferred shading on, in NTTR all seems washed out.
With deferred shading off, in NTTR shadows are bluish (see attachment)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_170527_110531.jpg
Views:	406
Size:	627.3 KB
ID:	162946  
__________________
escaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 06:54 PM   #7
Cradle
Junior Member
 
Cradle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 39
Default

my 2.1 looked ok in cockpits first couple of test flights in both the gazelle and ka-50 but after some tweaking with graphich settings (in game not card/windows) the game restarted itself and after that my cockpits look as the first pic in this post.. really wierd. its like you just randomly changed the saturations of Everything.. and for the landscape; at first it looked better but pretty dull and gray. the pics here in the "sell" depertement look really colorful and lively. not so in my end. its like Everythings washed out.
im glad i still got 1.5 and the Mirage campain to play with coz Nevada and normany is a no go until its fixed... sigh
__________________
-----
My life as a child did not prepare me for the fact that the world is full of cruel and bitter things.
-Robert Oppenheimer, 1904-1967

TM Warthog Hotas, TM Rudder, Track IR 5
Next Level GT Ultimate V2 Gaming Chair Racing Simulator Cockpit
43" Screen
Cradle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 07:11 PM   #8
BlackLion213
Senior Member
 
BlackLion213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Fransciso Bay Area
Posts: 1,530
Default

I have been checking things out in both NTTR and Normandy. The new lighting seems to wash everything out for about 60 seconds then things settle down and look much better than before.

I am not sure why it starts off so bright and lacking contrast, but things change dramatically after about 60 seconds.

With the new lighting, NTTR looks much more real in the daytime with the kind of bright sunlight that I see in the real world (especially here in California or Nevada).

But you definitely need to let things sit for a moment. At first I though it was the contrast between the dark loading screen and bright sim causing my pupils to constrict. But it definitely is not my eyes.

I'll try to post some screenshots of the change, but it might be worthwhile to fire things up and let the scene evolve for a minute or two. Things will look very different.

-Nick
BlackLion213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 07:25 PM   #9
GeneralDynamics
Member
 
GeneralDynamics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northwest Arkansas
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cradle View Post
im glad i still got 1.5 and the Mirage campain to play with coz Nevada and normany is a no go until its fixed... sigh
Hi Cradle - no need to wait until DCSW 2.1 gets fixed to fly NTTR. If you want, you should be able to revert back to the DCSW 2.0.5 version while waiting for subsequent updates for 2.1 by following the instructions here:

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=114030

Scroll down until you see the section titled "Updating or Reverting DCS World to the latest build of a Specific Version". There you will find instructions on how to use the DCS Updater command line interface to specify the DCSW 2.0.5 version for the "update".
__________________
System Specs:
Spoiler:
Win 10 x64 Pro, ASUS Maximus X Formula, i7-8700K @ 4.7 GHz, 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200 MHz, NZXT Kraken X62 AIO Cooler, Titan X Pascal GPU, EVGA Supernova 1000W P2 PSU, C: 1TB Samsung 960 Pro m.2 PCIe SSD, D: 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SATA SSD, HT Omega Claro PCIe 7.1 Sound, Denon AVR-1709 7.1 Receiver, 46" Sharp Aquos Quattron Main Screen, 27" Acer T272HL TouchScreen + Helios + Loz's SM 2.1 Profile, TrackIR 5, ThrustMaster HOTAS Warthog, Crosswinds pedals

Last edited by GeneralDynamics; 05-27-2017 at 07:35 PM.
GeneralDynamics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 07:33 PM   #10
GeneralDynamics
Member
 
GeneralDynamics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northwest Arkansas
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackLion213 View Post
I have been checking things out in both NTTR and Normandy. The new lighting seems to wash everything out for about 60 seconds then things settle down and look much better than before.
Hey Nick - what NTTR mission were you flying when you saw this occur? I was doing the new "Free Flight" quick mission in the A-10C and flew all the way back to Nellis, much longer than 60 seconds, but I didn't see any difference? Thanks...
__________________
System Specs:
Spoiler:
Win 10 x64 Pro, ASUS Maximus X Formula, i7-8700K @ 4.7 GHz, 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200 MHz, NZXT Kraken X62 AIO Cooler, Titan X Pascal GPU, EVGA Supernova 1000W P2 PSU, C: 1TB Samsung 960 Pro m.2 PCIe SSD, D: 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SATA SSD, HT Omega Claro PCIe 7.1 Sound, Denon AVR-1709 7.1 Receiver, 46" Sharp Aquos Quattron Main Screen, 27" Acer T272HL TouchScreen + Helios + Loz's SM 2.1 Profile, TrackIR 5, ThrustMaster HOTAS Warthog, Crosswinds pedals
GeneralDynamics is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:41 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.