How do I use the speedbrake? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2019, 05:10 AM   #11
Dagger71
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svsmokey View Post
The singular point here is that it takes 3-4 seconds to fully extend the speedbrake and the switch must be held until the speed brake is fully extended . DCS models the airflow sound so you can hear when it is fully extended .
As previously noted , the speedbrake will fully retact with only a momentary switch press .



It will also retract with flaps at auto, under other circumstances.
Dagger71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 05:10 AM   #12
Dagger71
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrz View Post
To avoid any confusion, it's the other way round.
Half = take off
Full = landing



Yes. that is correct. I Did not put in the right order.
Dagger71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 07:47 AM   #13
SnapRoll
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 76
Default

Are you using the TARGET software? Your problem might be that your key command is a "pulse" instead of "hold". You need to depress your button until the speed brake is deployed. A "pulse" would only press your button for a few milliseconds. You would not see the difference in the controller setup page in DCS, as even a pulse would just highlight it.


Also be aware that when your gears are out your speed bake auto retracts. when you release the button.


I would first test the behavior with your keyboard...
SnapRoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 12:20 PM   #14
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svsmokey View Post
The singular point here is that it takes 3-4 seconds to fully extend the speedbrake and the switch must be held until the speed brake is fully extended . DCS models the airflow sound so you can hear when it is fully extended .
As previously noted , the speedbrake will fully retact with only a momentary switch press .
Yep that is the way it works for me.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.1 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF Pro MCG Pro| EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S | Oculus Quest |
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 04:27 PM   #15
Preendog
Member
 
Preendog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 141
Default

Also note that taking off with auto flaps will screw up your pitch trim.
Preendog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 05:29 PM   #16
Greyman
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 705
Default

make sure that you don't have game avionics set in the MISC tab, as that will probably result in you changing one profile, when your aircraft is using a different one.
Greyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 06:34 PM   #17
Crunchy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 291
Default

Great thanks for all the help. I have it working now. Didn't know the speed brake retracts when your gear is down though. Isn't that a bit silly because I always used to land the A10C with the speed brake deployed and the gear down. I felt having the speed brake deployed really helped with landing the A10C.
Crunchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 09:12 PM   #18
Brun
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London Town
Posts: 281
Default

Presumably it's because the Hornet's gear itself is very draggy. Additional air resistance is unnecessary.

As far as I'm aware you can still extend the airbrake with the gear down, but it requires holding the switch in the aft position.
Brun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 11:07 PM   #19
KTFBGB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Arizona
Posts: 343
Default

If you are flying on speed AOA during approach, which you are supposed to do, you don’t need the air brake since you are barely above stall speed
KTFBGB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 01:18 AM   #20
majapahit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preendog View Post
Also note that taking off with auto flaps will screw up your pitch trim.
FA18C seems to be designed to keep autoflap On when taking off, since you're supposed to hit sustained speeds > 250 kts, 350kts for ferry and higher for altitude cruise, your pitch change is less in Auto than in - early - manual
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crunchy View Post
.. Didn't know the speed brake retracts when your gear is down though. Isn't that a bit silly because I always used to land the A10C with the speed brake deployed and the gear down. I felt having the speed brake deployed really helped with landing the A10C.
Not flying like Airforce but like NAVY, you take shortcuts in the pattern which (often enough) means you correct your speed, when gears down, with additional holding of the speedbrake button, nothing wrong with that, the brake auto retract rather a safety design feature I'd guess, try landing fully loaded up (in a crosswind) and notice what happens with your speedbrake out when you cannot know your precise stall speed ..
__________________
Spoiler:
Autopilot panel | Headtracker | TM HOTAS | G920 HOTAS | MS FFB 2 | Throttle Quadrants | 8600K | GTX 1080 | 32GB RAM| Win 10 x64 | Voicerecognition | 40" 1080p TV | 2x 24" 1080p side monitors | 24" 1080p touchscreen | VR googles
majapahit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.