X52 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2019, 03:04 PM   #1
williehayesjr
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 206
Default X52

I have the X52 HOTAS. I want the zoom feature to be linked to the Throttle's zoom slider. What is the best/easiest way to link the two--should it be done with Saitek software or inside of DCS F18 programmable buttons. I am tire of using the keyboard "/" and "*."
williehayesjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 03:16 PM   #2
Nomad81
Junior Member
 
Nomad81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Idaho, USA
Posts: 6
Default

Do it in dcs under the axis assignments, I would suggest not using the saitek software at all for binding assignments. I would give a word of warning though, I also own the X52 and the sensors are very jittery. You may get unwanted zooming in and out when the slider is physically stationary because the sensors usually do not stay stationary very well (they constantly move unless you find a sweet spot). This of course could just be my unit, perhaps you will get better results.
Nomad81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 01:10 PM   #3
NahkaSukka
Member
 
NahkaSukka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kuopio, Finland
Posts: 142
Default

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...64&postcount=7

This did the trick for me when i used X52. No more jittering
NahkaSukka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 01:13 AM   #4
PhiMX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Hi, I would like to pick the thread up from here for a similar problem:


I use the x52 with a VR setup and VR does not have a continous zoom but a

two-step zoom called vr zoom and vr spyglass zoom. Its meant to be used with two different buttons, but I would like to put the functionality to the slider on the throttle.


I tried to do it in saitek software assigning nothing from 0-33%, from 34 to 66% I picked an unused keyboard command like Rctrl+Num6 and from 67-100% i used Rctrl+Num7. (Assuming that the saitek software would push and hold the selected keys as long as the slider was in the selected position.. I am not so sure about that)



Then in DCS, I assigned the zoom to Num6, modifier Rctrl and the spyglass zoom to Num7, modifier Rctrl


This did not work, maybe I misunderstood something. How would you do it?
PhiMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 12:31 PM   #5
falopa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NahkaSukka View Post
https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...64&postcount=7

This did the trick for me when i used X52. No more jittering
thanks you for this solution, it's a quick alternative!
falopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:18 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.