Air to Ground radar? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2019, 09:09 AM   #11
falcon_120
Senior Member
 
falcon_120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Barcelona,Spain
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathAngel1 View Post
AG radar is one of prior systems of any fighter/attack aircraft, like our Hornet. But i don't know why we don't have it yet...I hope that will happen soon.
Actually I'm not so sure about that. Granted that is a primary system for air to sea operations and weapons employment, but I'm not so sure it is really used by the hornet for A2G in any recent war scenario. I think it is the TGP the primary system and by a wide margin.

For other platforms with high resolution SAR modes (AESA radars for example), like the F15E or the new JSF, this might be different, and much more used, but i'm quite skeptical about the capacities in this regard of fighters like the F16 or the F18, not becayse they dont have DBS modes and GMT, but just because the resolution at range is not good enough nor the precision, compared with last generation TGPs available. However this is just a feeling and i could be proved wrong by any SME.





Enviado desde mi SM-G950F mediante Tapatalk
falcon_120 is offline  
Old 09-12-2019, 11:10 AM   #12
Gierasimov
Senior Member
 
Gierasimov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Undisclosed NATO country
Posts: 1,116
Lightbulb True and valid

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon_120 View Post
(...) i'm quite skeptical about the capacities in this regard of fighters like the F16 or the F18, not becayse they dont have DBS modes and GMT, but just because the resolution at range is not good enough nor the precision, compared with last generation TGPs available.(..)
Image posted re-posted by QuiGon proves exactly this.

In my personal opinion, I think A/G radar will be the last feature we will see for Hornet from the long list of things yet to come.
Gierasimov is offline  
Old 09-12-2019, 12:24 PM   #13
Harker
Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 938
Default

Indeed, Hornet pilots rarely use the A/G for anything other than employing Harpoons. But it can be useful, especially in GMT, since it can show you the location of moving units and then you can slave the TGP to it and get a better picture. Indeed though, I can definitely wait for it and IMO, the A/A radar modes are far more important.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline  
Old 09-12-2019, 01:21 PM   #14
Peter22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weasel View Post
ED confirmed several time that new modules won't disturb the developement of the hornet. The engineers are still hard working to finish the hornet. Please note that not all engineers are working on the hornet, so it makes sense that they moved to other projects
Thats technically impossible...there is no way you can start-developing something if you have NOT finished the previous project ...
__________________
My Rig:I7 4790K OC to 4.5 GHz .Memory ram 16GB 64 Bit MOB Asus Maximus hero VII Nvidia 980 4GB Asus Monitor 4K at 3840x2160 Windos 10 on SDD and DCS on separate SSD drive. Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog CH pro pedals
Peter22 is offline  
Old 09-12-2019, 01:30 PM   #15
Gierasimov
Senior Member
 
Gierasimov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Undisclosed NATO country
Posts: 1,116
Question What's this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter22 View Post
Thats technically impossible...there is no way you can start-developing something if you have NOT finished the previous project ...

Are you for real or just for fun?
Gierasimov is offline  
Old 09-12-2019, 01:38 PM   #16
Harker
Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter22 View Post
Thats technically impossible...there is no way you can start-developing something if you have NOT finished the previous project ...
Depends. I imagine that a 3D artist's job is finished after they develop the 3D model and so they can work on a new project, while the people working in avionics development catch up later. I won't pretend to know if something like the INS and the Datalink require very different sets of skills to develop, but it could be that they do and certain developers might be more efficient if working on certain types of systems and then do the same job for another project. I'm like that, for example. I'm a nuclear engineer and I can design a core to your specifications, give you its performance, expected experimental capabilities, you name it. But if you want to see what happens to a fuel pin in the event of a power surge, I'm totally useless. I do expect that the truth is somewhere in between and as long as good progress is made on the Hornet, I do not mind. Also, these jets have lots of similar systems and progress in one will likely assist the other.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline  
Old 09-12-2019, 01:55 PM   #17
Guppy
Member
 
Guppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter22 View Post
Thats technically impossible...there is no way you can start-developing something if you have NOT finished the previous project ...
IT Development Director here... You can have resources pivot from one project to another as their workload on "project 1" begins to slow and "project 2" begins to ramp up. It is feasible and happens in literally any company that has any sort of coding/development work taking place. Further, it is possible to HIRE additional staff to work on two different projects.

Such a silly comment.

Last edited by Guppy; 09-12-2019 at 01:59 PM.
Guppy is offline  
Old 09-12-2019, 01:59 PM   #18
CarbonFox
Member
 
CarbonFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 210
Default

I'm assuming the SLAM and SLAM-ER will rely more on using waypoints and coordinates much like the JSOW as opposed to the A-G radar?
CarbonFox is offline  
Old 09-12-2019, 02:17 PM   #19
Nagilem
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 308
Default

While I don't think the AG radar will be used to target weapons much (not that it won't but the pod will likely take precedence), I think its primary purpose (which is badly needed) is locating targets - especially moving targets. Using that to get a sense of the battlespace, and as a way to move the target pod or missile focus into place will be a final key block to the larger AG mission. It's in the jet for a reason.
__________________
Specs: I9-9900k; ROG Strix RTX 2080ti; Valve Index HMD; 32GB DDR4 3200 Ram; Samsung 970 EVO 1TB SSD; TM Warthog with pedals, 3 TM MFDs
Nagilem is offline  
Old 09-12-2019, 04:05 PM   #20
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 4,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon_120 View Post
Actually I'm not so sure about that. Granted that is a primary system for air to sea operations and weapons employment, but I'm not so sure it is really used by the hornet for A2G in any recent war scenario. I think it is the TGP the primary system and by a wide margin.

For other platforms with high resolution SAR modes (AESA radars for example), like the F15E or the new JSF, this might be different, and much more used, but i'm quite skeptical about the capacities in this regard of fighters like the F16 or the F18, not becayse they dont have DBS modes and GMT, but just because the resolution at range is not good enough nor the precision, compared with last generation TGPs available. However this is just a feeling and i could be proved wrong by any SME.

Enviado desde mi SM-G950F mediante Tapatalk
It really depends on what scenario you are talking about. And yes A/G ground radar was used in pretty much every "war" scenario that involved that thing called "weather". TPODS that see in the vis spectrum and in the IR spectrum very well. Of course older TPOD's were also much more limited in that regard than the TPOD's we see on the hornet, and in many ways its probably over-modeled in some regards. A/G radar has the benefit of being able to see through cloud cover and sand storms, which was a major factor in operation Allied Force, DS1, OIF and so forth. It is a very different tool than a TPOD however.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:29 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.