Wind SPEEDS reported by tower differ from ME - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2019, 03:49 PM   #1
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,985
Default Wind SPEEDS reported by tower differ from ME

Just noticed that wind SPEEDS reported by the tower are roughly 1.6x the speed set in the ME and recorded in the Briefing. This is true in both OB and Release.






Similarly a ME speed of 15m/s is reported as 25m/s.

So, is the wind experienced in the sim the ME speed or the reported speed?

Also, anyone else seeing this or am I just special?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190703_103214.png
Views:	102
Size:	649.1 KB
ID:	213099   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190703_103258.png
Views:	107
Size:	403.4 KB
ID:	213100  
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 04:35 PM   #2
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironhand View Post
Just noticed that wind SPEEDS reported by the tower are roughly 1.6x the speed set in the ME and recorded in the Briefing. This is true in both OB and Release.
...

...

Also, anyone else seeing this or am I just special?
Nevermind. Seems I'm just extremely special in terms of cranial functioning. I overlooked the fact that winds in the ME are ASL. So if you're landing on a runway that's 525 m above sea level, you'll be a lot closer to the ME 500 m windspeed than the 10 meter windspeed when landing.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 05:59 PM   #3
AMVI_Groove
Member
 
AMVI_Groove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 100
Default

ME wind setting are MSL.
And in my opinion, all these settings should be reviewed from scratch.
AMVI_Groove is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:21 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.