Troops embark broken... Again? - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2019, 09:13 PM   #41
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 9,878
Default

Scripting is working fine, but the game should and does offer a non-scripted functionality and I expect it to work.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 10:49 PM   #42
Hardcard
Member
 
Hardcard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
Scripting is working fine, but the game should and does offer a non-scripted functionality and I expect it to work.
Well, in the meantime you can use transport scripts, it's all I'm saying
Hardcard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 01:01 PM   #43
Ironwulf
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcard View Post
Well, in the meantime you can use transport scripts, it's all I'm saying
Sure, I think however the point is if we keep working around it and not pushing for it to get fixed, it will never get fixed.
Ironwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 09:30 PM   #44
Whisper
Member
 
Whisper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcard View Post
Well, in the meantime you can use transport scripts, it's all I'm saying
That doesn't allow for simulating weight of transported troops, unfortunately.

Transport chopper's main task is.... let's take a wild guess.... transport.

2 of 4 choppers in DCS are transport chopper.
ED is simply making half of their sold helicopter products useless , this is unacceptable, if you ask me.
But since there are excellent community people (and I thank them million times for this, they are the litteral saviors of 2 DCS modules) that give us the tools to get around this HUGE (and longstanding, I can't remember the last time I could use DCS internal transportation system ) missing feature, ED gets away with it.

Sorry ED, but that's unacceptable, and has been for years. Shame.
That's exactly the kind of things that make me saying DCS will never be a complete product and will never be able to compete versus others that understand what "complete" means....

If I'm not too mistaken, I've already told my sentiment on this topic a while ago. Let's face it, ED doesn't care about this side of their issues.
__________________
Whisper of old OFP & C6 forums, now Kalbuth.
Specs : i7 6700K / MSI 1070 / 16G RAM / SSD / Rift / Virpil MongooseT50 with X55 Throttle / MFG Crosswind.
DCS fanboi - Only missing Hawk & Viggen

Last edited by Whisper; 05-18-2019 at 09:35 PM.
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 12:13 PM   #45
Hardcard
Member
 
Hardcard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whisper View Post
That doesn't allow for simulating weight of transported troops, unfortunately.
If by that you mean making the Mi-8 more sluggish as cargo is added, then sure, it's a bummer.

But if you mean limiting cargo/troop capacity based on weight values, that can be done.


Unfortunately, I don't think these problems will be fixed any time soon, which is why I mentioned scripts.


PS: Scripts are simply the community's reaction to already existing problems, not the source of those problems.
I mean, I don't think ED & co refuse to fix problems simply because there are scripts out there that solve those problems. I think it's more complicated than that.

Last edited by Hardcard; 05-20-2019 at 12:20 PM.
Hardcard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 07:35 PM   #46
Whisper
Member
 
Whisper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcard View Post
If by that you mean making the Mi-8 more sluggish as cargo is added, then sure, it's a bummer.
Yes, that's what I meant.

Quote:
But if you mean limiting cargo/troop capacity based on weight values, that can be done.


Unfortunately, I don't think these problems will be fixed any time soon, which is why I mentioned scripts.


PS: Scripts are simply the community's reaction to already existing problems, not the source of those problems.
I mean, I don't think ED & co refuse to fix problems simply because there are scripts out there that solve those problems. I think it's more complicated than that.
I never said scripting solutions are the source of the problem. Again, I can't thank Ciribob & others enough for all the job they do to make DCS what it is.

The source of the problem is ED priorities. That kind of issues has clearly not seen any dedicated dev for long enough to still be there after years....
__________________
Whisper of old OFP & C6 forums, now Kalbuth.
Specs : i7 6700K / MSI 1070 / 16G RAM / SSD / Rift / Virpil MongooseT50 with X55 Throttle / MFG Crosswind.
DCS fanboi - Only missing Hawk & Viggen
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:14 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.