32GB RAM Recommended - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2018, 03:27 PM   #41
kdrum60
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alliance, Nebraska. USA
Posts: 76
Default

[QUOTE=I still think, RAM VRAM and gasoline cubic inches are impossible to substitute.[/QUOTE]

Good comparison!
__________________
Alienware X51 R2: i7-4790K CPU@4.40GHz: 16GB RAM: Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB: ASUS GTX 1660TI: Dell U3417W, 3440 x 1440:Thrust Master WartHog: Saitek Rudder Pedals: TrackIR 5: Volair Sim Cockpit. IRL Maintainer of the AT-38B: F-4E/G: F-15A/B/C/D. I drive trains now (yawn).
kdrum60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 04:50 AM   #42
inexus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 22
Default

after reading all these comments still can't see anybody who definitively can say if 32gb is worth it.

I can see stutter from loading in textures, etc. perhaps it's because of the page file. I don't see DCS take above 10gb on my machine.
inexus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 07:24 AM   #43
draconus
Senior Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,680
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inexus View Post
after reading all these comments still can't see anybody who definitively can say if 32gb is worth it.

I can see stutter from loading in textures, etc. perhaps it's because of the page file. I don't see DCS take above 10gb on my machine.
Because it depends on your vram, settings (textures, c.traffic, v.range, p.radius), map and mission. In MP and/or heavy missions there are many modules and units which have to be loaded easily taking over 20GB of RAM. So if you usually see 10 that's OK... for you.
__________________
G4560/16GB/GTX970/SSD/Win7.64, 22"FullHD, T16000M HOTAS, customTiR
NTTR, FC3, F-14B
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 01:03 PM   #44
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 6,168
Default

Here's a good read: https://www.tomshardware.com/opinion...-is-my-minimum

The important part is the 2 vs 4 rank config, especially for AMD Ryzen machines as stated in more than this article.

Maybe you need to cross-read other articles touching this rather mathematical topic with Ranks, bus width and how that all works together.

I would not build a machine for DCS with 16GB, that is my strong believe
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 02:13 AM   #45
JIMJAM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 229
Default

My 2 cents..... My nephew who is a hardcore gamer who builds his own computers just hooked me up with very fast 32 gig of ram and then he overclocked and tweaked it. TBO running performance test and on paper its a lot faster. But if I did not pay for it and see him do it I would have never known. I see no difference other than a placebo effect and knowing I have it. That goes for DCS and all my other games and overall surfing the net.
JIMJAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 05:46 AM   #46
Oceandar
Senior Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Probably would make you smirking
Posts: 1,175
Default

32Gb RAM help in loading time and reduce or potentially remove the stuttering particularly in MP where lot of units AI's or human players. .For FPS performance maybe very little difference like 1 or 2.
__________________
Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power. - Lao Tze
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.