The KA-50 in VR is superb!

Mule

I have been flying this great sim for many years but this in VR it's just on another level. To be actually sitting in a cockpit so familiar and being able to control it so well is just fantastic.

If you get the opportunity to try it I guarantee it will blow your socks off. It's like a new sim again and I really mean that. It's like the first time you tried it or the first time you tried Track IR but even better.

I installed the HD Black Shark mod and this really enhances the visuals within the pit itself. VR is not as high resolution or crisp as your monitor. I can read all the dials without any problems but that sharpness you get is not there. However, all that pails into insignificance because sitting there in that huge cockpit and it is big is simply simulation heaven.

• Like 1

Yup the immersion is superb. I wouldn't want to go back to using a monitor :)

Spoiler

Ryzen 9 5900X | 64GB G.Skill TridentZ 3600 | Gigabyte RX6900XT | ASUS ROG Strix X570-E GAMING | Samsung 990Pro 2TB + 960Pro 1TB NMVe | HP Reverb G2
Pro Flight Trainer Puma | VIRPIL MT-50CM2+3 base / CM2 x2 grip with 200 mm S-curve extension + CM3 throttle + CP2/3 + FSSB R3L + VPC Rotor TCS Plus base with SharKa-50 grip mounted on Monstertech MFC-1 | TPR rudder pedals

OpenXR | PD 1.0 | 100% render resolution | DCS "HIGH" preset

I've been sitting on the fence with regards to VR. But maybe you'll enlighten me;

You've already answered one question; seems like the dials are readable now. Last I heard (A year and a half ago). That's a downside to VR.

Second question; which VR model did you get ?

Price ?

Third; I always got the nagging feeling that nobody 'lasts' long in VR. As in it's easier to sap the strength out of you. You'll get tired faster in VR. I've yet to see a livestreamer on VR that actually lasts more than an hour. How's that for you ?

Last; no indication of motion sickness ?