How to Takeoff in the Dora - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2014, 05:12 PM   #21
hakjar
Member
 
hakjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 333
Default

I crashed on my first 5 take off's but then I managed to get air born in a
wobbly way
Landing however I nailed a perfect 3 pointer on the first attempt
hakjar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 05:15 PM   #22
G00dnight
Member
 
G00dnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 22 Miles from France
Posts: 526
Default

My first 3 take offs were great...the best 3 seconds I had so far LOL.
__________________
AMD A8-5600K @ 4GHz, Radeon 7970 6Gig, 16 Gig Ram, Win 10 , 250 gig SSD, 40" Screen + 22 inch below, Track Ir, TMWH, Saitek combat pedals & a loose nut behind the stick
G00dnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 05:52 PM   #23
PLP
Junior Member
 
PLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 99
Default

If like me you need to prove to yourself it is doable, slow the time by a factor 2 and it becomes child's play...
PLP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 06:32 PM   #24
=FoReIgNeR=
Member
 
=FoReIgNeR='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 187
Default

Something which really helps me with take-off: (saitek pro flight) rudder curvature to +40 =)
=FoReIgNeR= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 06:46 PM   #25
super_baloo
Junior Member
 
super_baloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 63
Default

Here is my first dogfight and landing if we can call that a landing


Last edited by super_baloo; 08-18-2014 at 08:39 PM.
super_baloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 07:26 PM   #26
txmtb
Member
 
txmtb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 705
Default

I consider takeoff to be getting airborne, so I have nothing to contribute here.
__________________

Win 10 64 Pro, MSI Z87 I5-4670K @4.5 Water Cooled, 16Gb Corsair Dominator, 2X EVGA 970 SSC SLI, 512Gb SSD's, 2 TB HD Raid, , TM Warthog, Pro Rudders, OpenTrack w/ IR Clip
txmtb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 07:40 PM   #27
ophiuchus
Member
 
ophiuchus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: EU, PL
Posts: 174
Default

So... first takeoff a little wobbly but succesfull, first landing not so much, since I broke one wing, and messed up suspension. Second takeoff a lot better, second landing a lot worse: both wings clipped Anyway, I got used to imperial gauges and now I need to learn to remember correct values in km/h so I won't stall during landing in the future. Like it!
ophiuchus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 07:47 PM   #28
Eldur
Senior Member
 
Eldur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville
Posts: 1,556
Default

My first take off went rather well, though nearly not as good as it should be - but no damage at least. Didn't even have the usual problems taxiing (Pirouette-51D is a wholly different story, as well as any BoS plane). Lost one of my elevators in a dive at ~840-850km/h IAS at ~1500m and did a landing where I lost my left aileron, but nothing else. Had some problems with my flaps due to the unusual default mapping, Ctrl + F put them completely down instead of retracting them, so I didn't stay down there when I instinctly pulled back as I expected the flaps to be going up
Eldur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 08:57 PM   #29
flare2000x
Member
 
flare2000x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 296
Default

A picture is worth a thousand words . . .

Landing:



Takeoff:




I just went ahead and used the instant action for landing, then I taxied around and took off again. Almost landed short of the runway, I thought the red lights were on the runway, not before it!
__________________

DCS:WWII 1944 BACKER --- Fw. 190D-9 --- Bf. 109K-4 --- P-51D --- Spitfire!
Specs: Intel i7-3770 @3.9 Ghz - NVidia GTX 960 - 8GB RAM - OCz Vertex 240GB SSD - Toshiba 1TB HDD - Corsair CX 600M Power Supply - MSI B75MA-P45 MoBo - Defender Cobra M5
flare2000x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 09:01 PM   #30
Spasticatedtoad
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 187
Default Video for those who couldn't view my .trk file

As well as the Dora, I am forever grateful to Eagle Dynamics and Partnered Companies, for the ability to alter a Track file as I and many other do all the time.
It never cease's to amaze me, just how much you miss seeing when flying in cockpit view. And thanks to the Hard Work of the E.D and Partners, even poor flying can come out looking great with a little camera work. I just wish I was much better with the camera's

Thanks everyone.

Spasticatedtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:28 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.