New nVidia User - What Settings in Control Panel for DCS? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2018, 05:06 PM   #1
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,724
Default New nVidia User - What Settings in Control Panel for DCS?

OK guys, so I changed my PC, and for the first time since using DCS I am now using a nVidia GPU.
I have read somewhere that it is recommended to use FXAA in nVidia Control Panel rather than the MSAA in DCS. Is this correct? Bear i mind I am almost exclusively using VR.
Are there other nVidia specific settings I should be aware of?
Any help appreciated.
__________________
Intel i7 8700 4.8GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 500Gb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · TM Pedals · HTC Vive Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 06:42 PM   #2
fitness88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,934
Default

Most of the settings in Nvidia control panel don't work in VR.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 07:24 PM   #3
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,724
Default

Thanks for that. However, it's not a very helpful reply!
I would like to know from others which are useful settings in nVidia CP.
I know that FXAA has been mentioned several times. I'm sure there must be other little tips. Doesn't have to be VR related.
__________________
Intel i7 8700 4.8GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 500Gb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · TM Pedals · HTC Vive Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 08:22 PM   #4
eaglecash867
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 250
Default

I've tried playing around with settings in Nvidia control panel and so far haven't noticed a difference. I just reset mine back to defaults and pressed on.
__________________
ASRock Z370 Professional Gaming i7, Intel i7 8700K Coffee Lake processor @4.7GHz, Corsair H105 Liquid Cooler, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB DDR4 3400 memory, ZOTAC GTX1080Ti AMP Extreme 11GB video card, Samsung 840PRO 256MB SSD for Windows 10 64-bit OS, Samsung 850PRO 2TB SSD for program files, LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner. HOTAS Warthog, Saitek Pedals, and Oculus Rift CV1.
eaglecash867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 09:14 PM   #5
fitness88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,934
Default

Set graphics to max performance seems to work.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 11:55 PM   #6
Art-J+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,617
Default

2D screen user here. NVidia is simple - "thanks" to the deferred shading, most of NV panel settings don't work anywhere, either in 2D or in VR, so it doesn't matter how you set them . I keep them on high quality side for other games.

However, energy management on "max performance", as aforementioned above, is always a good thing.

FXAA is a post-processing AA method, so this one actually works, with negligible impact on performance, but also mediocre image quality (shimmering!). In-game MSAA offers superior quality... but at a price of superior drop in fps and/or introduction of microstutters. It's up to you what your "lesser evil" is, though with such a hefty config, you can probably tune in more eyecandy than mere mortals.

V-sync - subjective as well. Keep in mind that to make it work, you have to Alt-Enter often to switch DCS to proper fullscreen mode (though I'd hazard a guess you had to do it on AMD as well?).
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.

Last edited by Art-J; 06-02-2018 at 11:58 PM.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 04:15 PM   #7
msalama
Veteran
 
msalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,455
Default

Quote:
most of NV panel settings don't work anywhere
NVI enhance seems to work again with the latest OB, at least on my end.
__________________
"The DCS NS 430 currently available for DCS: Mi-8MTV2. DCS NS 430 licensing and distribution policy for other modules is being discussed and will be disclosed later. Belsimtek team"
msalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 12:15 AM   #8
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,724
Default

When you say FXAA has mediocre image quality with shimmering, what is the point of it then?
I’m sure I’ve read threads here saying that MSAA is incompatible with DS, and that FXAA is superior and should be used in preference.
__________________
Intel i7 8700 4.8GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 500Gb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · TM Pedals · HTC Vive Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 11:02 AM   #9
Art-J+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,617
Default

The point of it is to have any AA without fps loss and increase of microstuttering (so in-game AA options are thrown out of window for me, though they might be OK for you on the basis of simple brutal strength of more powerful gfx card).
With no AA we've got eye-gouging jaggies plus shimmering, with FXAA we've got much less jaggies plus shimmering at almost the same fps. So it's an improvement, a small one, but improvement nevertheless. Crappy AA is still better than no AA.

No idea how it applies to tweaking for VR usage, though, with its specific options and settings. Nvidia users at VR section of the forum will certainly offer better advice.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.

Last edited by Art-J; 06-03-2018 at 11:06 AM.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 10:09 PM   #10
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art-J View Post
The point of it is to have any AA without fps loss and increase of microstuttering (so in-game AA options are thrown out of window for me, though they might be OK for you on the basis of simple brutal strength of more powerful gfx card).
With no AA we've got eye-gouging jaggies plus shimmering, with FXAA we've got much less jaggies plus shimmering at almost the same fps. So it's an improvement, a small one, but improvement nevertheless. Crappy AA is still better than no AA.

No idea how it applies to tweaking for VR usage, though, with its specific options and settings. Nvidia users at VR section of the forum will certainly offer better advice.
OK, so my observation is that setting FXAA in nVidia CP makes absolutely no difference at all.
I sat in the F-5E pit in the Instant Actiion Take Off mission trying out various settings for AA.
It's a good test, as the Batumi buildings and side of runway shimmer a lot and are very jaggy.
With FXAA I noticed no difference whether set off or to x8 in the CP.
The in-game MSAA was effective and x4 looks pretty good, but at a price of fps.
I have chosen MSAA x2 as a good compromise, and am reasonably happy with the results.
__________________
Intel i7 8700 4.8GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 500Gb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · TM Pedals · HTC Vive Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:51 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.