F-4E Phantom news? - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2019, 06:42 AM   #41
Bananabrai
Member
 
Bananabrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ETSM
Posts: 161
Default

F-4 J/N/S would be awesome. I can also understand that they picked the E.
The lineup you are talking about will take another 20 years...


About the Cold War Hornet: Shouldn't it be possible to program a failure for the MIDS in the Mission Editor?
__________________
Wish list: late DCS: GR.1 (with GR.1B) Tornado, Improved Combined Arms (like OFP/ArmA I/ArmA II), Improved Logistics

Build: Ryzen 3800X on X570, GTX 980 Ti, 32GB DDR4-3200 | Virpil T-50 Stick & Throttle, MFG Crosswind, TrackIR 5
Bananabrai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 06:49 AM   #42
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizard_03 View Post
Same, when I think of the the F-4 I think of a Navy interceptor with big roundels and Hi-Vis liveries. I'm happy with the F-4E and I completely understand why ED picked it...but if it was up to me I would've gone with the F-4J

Maybe some day, someone can make it happen.
Interesting, when I think of the F-4 I think about an air force aircraft for the most part. I actually wasn't even aware about the navy variant for quite a long time...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bananabrai View Post
About the Cold War Hornet: Shouldn't it be possible to program a failure for the MIDS in the Mission Editor?
It should be possible for SP to do that (haven't tested it), but in MP predefined failures are not possible.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 11:08 AM   #43
Knock-Knock
Senior Member
 
Knock-Knock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,866
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
It should be possible for SP to do that (haven't tested it), but in MP predefined failures are not possible.
Atm, setting the mission time before, eh mid 90's something, seems to render the Hornets GPS useless for example. It'll know its heading, but thats about it. I havent fully dived into it, just noticed when wanting to test a mission I had put to 1985 (and another to 1991).
__________________
- Jack of many DCS modules, master of none.
- Personal wishlist: F-16A, F-15A, A-10A, A-7E Corsair II, SAAB 35 Draken, F-104 Starfighter, Panavia Tornado IDS.


| MSI Z87-G45 Gaming | i5-4670K @ 4.3Ghz | 16Gb DDR3 1600 | Asus GTX 1070 Strix OC | Samsung 850 Evo 250 & 500Gb | 40" Sony FullHD | Oculus Rift CV1 | Thrustmaster Warthog Stick (19.5cm extension) & Throttle | MFG Crosswind | Windows 7-64 |
Knock-Knock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 03:33 PM   #44
SgtPappy
Member
 
SgtPappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampyre View Post
The F-4E version ED are supposed to be working on was only used by two air forces. The USAF and ROKAF. Everyone else used either the vanilla F-4E or a locally modified version not used by anyone else. The F-4E with the DMAS/ARN-101 upgrade would be great for DCS...

In DCS, I'd like to see the F-4D, F-4E DMAS/ARN-101 and F-4G on the Air Force side and the F-4J and F-4S on the Navy side.
It would be great to have both the F-4E and the F-4J - very different in performance even though to the untrained eye, they look extremely similar. Though the F-4E that we are (still hopefully) getting has the ARN-101 and other upgrades, aerodynamically it will perform basically identically to the Rivet Haste F-4E's that fought in Vietnam at the very end of the US involvement in that war so it's not totally off from that kind of scenario.

The F-4S would be a little weird to see there, and it would give more variety to have an F-4J since both the UK and the USN used it. A man can dream!
SgtPappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 07:13 AM   #45
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knock-Knock View Post
Atm, setting the mission time before, eh mid 90's something, seems to render the Hornets GPS useless for example. It'll know its heading, but thats about it. I havent fully dived into it, just noticed when wanting to test a mission I had put to 1985 (and another to 1991).
MIDS is data link, not GPS.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 01:18 PM   #46
Kev2go
Senior Member
 
Kev2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,653
Default

Yeah f4e is more iconic ( vast export) and far more multirole aircraft.

I too hope f4e will include all the bells and whistles that were originally promised like ARN 101 , and pave tac tgp.

But in comparison the f4j ( and especially f4s) is certainly prefferable for a2a combat over f4e because awg10 > an/asq 120 . As a pulse doppler radar it has actual look down shoot down capability
__________________





Build:


Spoiler:


Windows 10 64 bit,

Case/Tower: Corsair Graphite 760tm ,Asus Strix Z370- E Motherboard, Intel Core i7 8700k ( Noctua NH14S cooler),Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 32gb ram (2666 mhz) , (Asus strix oc edition) Nvidia Gtx 1080 8gb , Evga g2 850 watt psu, Hardrives ; WD 1TB HDD, Samsung evo 850 pro 1TB SSD, Samsung evo 850 pro 512 gb SSD

Kev2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 02:05 PM   #47
Knock-Knock
Senior Member
 
Knock-Knock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,866
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
MIDS is data link, not GPS.
I was under the impression that the Hornets data link relied on GPS (for positioning of everything)? In either case, Data link / SA doesnt work on the Hornet, if you set a mission to for example 1985. At least it didnt the couple of times I tested it a short while ago.

So just saying, the Hornet could still be used as an early Lot, if the mission designer dials back time. If this is a feature or a loophole that ED will close later, who knows.
__________________
- Jack of many DCS modules, master of none.
- Personal wishlist: F-16A, F-15A, A-10A, A-7E Corsair II, SAAB 35 Draken, F-104 Starfighter, Panavia Tornado IDS.


| MSI Z87-G45 Gaming | i5-4670K @ 4.3Ghz | 16Gb DDR3 1600 | Asus GTX 1070 Strix OC | Samsung 850 Evo 250 & 500Gb | 40" Sony FullHD | Oculus Rift CV1 | Thrustmaster Warthog Stick (19.5cm extension) & Throttle | MFG Crosswind | Windows 7-64 |
Knock-Knock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 02:27 PM   #48
Hiromachi
Member
 
Hiromachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev2go View Post
Yeah f4e is more iconic ( vast export) and far more multirole aircraft.
Depends. To me it's the Navy F-4 that's more iconic. The introduction, rivalry with Crusader, creation of Top Gun (and all the names associated with it).
To each his own I guess.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 2700X @ 4.4 Ghz / Asus Crosshair VII X470 / 16 GB DDR4 3500 Mhz Cl14 / GTX 1080Ti @ 2010 Mhz core / Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD / Creative SoundBlaster AE-9 / AOC AG352UCG / VIRPIL T-50CM / MFG Crosswinds / Audio Technica ATH-MSR7
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic110693_1.gif
Hiromachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 02:55 PM   #49
SgtPappy
Member
 
SgtPappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiromachi View Post
Depends. To me it's the Navy F-4 that's more iconic. The introduction, rivalry with Crusader, creation of Top Gun (and all the names associated with it).
To each his own I guess.
Agreed, that's what makes the F-4 so awesome because of all the history it has created.

If you're from any of the export countries - especially Israel - the F-4E is the way to go. 116 kills and 9 aces, that's the most iconic to me. Actual combat history speaks volumes of an aircraft's capability.
SgtPappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 04:17 PM   #50
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knock-Knock View Post
I was under the impression that the Hornets data link relied on GPS (for positioning of everything)? In either case, Data link / SA doesnt work on the Hornet, if you set a mission to for example 1985. At least it didnt the couple of times I tested it a short while ago.

So just saying, the Hornet could still be used as an early Lot, if the mission designer dials back time. If this is a feature or a loophole that ED will close later, who knows.
Nope, it has an INS, that is aided by GPS: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GPS/INS
It's called a EGI (Embedded GPS INS) and if the GPS fails (satelites get jammed or shot down, which is very likely in a high scale war against a peer opponent) it will just function as a normal INS. That's why you need to do an alignment on the ground during startup, which is needed for the INS part.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:20 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.