Using weather for haze in the Gulf? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2019, 08:00 AM   #1
Mr_sukebe
Senior Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 1,495
Default Using weather for haze in the Gulf?

I was recently in Dubai, and whilst there, saw what I considered to be really serious haze, which I assumed would very much affect visibility whilst flying.

Just been having a look at the weather options, and applying dust seemed to work. I initially added it at 2000' and thought that it looked pretty good. However, I've only ever seen the real haze from ground level and hotel level (35th floor).
Would anyone have views on better/more accurate settings to simulate haze?
__________________
System: 9700, 64GB DDR4, 1080, NVME2, Rift S, Jetseat, VPC HOTAS, MFG crosswinds, custom button box, Logitech G502 and Marble mouse.
Section 8 Server: i5 2500@3.9Ghz, 24GB DDR3, SSD.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 02:21 AM   #2
KTFBGB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Arizona
Posts: 326
Default

Turn on dust/smoke in the mission editor. Makes it as hazy as you want it.
KTFBGB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 04:25 AM   #3
Nealius
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 3,893
Default

The dust setting is the best we have, unfortunately. It also makes water disappear if you have MSAA enabled.
__________________
YouTube Channel: "Clutch"

ASUS Z170 | i5-7600 | RTX2070 | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10
Nealius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 02:09 PM   #4
zionid
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 838
Default

I have looked at quite a few pics from the gulf, and I actually find that fog makes a believable haze. Select fog, but set the visibility to max, and have it go up a couple of thousand feet.
zionid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 09:01 AM   #5
Eddie
Veteran
 
Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the PG Map
Posts: 4,931
Default

Using both dog and dust is the most realistic for coastal haze in the region as it it a mix of fog from the high humidity and dust from inland.

Of course as you move inland the fog disappears and only the dust is left, DCS can’t do localised fog/dust so you need to decide how to do it based on the location of your mission etc.
Eddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:10 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.